We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, lovely music and expert service.”
Review of Chicago Cafe - CLOSED

Chicago Cafe
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Description: North Bay Chinese fusion restaurant Chicago Cafe brings you spirited Chinese cuisine with a traditional flair.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I recommended this restaurant to my daughter and son in law,1st anniversary, and they just loved it. He was most impressed by the service, very friendly people and the food presentation. They both had Chines beer which they never tasted and found it wonderful. They were both glad that we had recommended this great place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edeng, Owner at Chicago Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you, we are always trying to do better your comments is a big help to us. Thank you for visiting our restaurant looking forward to you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 83 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a place we always bring our guests. Thai noodle soup was excellent with so much fresh seafood and vegetables it's a meal on it's own. Very fresh egg rolls. The chef cooks everything just right. Helen is the most gracious hostess ever. Once again the calm beautiful surrounding made for another wonderful night. Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pamecros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edeng, Owner at Chicago Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you, we are always trying to do better your comments is a big help to us. Thank you for visiting our restaurant looking forward to you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Small bowl of Thai noodle soup and a spring roll was $23.11, plus tip, this came to $27.73. Let's see... bland broth, 3 medium shrimp, 3 small bay scallops, assorted mushroom pieces, a few vegies, and a spring roll with a chewy bottom (sitting a while?).
I was not impressed at all... anyone for Pho?!?

1  Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edeng, Owner at Chicago Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hi Grant
I did respond your remarks I might of made it in the wrong place. Thanks again please send mail address so I can mail you a gift certificate for you next trip at our restaurant. You can e-mail address to ed@edeng.net
Owner
Ed Eng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Chicago is the best Chinese in town and although the menu prices are rather on the high side, the quality and quantity of food is excellent, the atmosphere is top notch and you are looked after as if you were the only customer in the restaurant. It is not really the place to go if you want a high speed meal but one to go for a leisurely and enjoyable evening.

They organise feasts from time to time, offer a selection of lunch-time special dishes and have a take-out service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bibby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edeng, Owner at Chicago Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you, we are always trying to do better your comments is a big help to us. Thank you for visiting our restaurant looking forward to you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friend and I had a very delicious supper at the Chicago Cafe on Thursday Apr 25.
Well prepared and presented and great environment. Favouite dish was the Red curry beef with Chinese Broccoli. Hosts Helen and Ed are a great example of the very best in hospitality in North Bay and Ontario.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DonMcFarlane_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago Cafe also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing