We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest hotel in North Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I'm a regular visitor to North Bay. I usually stay at another chain with a location across the highway, and one downtown. I tried this hotel after several positive experiences with the brand on other trips. This one surely didn't disappoint!! Clean, fresh, and new. The staff is EXCELLENT! All very friendly. I checked in around shift change, and had about 4 employees welcome me at the same time.

Check out time is 12 noon, which made for the opportunity to go enjoy North Bay's wonderful waterfront by having an after breakfast rollerblade, then come back to shower up before meeting friends for lunch.

Despite being so close to the highway, you don't notice the traffic. I stayed in a room closer to the highway, and had no problems. I can't say that for the chain across the road.

The breakfast room could be slightly bigger, but that's not the hotels fault. The buffet was always full.

One thing that could be addressed however is the sign on Seymour street. When you come off the highway, it's located at the driveway for the North Bay chamber of commerce. Underneath in small lettering it says next driveway. Seymour and Franklin is a busy intersection, so having the sign properly located would be much better.

I will definitely be back on my next visit to North Bay, which hopefully won't be too far in the future

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank Walker C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thanks for giving us a try, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy to hear your had a quiet and comfortable stay, being a newly built hotel, noise from the highway is not a problem. Thank you also for the insight about our sign location, we will definately be taking a look at that .

Once again, thanks for staying and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 285 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

the kind of hotel you are looking for after driving 8 hours.smiles & service

Room Tip: rooms overloooking home depot parking lot are super quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertburridge155030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I had to stay in North Bay on business. It was Nippissing grad so the hotel was almost sold out and rates were very high. Luckily I got a corporate rate.

The room had 2 queen beds. The bathroom was huge and clean. I needed a refrigerator to keep medication but there was none in the room so I had to make due with ice from the machine.

The room was comfortable and the hotel is in a good location, right off the highway but a bit of a drive from downtown and the waterfront.

Breakfast was very busy in the morning due to the event in town, but the server taking care of the buffet was extremely pleasant and friendly. There's basic bread, bagels, english muffins, bacon and folded cheese omlettes. Also yogurt ,fruit, cereal and a fancy pancake-making machine. It was a decent breakfast. Better than expected.

I didn't try the pool but it is open 6:30 am to 11:00pm, which is nice.

Overall I had a good experience. Staff was very friendly and the room was great. I'd stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuteontariocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thanks so much for staying with us during your recent business trip, it definately was a busy week with all the graduations. You will have to try out one of our suites for your next stay, they come equipped with both a refrigerator and a microwave. We can also always keep your items cold in our fridge at the front desk (available 24 hours), if the suite is not available. Thanks again for staying with us, we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

For those wh o have read my other reviews you will see that I stay at the Holiday Inn Express brand very often. I do this because they are very consistant and offer great value and modern rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night, just passing through town. The room was clean and very comfortable and since we are travelling with our dog they put us in a ground floor room very close to a side exit. This was convenient however made for a bit of a noisy night. We could hear the door opening and closing constantly all evening. We also found that the hotel wasn't very sound proof when it came to other guest's doors closing - they were very loud also! Other than that it was not too bad, the location was great, right next to the highway, and the Mexican restaurant that is just across the highway is delicious! (used to be a Mexicali Rosa's but is now called Habaneros)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMaegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us know, our maintenance team has solved the problem of the doors slamming. I will pass on your comment about Habanaros Mexican Restaurant, they are fantastic. I am happy you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great reception staff and always a cheeful greeting. Love the white on white decor and bedding, no surprises for sure with this style!
Rate is quite good and with breakfast competitive enough to return regularly on business
Room layout is great and very comfy with everything you need for a great stay.

Location is pretty convenient on 17 highway and restaurants are not far away. Avoid Don Cherry's and Kings Chinese Buffet yuk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry3515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Not cheap but it is nice & new & the breakfast is good & included. No complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
2.8 mi away
Best Western North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Address: 1325 Seymour St, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Bay
Price Range: $110 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay.Enjoy comfort while you stay in our all new Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of North Bay, Ontario, conveniently located only nine kilometers from the North Bay Jack Garland Airport (YYB). Get ready for family fun at our North Bay hotel, located just off Highway 17 with easy access to several area attractions including the Lake Nipissing Waterfront, the Northgate Shopping Centre and Memorial Gardens. Also nearby are the Capitol Centre, Osprey Links Golf Course and the Chief Commanda cruises. If you want even more ideas, a tourist info centre is just next door to our North Bay hotel. Travelers on business will be impressed with our accommodations in North Bay, Ontario. Conveniently located along all highways leading to North Bay, this fully non-smoking hotel is only minutes away from bus, train and airport transportation with fast highway access to all areas surrounding the city. Our North Bay Airport hotel is within close proximity to businesses such as Boart Longyear, Atlas Copco, Cementation, Bombardier, Goodyear, Sandvik and many others. In addition, meeting rooms with business services such as free high-speed, wired or wireless Internet access are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North Bay
Holiday Inn North Bay
North Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing