We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Inn on the Park
Nearby Hotels
$96
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lincoln Inn(North Bay)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)(North Bay)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 North Bay(North Bay)(Great Value!)
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franklin Motel, Tent & Trailer Park(North Bay)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Garry Motel & Cottages(North Bay)(Great Value!)
$78
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeshore Suites(North Bay)(Great Value!)
$78
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
93
39
10
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
39
10
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachwhite owllake nipissingfresh muffinsfireplace roomheart shape tubnice optionroom serviceview of the lakestay there againlounge chairsbusy roaddvd playerlight breakfastfront officecomfortable place to staysand beach
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 148 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We just spent the weekend here. It's usually one of my first choices because of it's location, decor and general value. However, this weekend, with the icy parking lot, the bird crap all over the outside floors, the noisy fireplace, the ancient hairdryer and the wall damage in the bathroom, I might not stay here again. They will serve you muffins in the morning only if you request it and they do let you borrow dvd's. Also, always ask for a lower rate for the rooms and you usually get it. Our room was normally $129 and went down to $109 when requested. We stayed in room 204. The room had 2 beds, one queen and one double. A gas fireplace and table with chairs, wine glasses and a candle was a nice touch. There is a fridge and dvd player, a basic bathroom(watch the step) and make sure you shut the front door well, or it will blow open at the worst moment! The curtains has little holes in the plastic drapes and beside the tub there was ongoing damage and repairs to the wall(water damage). What I thought was dirt outside on the outdoor carpet, was bird crap and it stayed all weekend! There was wax on the indoor carpet and it would be nice to have an optional blanket in the boxes at the end of the beds. The owners need to step into each room to notice these small issues instead of waiting for guests to complain or the cleaning staff to mention something! Spend a little money to fix up the rooms and keep your guests happy and returning! The White Owl Bistro next door has great food but it's not cheap! No DMF! We may not return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ws34nipissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmckinz, Manager at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2009

We have recently done some upgrades and renovations to our rooms. We have installed new hairdryers, painted our bathrooms and always take pride in our establishment. We try to please every customer that walks in our door and go above and beond any other chain hotel. if you stay here you would know from the moment you walk through our doors to the morning when we run you up freshly baked muffins, coffee and the paper. Our customers mean everything to us and I will personally guarentee the best service anyone can offer. Try us again and you won't be disappointed. Thank you for your recent buisness and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

As I am frequently in North Bay for business, I have stayed at this property a number of times over the past two years. I always have stayed in one of the front "motel-like" rooms with a king bed and a propane fireplace. The staff have always been friendly and helpful plus they bake fresh muffins every morning and will deliver to your door if you request.
The rooms are comfortable, warm and clean but there is a reason the lighting is so dim. The rooms needs a "freshening-up" as the bathroom fixtures are older, the hair-dryer is beyond retro and there is an annoying 5 cm or so step between the toilet/bath and the sink area. Plus, most times I have been there, the switches on the desk lamps do not work and the thermostat for the fireplace has to be "fiddled with" to get the fireplace to work. Anytime I have stayed there in the summer, there is a faint mildew-like smell to the bathroom.
On the positive side, Lake Nipissing is almost literally at your door, there is a great breakfast restaurant within walking distance (as is the LCBO) and the White Owl Bistro next door has an awesome lunch menu (way over-priced for dinner though).
The Sunset Inn is a nice change from the chains but is on a busy road - not in a remote part of Northern Ontario.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Very disappointed in the Sunset Inn. We had a wedding in the family and most of us had seen the commercials on TV and the website and thought that this would be the place to stay.....NOT....We stayed in the three bedroom "chalet" and honestly there are fish huts on Nipissing that are in better condition...the "chalet was disgusting. We had no coffee! the rug was dirty, the "duvet" was a rag, the walls were dirty, the glasses had to be cleaned before using them..we spent our time killing spiders inside our "chalet"..the bedrooms were barely bigger than a double bed.....and throughout the "chalet" there was no room to move! My brother was going to stay in another "chalet" and actually wanted to cancel but was informed that you need to give 30 days notice...buyer beware!...rather, management upgraded him to another room.....but again very overpriced! Thank goodness for the White Owl Bistro food is magnificient! We will NOT return to the Sunset Inn nor will we even recommend it to anyone....Our nephew stayed at the Terrace Bay Inn in Callander which is 10 minutes from the Sunset Inn and we would highly recommend you stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dkdk94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

As to be expected, when searching on-line for a place to spend a weekend, looks are very deceiving. On-line, the cottage looks luxurious, spacious and comfortable. Being a group of six women on an all girls weekend, in the mood for having a good time, hanging out, etc. we were disappointed in the size of the cottage. Walking into the main living area was like walking into my 12 x 12 kitchen. It was a good thing we were all close friends that didn't mind bumping into each other. Ample sleeping quarters, I guess, but we weren't there to sleep, much, anyways. We made the best out of it (moved the kitchen table out, brought the mattresses into the living area, etc. ) lol, but I have to say, very disappointed in how this place is presented on-line.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmckinz, Manager at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2009

Hello, Thank you for your response. We tried to make our online pictures exactly what the room protrays. The cottage you stayed in actually doesn't have pictures online. We only have pictures of our two bedroom chalet which you stayed in our three bedroom chalet. Our rooms and suites are very nice and wish you could have seen them. Please try our two bedroom chalet next time or a couple of our Fireplace suites. Thanks for your honesty and review. We take these to heart and try to improve our establishment every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

Stayed a week in North Bay for a nice mid-winter getaway. Chose Sunset Inn because of 1) the location; not smack in the middle of town but not way out in the boonies either, and 2) they offered a nice, roomy, well-equipped housekeeping chalet so we didn't have to dine out every time. The owners were quite friendly and attentive to our needs. Attached White Owl Bistro is one of North Bay's best restaurants. Our chalet was clean and nicely decorated, with daily maid service included. Not the cheapest place to stay in the area, but we felt the rates were not out-of-line for what we got. Would return if visiting North Bay again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews