We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Menu has changed but you can still get fish and chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chief Commanda No 1

Chief Commanda No 1
225 Memorial Dr, North Bay, Ontario, Canada
(705) 495-1444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 157 Restaurants in North Bay
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sudbury,ON
Level Contributor
427 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“The Menu has changed but you can still get fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Eating at the Chief Commanda 1 on the dock in North Bay is a ritual for us. There is a new menu with Panini bread items, slads and more. For us it's gotta be fish 'n chips. The freshest of fresh pickerel - could have swum onto the plate - and really good chips with a fresh coleslaws - was just what we wanted. On a hot day, eating under an umbrella right at the edge of a dock with a light breeze blowing off the lake makes supper perfect. There's a small selection of beers and a short wine list to complement the meal. The wait staff are attentive and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CanBrit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, On
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Boat is under new Management in 2013 and well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and 9 friends had an absolutely wonderful evening at The Boat, which is the old Chief Commanda I boat which is permanently docked at the beautiful North Bay Waterfront right next to Marina. My wife had a delicious fresh pickerel (walleye) dinner with fantastic onion rings. Jerk chicken was also terrific. Terrific service by Christine was superb, she arrived with 10 ice waters upon arrival and superb service all evening. Meals were delivered piping hot within 20 minutes of ordering. Ladies go to a different dining spot each week and all agreed that they will definitely be returning to The Boat.

They sat outside on the patio deck on a very hot evening but enjoyed the breezes. They went across Memorial Drive for a ride on the mini steam train and the two beautiful carousels.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chief”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The last time I went there the food was just terrible. Overly priced as well. I hear they have a new chef there now so I may go back and try it out someday. Until then, I stay away from that place.

Helpful?
1 Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We got there and the place was packed, so we said "Oh good, the new management must be ok!". We found an empty table. 20 minutes later, we left as the waitress had not even gotten to our table yet. Oh well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cnd_Traveller155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
322 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Beer on the pier!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Here recently for dinner, basically restaurant built around an old ferry boat, outside seating on the water. Pub style menu or fresh pickerel special, prices very reasonable, bucket of beers special was great in the heat. Nice view, good service, smoking area to the one side. lots of fun...would go back. right on waterfront park area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andypegonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chief Commanda No 1 also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Chief Commanda No 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing