We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and genuine staff, will be returning again soon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oakville Centre
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Oakville
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and genuine staff, will be returning again soon”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was really impressed by how friendly the staff were here and how genuine they were. Even when the front desk was busy, the continued to be patient with every guest and providing their undivided attention, while acknowledging those waiting in line.

The rooms were clean and newly renovated, the pool is really nice and bright with a high ceiling and large windows.

Even better was the breakfast buffet, of which I made sure to try one of everything including bagels, cereal, eggs, fruit, you name it.

I would definitely stay here again, especially because they are in a great location and made me feel so welcome.

Fawn

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOakville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oakville Centre, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Fawn,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and am glad to hear that you enjoyed our stay with us. We work very hard to provide the best in service and product for our guests and I am always happy to hear when our guest appreciates the differences that set us apart. I feel we have the best staff in the city and I am glad that they were successful in making you feel at home. Our breakfast buffet is well received by many of our guest and a perfect way to start your day. Our location is convenient with easy to access. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Regards - Gino Zambito - General Manager - Holiday Inn Oakville Centre @ Trafalgar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    109
    44
    24
    16
See reviews for
87
54
26
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kingston,on
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Oakville. Had a great CAA rate of $86 for a king room. We stayed on the second floor. The room was great, had a small fridge and coffee maker. My husband loved the clarity of the flat screen tv. The bathroom is a good size, looks like they have renovated fairly recently, except for the tub area, but it was still clean and had a nice large shower head. The bedding and pillows are nothing special, not real plush or luxurious. The balcony looking over the indoor pool is nice but would have liked if it had a couple of chairs out there to sit on. Also if you’re hoping to sleep in, the pool side may not be the best place for you. At 8:15am the noise from kids playing in the pool was loud. The room we had was right over the pool and the sound echoes throughout the large open area. One person in our party was upset there was no Jacuzzi. There is a fitness room that we didn’t use.
We ordered pizza from room service for a snack before heading out to our function. The service was prompt and the pizza wasn’t too bad.
Would definitely stay here again, excellent location close to the GO station, lots of free parking, friendly staff and a great price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pencilcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOakville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oakville Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear pencilcase
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are always pleased to hear when our guests have positive experiences. Our hotel recently did undergo $3.5 million renovations to all our guest rooms, lobby, restaurants and meeting space. The renovation has been well received by our guest. Our location in the heart of Oakville’s business and entertainment districts and steps away from the Go Station makes it easy to get to and convenient to many local destinations. Our Atrium has rooms facing either the exterior or interior of the building which are great depending on the purpose of your visit. Our Courtyard Bistro provides an array of choices with great tasty food and service. We thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.
Regards – Gino Zambito – General Manger – Holiday Inn Centre @ Trafalgar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here last week-end while we were having our condo painted. We booked through Hotwire and got a good rate. As we needed to take our dog with us, the Holiday Inn seemed a good fit.
On their webpage, they stated "A $25 deposit for pets." Upon check-in, the sour faced employee stated that there is a $25. 00 fee for pets. A fee is not the same as a deposit.
She then told us that we couldn't have a king-sized bed, which we had requested by telephone.
What has happened to the meaning and delivery of the word "Hospitality" at the Holiday Inn, Oakville?
Customers should be greeted with smiles and given what they have requested without clients having to work for something which should be effortless.
We did not get our $25.00 'deposit back, but did get the king bed.
We will not return to this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katherineincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOakville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oakville Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear katherineincanada
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay. The Holiday Inn is definitely pet friendly and a great choice for all pets. I have reviewed your comments about the information on our webpage and understand how it may not be entirely clear regarding the fee and deposit language. Thus we have made corrections to the webpage as it is not our intention to misrepresent the fee. My apologies for the misunderstanding and I would be happy to reverse the fee. Hospitality is our business and I hope you will reconsider staying with us again when the need arises. Please contact me directly so I may assist in making the necessary adjustments for this stay and arrangements for any future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Gino Zambito - 905.842.5000 x7235
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

What a nice home away from home. Welcoming to see such great personal service from everyone. Nice added touch is the meet and greet on Wednesday evenings. Rooms are really clean and well kept. Restaurant is real good food, thank god, as there is lack of restaurants in immediate area. Event and convention Manager Danielle is the greatest. You sure can't go wrong at hotel, safe, clean, and convenient to 403.

Room Tip: Privilege Clubs members get floors 5 and 6 which are real great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huntlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOakville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oakville Centre, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Huntlg
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are always pleased to hear when our guests have positive experiences. We take great pride in our associates as they are the key in making our hotel successful. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy our Courtyard Bistro restaurant. Our location is one of the reasons so many of our guests choose the Holiday Inn Centre @ Trafalgar. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area.
Regards
Gino Zambito
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oakville Centre @ Trafalgar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The photo of the exterior of this hotel makes it look a lot more grand and new than it is. They've done some upgrading to make it feel somewhat contemporary (like granite countertops, modern lighting, flat screen TV, etc.), but the infrastructure is clearly pretty old with noticeable wear here and there.

Our mattresses felt pretty worn. Couldn't feel any coils or sharp areas, but didn't feel like it was high quality.

Room was clean, housekeeping was fine, staff was helpful when needed.

Location is wonderful. Close to QEW, Go station, numerous restaurants.

Fitness room had a couple of streadmills, elliptical, free weights, no universal machine. Clean and well stocked with towels.

Pool was okay. The kids enjoyed it. No hot tub.

There are two rows of rooms on every floor. The even-numbered rooms face the inside of the hotel - it's a big atrium with multiple conference rooms, an "open-air" restaurant, and the pool. The odd-numbered rooms face the road. If you're looking for lots of light, better to face the road.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms face inner atrium. Even-numbered rooms face road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatherOfTwo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOakville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oakville Centre, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear FatherOfTwo777:

We would like to take the time to write a review regarding our hotel. We were disappointed to read that your visit was only "adequate". We strive to ensure that every guest has a great experience. We appreciate your comments regarding our inside versus outside rooms. Our inside rooms are favourites of some and our outside rooms are preferred by others. It's a great tip. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our beds. They were all replaced during the renovation but unfortunately they did not meet your standards. The mattresses we purchased are a little more on the firm side. We do have pillow top mattress toppers available upon request. If you choose to return to our hotel, we can arrange for our mattress toppers to be on your bed which we hope can improve your sleeping experience.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Regards,



Julie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel did everything well. Reception at front desk was welcoming and superb. Day clerk said hello to me by name whenever I passed the counter.

Lobby area is tall ceilinged with a huge skylight roof. Lots of quiet conversation gathering areas throughout the lobby. Restaurant is clean and comfortable, bar and food staff friendly, and the breakfast buffet was fine. Complimentary freshly baked cookies came out everyday at around five PM. Lots of calories but oh so tasty!

The two elevators were quick in responding. I typically had to wait no longer than 30 seconds. My room was clean, roomy, and had modern furniture, including a comfortable chair and bright floor reading light. Had a fridge. Wifi worked great throughout the building. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom well laid out with modern marble countertop and sink.

My absolutely only problem was an air conditioning unit that started and stopped with the sound of a mack truck changing gear (hence my slightly lower score on Sleep Quality). I put up with it for three nights of my 5-night stay, thinking this was how they all were here (and in most mid-market hotels, for that matter). I happened to mention it to the manager who, at their weekly cocktail guest reception, asked me how my stay was going. She immediately offered to change my room–I didn't want that. She sent a mechanic up immediately and fixed it, because when I returned after dinner, the AC was purring like a cat.

There are lots of restaurants within a 1-2 minute drive. The QEW expressway is nearby, and the GO station (commuter trains to downtown) is a 10-minute walk from the hotel.

I can't think of anything the staff of this superbly run hotel could have done to make my stay any better.

Wait, there is one change I'd like to see. Anchor the bed reading lights over the bed, instead of 12-18 inches to the left and right of the bed. Why don't more hotels get this right?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank voyager075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOakville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oakville Centre, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Voyager075:

I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback of our property. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review. I am sure your comments will assist future travelers in making their decision to stay with us.

Thank you once again.

Regards,



Julie McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

When you walk into this hotel you can't help but smell srtong clorine from the pool on the main level. The restaurant is almost beside it so you might want to think about where you eat. The bed was quite high and there was a problem with the phone.

A few restaurants and the GO and VIA train station are a short walk away but if you don't have to be near there, think of an other hotel option. This hotel is pet friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaceinvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oakville Centre, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear spaceinvador,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry our hotel fell below your expectations. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakville hotels
0.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Oakville Suites
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Oakville
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Oakville, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Oakville @ Bronte
5.5 mi away
Sandman Hotel Oakville
Sandman Hotel Oakville
#1 of 11 in Oakville
378 reviews
4.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Oakville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oakville Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oakville Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Oakville Centre
Address: 590 Argus Rd, Oakville, Ontario L6J 3J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Oakville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Oakville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oakville Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oakville Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oakville Hotel Oakville
Oakville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Oakville Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing