We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oakville, ON
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Oakville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My boyfriend was on a business trip, so I accompanied him, and the best part of the experience was the front desk staff. They were very sociable. Josh was more than willing to answer questions. I also saw how welcoming he was when other guests walked in. Nancy, made sure everything was ok with me. She engaged me in conversation while I was in the lobby waiting for my boyfriend to pick me up, long after I had already check out. The hospitality made me feel right at home. Not often does one get that kind of service :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oakville, ON
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 464 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

My family (My wife my two young children and I) attended a two day conference at the Country Inn Oakville we along with all the members attended the conference stayed at the hotel for one night. The check-in was late between 3pm to 3:30pm I asked the clerk behind the desk several times when my family could check-in the clerk told me “All the rooms are not ready yet, I told the clerk I have two small children and we had to get up early to register for the conference and my youngest is not doing well the clerk replied “Not all the rooms are ready yet” Frustrated I said “I don’t need all of the rooms I just need one, my son is not feeling well!” The clerk said if you see one of the managers walking around you can speak to him” When we were finally able to check-in after 3:40pm I asked another clerk so since we were not able to check-in until after 3:30 will we be allowed to check-out at 12:30 (I didn’t think that was unreasonable given the circumstances) she snapped at me saying “NO! We were busy check-out time is 12:00pm! When I handed in my room key/card the clerk didn’t ask me the standard “How was your stay?” and at no time did any staff member apologize for the inconvenience of the late check-in or ask if there was anything they could do for us. NOT IMMPRESSED!

Room Tip: My travel tip would be don't stay here!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank GrantFamilyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oakville, ON, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service when checking in. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I spent one night here in April as I had a meeting in Oakville. The hotel is situated close to a number of other hotels (and a Wendy's) and is easily accesible from the highway (it's really close to the highway...). The room were comfortable but had to put the heating on as it was freezing - had opted for a room with a jacuzzi which worked very well. The ground floor location as well as facing the parking lot was not ideal but didn't bother as this was for one night only. The staff was friendly and everything was clean. Breakfast didn't hold a lot of options and you do have to go offsite for other meals.

Room Tip: Try get a room that doesn't face the parking lot. I believe this hotel is mainly used by busines...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnordic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located just outside Oakville downtown area and close to a plaza with different restaurants. Access to the QEW.

The room was clean, it had a microwave and a very good sized fridge. 4 servings of coffee.
My room was on the first floor just behind the ice making machine and I could hear the noise everytime it was used. It also back to a brick wall. Ask for a room on the second floor if you can!

Staff was friendly!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sk8rmom4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this on one of the discount travel websites, and it turned out to be a fantastic value. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The free breakfast is more than usually found at hotels with the same star level, as it includes hot items such as meat and eggs as well as make your own waffles. The hotel is older, but is very clean and in good condition. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large enough and very clean. Best of all, the room was huge. We could easily fit our many suitcases, a crib, and all of us in the room with lots of space to spare. The only downside we found was that there is no elevator. This only proved to be an issue when checking in and taking our luggage upstairs (we were traveling for 2 weeks with a family of 5). There are also no microwaves or refrigerators in the rooms. We were able to use the microwave in the dining room when needed, though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great hotel conveniently located an hour away from Niagara Falls, Canada and 30 min from Toronto, Canada. Our family recently stayed there for 2 nights. The hotel is clean, provides decent breakfast, parking is free, staff is friendly, room size is reasonable for a family of 4 with 2 children.

Room Tip: Convenient location between Niagara Falls and Toronto
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lb_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel. Dated room furnishings are adequate and clean. There was a writing desk, flat TV, large window with sheers and blackout drapes. Open closet has iron & board along with extra pillow and blanket. Bathroom is well lit, with a long vanity, Pantene products, and an option to use a red ceiling heat lamp. Bathtub in white tubsurround is one of the longest I've been in.

The big disappointment is with the front desk check-in. Not at all welcoming, I felt like I was putting him out by simply arriving. First, he chose to answer a call first and put them on hold, then barely speak while 'serving' me. He simply looked at the cards I provided, offerred no suggestions after indicating the room had only one bed and no, they have no cots available. That's even though I'd called twice to request either option before my arrival and am a Carlson member. Clearly, zero empathy for my situation.

As others have mentioned, breakfast has many options and is 'okay'. I had a look at the basement gym. Although the eliptical and multistation device are modern and a good brand, the two 'True' brand treadmills are narrow and cheap. There's also a coin washer and dryer down in another basement room, as are meeting rooms and small washrooms.

Wifi worked fine; there's also at least on computer in the front lobby. Tim Hortons, Wendys, and a gas station are all next door. Hiway traffic wasn't a noise problem for us.

Unless I felt confident that front desk agent found more suitable employment, I doubt I'll return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMgr, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oakville, ON, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. On behalf of our entire staff at the Country Inn Oakville, I apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Oakville
8.9 mi away
Sandman Hotel Oakville
Sandman Hotel Oakville
#1 of 11 in Oakville
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Oakville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Oakville Suites
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Toronto Oakville
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oakville Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oakville, ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oakville, ON

Address: 2930 South Sheridan Way, Oakville, Ontario L6J 7T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Oakville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oakville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oakville
#1 Family Hotel in Oakville
#2 Business Hotel in Oakville
Price Range: $83 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oakville, ON 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oakville, ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Oakville Hotel Oakville
Oakville Country Inn
Country Hotel Oakville
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oakville, ON Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing