We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“nice room but weak coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in North Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice room but weak coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The air condition unit was only controlled by the thermostat, it would go on ,than off, on, off, one minute your warm (blankets off), than cold (blankets on), it drove me nuts. No fridge to keep my beer cold, but the shower was nice and hot. Breakfast was average ,but coffee was weak, we had to get a real coffee next door at tims on the way out. Why do these hotels have nice HD tv's, but no flippin HD channels (just wondering).

Room Tip: If you can get a room that the AC is not controlled with a thermostat you would have a steady flow o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theponzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your review, theponzz.

It is great to hear that you were welcomed with a clean and comfortable guest room during your stay. I am sorry to hear that you had some difficulty with the air conditioning, we do keep the units on "auto" to appropriately regulate the room temperature. There is on option on the wall unit for you to switch it to "fan" which will allow the unit to stay running at a favorable temperature. I apologize that our staff failed to mention this to you if you did report your issue to us. We are cognizant that our cable package is not in HD and we are taking the appropriate steps to be able to provide this for our guests in the future.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    100
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
74
49
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in North Bay, Ontario. This hotel is a small but well kept hotel. Rooms were very comfortable. They are equipped with flat screen television, work station, coffee makers and free wi-fi. In the two queen rooms the beds were supplied with four pillows per bed. Nice sized pillows and very comfortable.The bathroom is a good size and very clean. The shower head even has enough pressure to rinse the shampoo out of your hair. The thermostat in the rooms can be adjusted to whatever temperature you want in your room.

Breakfast is included in the room price and the breakfasts are good. Fresh eggs, fruits, fresh pastry and fresh hot coffee and a good supply of teas.

The location is in an industrial area but it is located close to restaurants, Northgate Shopping centre, Tim Hortons and other restaurants across the street.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Came in for a Training Session. Rooms were very clean and accommodating staff - no refrigerator regretfully. Training room was well accommodated. A bit out of reach for various restaurant choices, considering that the hotel had no restaurant or bar to eat .
Would not hesitate to return, but be better prepared knowing that there is no fridge in room. Especially if you are without a vehicle.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapuskasing, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed several times and enjoyed the breakfast - there was a super friendly lady in charge in the morning; too bad she quit. They advertise fridge in the room,but it costs more. Finally, most hotels have this service and it doesn't cost more. The cost is high for services that are better on Lakeshore Dr. Best recommendation: in North Bay, find an hotel that is not on the highway.

Room Tip: Stay on the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed for one night on business. Staff at counter were pleasant, no problems with check-in. Room was clean and well appointed. Breakfast was included and a decent buffet breakfast, everything was replenished / topped up as it was used. I misplaced my invoice after I left and called the hotel the next day and asked them to send me an email copy, it arrived in less than five minutes which was most helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank get_with_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
get_with_it,

We are always pleased to read feedback from our guests. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our Hot Buffet Breakfast and that we were able to provide you with your invoice in a timely manner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

hotel is very clean and up to date. staff was pleasent. lobby is small. lots of parking available. some resturants and shops within walking distance. building is smoke free. rooms are large and well appointed. working desk is small. TV swivels and works fine. they have in room movies and music available on the TV. the free breakfast includes hot pancakes, scrambled eggs and bacon. average selection with plenty of seating. HVAC unit by the window is slightly noisier than average but did not disturb my sleep. walls are sound proof. no welcoming extras (water, chocolate) was provided. wifi is free and simple to connect to. i would stay again.

Room Tip: there are 5 floors. the top floors with a room away from the elevator would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
steve c,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that your enjoyed all of the in room amenities and breakfast! We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights while visiting friends and family. Service was good and its in a great location. Wacky wings, tim hortons etc just across the road and its not far from memorial gardens if you want to see a hockey game. Would definately stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rainsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We love welcoming our hockey fans! Thank you for your patronage, we hope you enjoyed your time with friends and family. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
2.9 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
#17 of 25 in North Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
2.7 mi away
Super 8 North Bay
Super 8 North Bay
#2 of 25 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Address: 1325 Seymour St, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay.Enjoy comfort while you stay in our all new Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of North Bay, Ontario, conveniently located only nine kilometers from the North Bay Jack Garland Airport (YYB). Get ready for family fun at our North Bay hotel, located just off Highway 17 with easy access to several area attractions including the Lake Nipissing Waterfront, the Northgate Shopping Centre and Memorial Gardens. Also nearby are the Capitol Centre, Osprey Links Golf Course and the Chief Commanda cruises. If you want even more ideas, a tourist info centre is just next door to our North Bay hotel. Travelers on business will be impressed with our accommodations in North Bay, Ontario. Conveniently located along all highways leading to North Bay, this fully non-smoking hotel is only minutes away from bus, train and airport transportation with fast highway access to all areas surrounding the city. Our North Bay Airport hotel is within close proximity to businesses such as Boart Longyear, Atlas Copco, Cementation, Bombardier, Goodyear, Sandvik and many others. In addition, meeting rooms with business services such as free high-speed, wired or wireless Internet access are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North Bay
Holiday Inn North Bay
North Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing