We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Yummy Food”
Review of Mandarin Restaurant - CLOSED

Mandarin Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Glencoe, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So Much Yummy Food”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great selection on the menu and we picked a dinner for two. The portions are huge and we took 50% home with us. The amount of food could have been for 4 people - so select carefully. It tasted delicious and the service friendly, fast - excellent value for your money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timmins
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the quantity and quality of delicious food! We will certainly stop there again when traveling through North Bay! Very reasonably priced too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurettaTimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality has slipped”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I used to think that this was the best Chinese food in North Bay, but that is no longer the case. We recently ordered a dinner for six and it was very disappointing. The sweet and sour sauce was thin and watery and the honey garlic sauce was REALLY thin and watery. I can't recall ever being served anything that looked like - from any restaurant. The vegetable dish was overcooked, salty and soggy. Very disappointing. Perhaps there are new owners or new food suppliers......something has changed and that change is not good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petvet069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“only average - use to be great”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We usually gladly make the 1 hour drive to eat at the Mandarin but the last couple of trips the food has been average at best. This is disappointing since the food use to be some of best Chinese food I've ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cyoung1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Eggrolls”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Mandarin has been my long time favorite restaurant for chinese food. Recently there has been a change in staff and I find the staff not as good as previously. ..bustling around but not going anywhere ...unable to communicate with a question re: a friend's allergy question.
The food is still good but I would have to say not as great as in the past. I don't know if there has been a change in the chef or not, but that being said when I attended a larger dinner party there , the food was very good....so maybe there is a different chef on different days?They do have the best eggrolls in town...consistently!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gramma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Restaurant also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing