We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“certainly worth the visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farina Ristorante - Inside BEST WESTERN

Farina Ristorante - Inside BEST WESTERN
Ranked #18 of 163 Restaurants in North Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waubaushene, ON
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“certainly worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My fiance and I were in North Bay for a couple of days while she was on business. We were staying at the comfort inn, and were looking for good restaurants in the immediate area for lunches and dinners. The reviews were very good fr this restaurant so we wanted to give it a try.

We went around 5:30 as we have an 8 month old baby and wanted to go before it got busy, just in case he got cranky, to avoid disturbing other guests. There was no need for reservations at that time, but it did get quite busy as we went through our meal. The restaurant was right next door to our hotel at the Best Western. Upon walking in the decor was very nice. It was a smaller restaurant, but had plenty of seating. We were seated out of the way, which is what I prefer when we have the baby with us (I am always very concerned about disturbing others with our baby while they are eating), and brought a highchair.

We started with the an appetizer, which was a risotto ball stuffed with cheese and breaded. They were very good and the marinara sauce that they were served with was very good. It seemed like a house made sauce, it wasn't too salted or sugary like a canned or jarred sauce, it actually tasted like it was made with tomatoes. They also serve you bread with oil/vinegar for dipping.

My fiance had a cheese tortellini, I believe, and I had the chicken parm. Prices were quite reasonable for a real Italian dining experience, and fot the quality of the food. My meal was very good and very filling. My fiance's was filling as well, so much so she she couldn't finish her dish. Even though I was very full from my dinner, I had to try hers and it was delicious.

The only disappointment was that I was too full to try their chocolate pasta dessert. I am often in North Bay, so hopefully I can try it in the future.

I would certainly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontario_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Farina Ristorante - Inside BEST WESTERN, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Wow, Thank you for your amazing review of our Little Italy! We do make Everything from scratch, Including the Marinara Sauce!!. Hopefully you can come see us again and try the Chocolate Ravioli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    59
    15
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
305 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great spot in North Bay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My girl friend took me here about a month ago and it was a great experience. The staff was nice, the drinks were good, and the food was excellent.

I have only been to North Bay a handful of times but this is the best restaurant I have been to there by far!

Make a reservation!

Cheers

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Byron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Farina Ristorante - Inside BEST WESTERN, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind Review on Farina's, And hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Pleasant décor and ambience. Food quality above average but not particularly special. Service was good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bibby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in the Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Seven of us visited Saturday night for supper. Nice table in the back with good service, almost too friendly. Antipasto plate was very good with a nice assortment of meats, cheeses and olives. Bread was excellent. My calamari was just OK. Ate it all but nothing to write home about. The main plates were very generous and tasty. Would go back if looking for Italian. Desert was good. Wine list while limited was satisfactory and prices were reasonable. FYI there are not that many Italian restaurants to pick from.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Only had the breakfasts, but the eggs were perfect both times. I would have preferred Canadian bacon with the eggs Benny, but the sausages were tasty and everything was hot and cooked perfectly. As well, the service was also very good and quick, thanks to the waitress (even thogh she had several groups both visits!).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farina Ristorante - Inside BEST WESTERN also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Farina Ristorante - Inside BEST WESTERN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing