We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy on a Friday Night”
Review of Ritorno

Ritorno
Ranked #22 of 610 Restaurants in Oakville
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ritorno is what Julia and her eldest son Matthew call a “return to the table, the Italian way. A return to traditional Italian food made from scratch. Fresh, quality ingredients presented in their truest forms. With classic, attentive and unobtrusive service from a staff who share our joy and passion surrounding food.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place was rocking at 7:00 PM - we had to shout to each other. Tables close together and it’s a bit pricey. But I thought the service and food and atmosphere were good. Your choices around that area are limited to the big box chain restaurants and this place has more charm than that. I will go back and try it during the week.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank HandsomeMan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for the third time with friends for what we hoped would be a relaxed, quiet dinner- we went at 5:30 p.m. so that we could talk and enjoy each others company.
When we arrived, there was only one other table of guests. Our friend arrived a few minutes later, and it took a while for our server to come to the table. There were 3 servers stnading around talking instead of attending to their guests.
We eventually asked if they could adjust the music a bit as we couldn't hear the people across the table. =They did lower the music a bit, but returned it to a loud volume about 15 minutes later. We asked the waitress again, and her response wa that she couldn't do anything about it.
The music being played certainly didn't fit in with an "Italian" somewhat upscale restaurant.
Very off putting visit, and may hinder us from returning--owner, manager should take better note of the type of music being played as well as the volume.

Date of visit: January 2020
3  Thank Diver40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritornom, General Manager at Ritorno, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello G O,
First and foremost thank you for dining with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. However your experience seems very inconsistent with our standards here at Ritorno. If you have a moment please send me an email to manager@ritorno.ca or give us a call at 905-257-5881 so we can ensure a much more positive guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Walked in on New Years Eve. No reservations. The front host Matthew was extremely kind and got us a table. The place was packed solid. My wife had the gnocchi and I had the veal - forgot the name (vegetables and potatoes). We shared a Creme Brule and cannoli for dessert. Utterly delicious. The waiter, busstaff and even the chef who waved goodbye to us and blew us a kiss were all exemplary. Beautiful service, great ambiance and delicious food. A perfect way to end 2019. Highly recommended and we will definitely return.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Adnanistheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2019

An unlikely venue for classic Italian cuisine — a mall in North Oakville! The packed, energized house and Maserati parked out front should have been enough to persuade differently. If I needed any more convincing, the fare, attentive wait staff, and constantly vigilant, circulating owner-host — ensuring that all was at a standard she has historically presented in her restaurant history — sealed the deal. Good price point, representative wine list, and well prepared, artistically presented pastas, secondi, and dolci don’t disappoint. Certainly worth a visit.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StratfordColonial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2019 via mobile

Great food ...great service...Matthew was amazing...great space for our party...everyone was impressed with everything

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank tonial160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritorno also viewed

 
Oakville, Ontario
 

Been to Ritorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing