We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Inn on the Park
Ranked #1 of 7 North Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing room with a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed at the Sunset Inn for a weekend in June 2009. The service and room were amazing. Great view of the lake from the front window. Complimentary fresh baked muffins and a newspaper also arrived at our suite door in the morning. A nice touch!

We would definiatly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    30
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
73
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

We almost did not stay at the Sunset Inn after reading the poor reviews but decided to give it a chance as it was located next to The White Owl Bistro. I agree that it could use some upgrades and the ancient hair blower did give us a giggle. I will say that our room 203 was clean and comfortable. The girl at the desk was very friendly and offered to bring us muffins, coffee and the morning paper at any convenient time for us. The table for two in front of the fireplace was a nice touch and the outdoor balcony was a nice treat to sit out on during an early spring afternoon. I did think it was a bit overpriced even with a discount.( The room with taxes was $196.00) We LOVED the White Owl Bistro. We enjoyed an unhurried 3 hour meal with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandKOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

We just spent the weekend here. It's usually one of my first choices because of it's location, decor and general value. However, this weekend, with the icy parking lot, the bird crap all over the outside floors, the noisy fireplace, the ancient hairdryer and the wall damage in the bathroom, I might not stay here again. They will serve you muffins in the morning only if you request it and they do let you borrow dvd's. Also, always ask for a lower rate for the rooms and you usually get it. Our room was normally $129 and went down to $109 when requested. We stayed in room 204. The room had 2 beds, one queen and one double. A gas fireplace and table with chairs, wine glasses and a candle was a nice touch. There is a fridge and dvd player, a basic bathroom(watch the step) and make sure you shut the front door well, or it will blow open at the worst moment! The curtains has little holes in the plastic drapes and beside the tub there was ongoing damage and repairs to the wall(water damage). What I thought was dirt outside on the outdoor carpet, was bird crap and it stayed all weekend! There was wax on the indoor carpet and it would be nice to have an optional blanket in the boxes at the end of the beds. The owners need to step into each room to notice these small issues instead of waiting for guests to complain or the cleaning staff to mention something! Spend a little money to fix up the rooms and keep your guests happy and returning! The White Owl Bistro next door has great food but it's not cheap! No DMF! We may not return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ws34nipissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmckinz, Manager at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this review, June 12, 2009
We have recently done some upgrades and renovations to our rooms. We have installed new hairdryers, painted our bathrooms and always take pride in our establishment. We try to please every customer that walks in our door and go above and beond any other chain hotel. if you stay here you would know from the moment you walk through our doors to the morning when we run you up freshly baked muffins, coffee and the paper. Our customers mean everything to us and I will personally guarentee the best service anyone can offer. Try us again and you won't be disappointed. Thank you for your recent buisness and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2008

As I am frequently in North Bay for business, I have stayed at this property a number of times over the past two years. I always have stayed in one of the front "motel-like" rooms with a king bed and a propane fireplace. The staff have always been friendly and helpful plus they bake fresh muffins every morning and will deliver to your door if you request.
The rooms are comfortable, warm and clean but there is a reason the lighting is so dim. The rooms needs a "freshening-up" as the bathroom fixtures are older, the hair-dryer is beyond retro and there is an annoying 5 cm or so step between the toilet/bath and the sink area. Plus, most times I have been there, the switches on the desk lamps do not work and the thermostat for the fireplace has to be "fiddled with" to get the fireplace to work. Anytime I have stayed there in the summer, there is a faint mildew-like smell to the bathroom.
On the positive side, Lake Nipissing is almost literally at your door, there is a great breakfast restaurant within walking distance (as is the LCBO) and the White Owl Bistro next door has an awesome lunch menu (way over-priced for dinner though).
The Sunset Inn is a nice change from the chains but is on a busy road - not in a remote part of Northern Ontario.

  • Liked — Pine accented rooms, comfy duvet, in-room fireplaces, daily muffin service
  • Disliked — Rooms need to be spruced up
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

Very disappointed in the Sunset Inn. We had a wedding in the family and most of us had seen the commercials on TV and the website and thought that this would be the place to stay.....NOT....We stayed in the three bedroom "chalet" and honestly there are fish huts on Nipissing that are in better condition...the "chalet was disgusting. We had no coffee! the rug was dirty, the "duvet" was a rag, the walls were dirty, the glasses had to be cleaned before using them..we spent our time killing spiders inside our "chalet"..the bedrooms were barely bigger than a double bed.....and throughout the "chalet" there was no room to move! My brother was going to stay in another "chalet" and actually wanted to cancel but was informed that you need to give 30 days notice...buyer beware!...rather, management upgraded him to another room.....but again very overpriced! Thank goodness for the White Owl Bistro food is magnificient! We will NOT return to the Sunset Inn nor will we even recommend it to anyone....Our nephew stayed at the Terrace Bay Inn in Callander which is 10 minutes from the Sunset Inn and we would highly recommend you stay there.

  • Liked — Ducks were friendly and the White Owl Bistro
  • Disliked — where do I start?
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dkdk94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Ontario
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2008

As to be expected, when searching on-line for a place to spend a weekend, looks are very deceiving. On-line, the cottage looks luxurious, spacious and comfortable. Being a group of six women on an all girls weekend, in the mood for having a good time, hanging out, etc. we were disappointed in the size of the cottage. Walking into the main living area was like walking into my 12 x 12 kitchen. It was a good thing we were all close friends that didn't mind bumping into each other. Ample sleeping quarters, I guess, but we weren't there to sleep, much, anyways. We made the best out of it (moved the kitchen table out, brought the mattresses into the living area, etc. ) lol, but I have to say, very disappointed in how this place is presented on-line.

  • Liked — The cute guy at the front desk.
  • Disliked — The size of the cottage
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmckinz, Manager at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this review, June 12, 2009
Hello, Thank you for your response. We tried to make our online pictures exactly what the room protrays. The cottage you stayed in actually doesn't have pictures online. We only have pictures of our two bedroom chalet which you stayed in our three bedroom chalet. Our rooms and suites are very nice and wish you could have seen them. Please try our two bedroom chalet next time or a couple of our Fireplace suites. Thanks for your honesty and review. We take these to heart and try to improve our establishment every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2007

Stayed a week in North Bay for a nice mid-winter getaway. Chose Sunset Inn because of 1) the location; not smack in the middle of town but not way out in the boonies either, and 2) they offered a nice, roomy, well-equipped housekeeping chalet so we didn't have to dine out every time. The owners were quite friendly and attentive to our needs. Attached White Owl Bistro is one of North Bay's best restaurants. Our chalet was clean and nicely decorated, with daily maid service included. Not the cheapest place to stay in the area, but we felt the rates were not out-of-line for what we got. Would return if visiting North Bay again.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frankmc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
0.3 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#6 of 25 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn on the Park

Property: Sunset Inn on the Park
Address: 641 Lakeshore Dr, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Inn on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn is located in North Bay, on beautiful Lake Nipissing in Northern Ontario. Our unique Inn, a haven of tranquillity, awaits to enfold you in luxury and service. Create an unforgettable getaway in one of our luxurious suites. We also have variety of different types of rooms to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Inn on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Inn On The Park Hotel North Bay
Sunset Inn On The Park North Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing