We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rest for the weary traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in North Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Baraboo, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rest for the weary traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stopped in North Bay on the way through Canada driving home from vacation. It was exactly as I expected- modern and clean, with free wi-fi and cozy bedding. No reservations, check in was speedy and staff gave dining recommendations as well, which were helpful. Free breakfast and coffee bar to get you on the way in the morning was excellent. An oasis on our long trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
What a wonderful compliment, thank you! We hope that you enjoyed your vacation and come visit us next time you are passing through North Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    108
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
85
54
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
TORONTO
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express over the Labor Day weekend, Check in was fast and easy the staff was very friendly and courteous. The room was very clean and a good size The property overall is very nice and well maintained. The location is excellent whatever you want to do is close by or a short drive away just out the door is the Dionne Quintuplets Museum well worth a look a Little Canadian history. A short drive away is the Chief Commanda Cruise not a bad deal for a cruise and dinner.Breakfast that is included is all right they have anything you want scramble eggs, cereal, toast or pancakes .Overall a good time at the hotel and enjoyed North Bay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Postive feedback such as yours keep us motivated to deliver the very best service. We hope that you enjoyed your cruise on the Cheif Commanda, the sunsets are priceless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I often stay at Holiday Inn Express properties. One of the reasons I do so is that the experience is consistently good. I know what to expect for what I'm paying. This property was no exception.

Check-in was friendly & speedy. The lobby area of the hotel was attractive & clean. The room was clean. Wireless worked well and had adequate bandwidth (a very important feature for me). The bed had two soft pillows and two firm pillows. The included breakfast was simple, but I could get coffee, eggs & fruit - as expected. Bill was available under the door so that check-out involved simply dropping the keys at the front desk.

The room rate was OK considering it was likely peak travel season for this area.

I required a comfortable place to sleep for a night. As expected, this Holiday Inn Express property met my needs and was very good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Illahee3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of our property. We are thrilled that we have met all of your expectations; hopefully during your next visit we will be able to "wow" you! Thank you for your continued patronage, we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Surprised by how nice hotel was - clean outside with lots of parking and conveniently next to travel info/quint home. Clean lobby and breakfast area. Restaurants are close as well as beaches and chief commanda cruise Very friendly, informative and helpful staff at check-in, check-out and during visit. Room was great size for suite with pull-out microwave and fridge. Room was clean with comfy pillows with chose of soft or firm - unlike Hamptons. Mattress was ok and A/C worked amazing! Nice quiet hotel with VERY bright hallways. Kids loved breakfast better than Hamptons as more choices piled high. They really loved the pancake 45sec machine as well as sauces and toppings available. I liked the early breakfast times as we are up anyway and gets everyone going earlier. Breakfast staff also very friendly and area very clean.

Room Tip: In any hotel I always stay away from elevators and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misled m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your flattering words! We are so happy that you and your family were able to enjoy yourselves - we love the pancake machaine too! We hope that our facilities and staff are able provide you with the same level of service should you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was otherwise completely fine. The room was clean, they even let us stay six people in a King bed + sofabed room which some hotels do not. They didn't have a cot though, which would have helped. The crappy continental breakfast was mitigated a bit for my kids by the waffle maker in the breakfast area which not every hotel of this sort has. The king bed was also surprisingly comfy despite the fact that I shared it with two pre-teen boys... But again, what is it with hotels in Ontario and the mouldy bathrooms? This shower/tub combo was particularly bad. Good that I didn't notice it until I was in the shower or I wouldn't have been able to get in and actually shower. Since I had shampoo on my head before I really inspected the walls I had to finish the shower quickly and get out. GROSS!! And no excuse for it. Only a little bleach would take care of that. Complained to the front desk on the way out and got an apology. Woo hoo. Thanks for that. Icky. Icky.

Room Tip: I suggest you check the shower for cleanliness before you agree to stay in any room. Gross!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our property. We sincerely apologize that you were provided with a less than impressive guest bathroom. Here at The Holiday Inn Express we take pride in being one of the youngest properties in North Bay and we strive to maintain that standing in our appearance and cleanliness. Please know that we are thankful that you have brought this to our attention as we have now been able to acquire the appropriate tools to rectify the situation. I would encourage you to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your experience with us further. We thank you for your time here with us and we hope that during your next stay that we are able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Traveled from Alberta to Newfoundland (and back again).... Traveled with our 50lb Siberian Husky and Cat. Stayed here once but canceled my reservation for the returning stay, was very disapointed....Stayed across the street at Travelodge for my returning stay in North Bay it was much more cleaner and suited my needs better...
THE BAD:
- DIRTY! DAMP TOWEL BEHIND BATHROOM DOOR, THE FOLDED BATHTOWELS THAT HAD LADYS BLACK LONG HAIR FOLDED INTO THEM ( went to the front desk, he apologized and gave more towels)
- Room didnt smell very good, it was a petfriendly room, but it should of smelled better then it did
- What looked to be stains all over the floor (was hard to tell with the type of carpet)
- Not worth $170 a night, I've stayed at motels that were cleaner!

The Good:
- Pet Friendly (there is a section in the hotel with I think 10 pet friendly rooms, closed off from the rest of the hotel with its own entrance, good and bad I guess, better for the people with no pets or who is allergic, but I think its alienating the people with pets!)
- Coffee/Tea Maker In Room
- Off The Highway (we didn't hear any highway noises)
- Landry Facilty To Use
- Very Nice Breakfast Included (scrambed eggs, saugages, muffins, toast, pancake maker, coffee, tea, juice, ect..)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is only through feedback such as yours tha we are able to analyze and imporve our Guest Service. We apologize that we were not able to you provide with the level of cleanliness that you expect and deserve. The issues you encountered, I can assure you, certainly is not the norm here at The Holiday Inn Express. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we will be reviewing our Housekeeping standards, and staff will be retrained accordingly. Please know that this issue has been addressed with the upmost importance. If you would like to discuss your recent stay with us further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We thank you for your patronage and hope that we will be able to accomodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Very clean. Good service. Beds are very comfortable. If I was to change anything, would be the breakfast times. 7:30 to 9:30am is to early. Overall you can't go wrong. Pet friendly as well. Good location with easy access to the lake and city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
It is thrilling to know that we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable stay during your time at our property. As a dedication to be able to provide all services to our guests, our breakfast times reflect the most optimal period to serve it. We see the majority of our guests within the 6:30am to 9:30am time frame. If you are not an early riser we certainly do not want you to miss out! We are more than happy to try to accomodate you the best we can during your next stay with us. Just let us know what we can do for you and we would be happy to oblige!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
2.9 mi away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#6 of 25 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
#13 of 25 in North Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Address: 1325 Seymour Street, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay.Enjoy comfort while you stay in our all new Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of North Bay, Ontario, conveniently located only nine kilometers from the North Bay Jack Garland Airport (YYB). Get ready for family fun at our North Bay hotel, located just off Highway 17 with easy access to several area attractions including the Lake Nipissing Waterfront, the Northgate Shopping Centre and Memorial Gardens. Also nearby are the Capitol Centre, Osprey Links Golf Course and the Chief Commanda cruises. If you want even more ideas, a tourist info centre is just next door to our North Bay hotel. Travelers on business will be impressed with our accommodations in North Bay, Ontario. Conveniently located along all highways leading to North Bay, this fully non-smoking hotel is only minutes away from bus, train and airport transportation with fast highway access to all areas surrounding the city. Our North Bay Airport hotel is within close proximity to businesses such as Boart Longyear, Atlas Copco, Cementation, Bombardier, Goodyear, Sandvik and many others. In addition, meeting rooms with business services such as free high-speed, wired or wireless Internet access are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North Bay
Holiday Inn North Bay
North Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing