We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but pricey for a Holiday Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in North Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey for a Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel was nice but for what they charged I won't stay there again. It's in a congested area but not close to any restaurants really. They is better priced options in the area that I would stay at next time in North Bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ippit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We truly appreciate feedback from our guests as we always welcome the opportunity to improve. Here at the Holiday Inn Express we offer a variety of discounts and would love to find the best rate for you should you decide to stay with us again. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    99
    25
    13
    4
See reviews for
73
48
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
266 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Canada is expensive for Americans and this hotel just proves the point. It was nice enough, but in the off season I feel the wrap around cost of $170 night was too high. Its not like this is waterfront. Its convenient to hwy 17, and right next to the visitor center (which keeps bankers hours so not open when a traveler might want it). The hotel windows do not open at all and the room could have used some fresh air. In a few short years the place will reek.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us. As we are a newer property in the city our prices do reflect this. I can understand, that as a guest travelling from another country, that it is important to spend within your budget. We do offer an extensive amount of discounts for this reason and we would love to be able to go through your options to find the best price for you. You are correct that our guestroom windows do not open, this is simply for the safety of all of our guests. As part of the Holiday Inn brand we are required to maintain a consistent and fresh housekeeping routine to ensure that the condition of our guestrooms do not deplete over time. We hope that we are able to see you in the future, with an agreeable rate for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stay here pretty frequently for business. Never any hassles, friendly folks and clean rooms. The free breakfast is fine for a quick refuel. Wifi comes and goes at times but its free! Plus the snack options are a great idea too. Will be staying again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to be able to accommodate our corporate travellers, as we realize the importance in quick and efficient service during your busy work schedule. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

No matter which one we stay in, we've never been disappointed. The staff are always professional and friendly. The rooms are always clean and the beds consistently comfortable.The is always satisfying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovely_Lady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are happy to hear that the Holiday Inn brand has been able to provide you with a consistent level of service that meets all of your expectations. Looking forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stopped in North Bay on the way through Canada driving home from vacation. It was exactly as I expected- modern and clean, with free wi-fi and cozy bedding. No reservations, check in was speedy and staff gave dining recommendations as well, which were helpful. Free breakfast and coffee bar to get you on the way in the morning was excellent. An oasis on our long trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
What a wonderful compliment, thank you! We hope that you enjoyed your vacation and come visit us next time you are passing through North Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express over the Labor Day weekend, Check in was fast and easy the staff was very friendly and courteous. The room was very clean and a good size The property overall is very nice and well maintained. The location is excellent whatever you want to do is close by or a short drive away just out the door is the Dionne Quintuplets Museum well worth a look a Little Canadian history. A short drive away is the Chief Commanda Cruise not a bad deal for a cruise and dinner.Breakfast that is included is all right they have anything you want scramble eggs, cereal, toast or pancakes .Overall a good time at the hotel and enjoyed North Bay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Postive feedback such as yours keep us motivated to deliver the very best service. We hope that you enjoyed your cruise on the Cheif Commanda, the sunsets are priceless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I often stay at Holiday Inn Express properties. One of the reasons I do so is that the experience is consistently good. I know what to expect for what I'm paying. This property was no exception.

Check-in was friendly & speedy. The lobby area of the hotel was attractive & clean. The room was clean. Wireless worked well and had adequate bandwidth (a very important feature for me). The bed had two soft pillows and two firm pillows. The included breakfast was simple, but I could get coffee, eggs & fruit - as expected. Bill was available under the door so that check-out involved simply dropping the keys at the front desk.

The room rate was OK considering it was likely peak travel season for this area.

I required a comfortable place to sleep for a night. As expected, this Holiday Inn Express property met my needs and was very good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Illahee3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of our property. We are thrilled that we have met all of your expectations; hopefully during your next visit we will be able to "wow" you! Thank you for your continued patronage, we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
2.9 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
#17 of 25 in North Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
2.7 mi away
Super 8 North Bay
Super 8 North Bay
#2 of 25 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Address: 1325 Seymour St, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay.Enjoy comfort while you stay in our all new Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of North Bay, Ontario, conveniently located only nine kilometers from the North Bay Jack Garland Airport (YYB). Get ready for family fun at our North Bay hotel, located just off Highway 17 with easy access to several area attractions including the Lake Nipissing Waterfront, the Northgate Shopping Centre and Memorial Gardens. Also nearby are the Capitol Centre, Osprey Links Golf Course and the Chief Commanda cruises. If you want even more ideas, a tourist info centre is just next door to our North Bay hotel. Travelers on business will be impressed with our accommodations in North Bay, Ontario. Conveniently located along all highways leading to North Bay, this fully non-smoking hotel is only minutes away from bus, train and airport transportation with fast highway access to all areas surrounding the city. Our North Bay Airport hotel is within close proximity to businesses such as Boart Longyear, Atlas Copco, Cementation, Bombardier, Goodyear, Sandvik and many others. In addition, meeting rooms with business services such as free high-speed, wired or wireless Internet access are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North Bay
Holiday Inn North Bay
North Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing