We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Inn on the Park
Ranked #1 of 7 North Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Found this hotel with help of trip advisor and were very satisfied . Right on the water with a small beach . The room was very clean and had all the conveniences fridge, stove, microwave ,DVD. The owner was very friendly and helpful . We took the cruise on the Commander 2. Muffins and coffee were supplied in the morning . Would definitely return .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJ2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

It's so great to know that our guests are looking us up on tripadvisor.ca for accommodations and I'm glad that we did provide you with a good experience while in North Bay.

We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back!

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 141 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stopped here on our way from Manitoulin to Algonquin, we selected it at random and really lucked out. The property has multiple types of rooms, we stayed in a Queen Size room that did not have a view, but did have a very comfortable bed. There was good flatscreen TV, DVD player (the office will loan DVDs), fridge and coffee pot. You get a small breakfast included of fresh muffins, coffee and fruit that you collect from the office on a morning.

The property backs right onto the lake, and they have a small dock and a beach. There were chairs on the beach so you could sit there and enjoy the view, and you could swim in the lake. Unfortunately as it was labor day the local choice of restaurants was restricted, but the office was helpful in directing us to a branch of dominos that would deliver.

It is about 15 minutes drive from the centre of North Bay, but there are several restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty_karate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent review of the Sunset Inn! We are thrilled by your perfect ratings of our value, rooms, cleanliness and service! As you have mentioned, we are extremely fortunate to be situated on Lake Nipissing! Our guests love the private beach and dock on the property. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were making a long drive from Michigan back to Massachusetts and just needed a resting spot from our 15-hour drive. Sunset Inn was perfect. The owner and his family were very nice, the room was clean and cozy, the setting on the lake was lovely, and the bistro next door served us a great, warm meal after a long, long day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetsyRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your positive comments regarding your stay! We are glad to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy the food at the Bistro. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you're in North Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is really like home..It is very comfortable..wonderful beach....
Excellent walking along the shore of Lake Nipissing. Seize the moment with
Spectacular Sunsets.! Several eating places very nearby, especially the White Owl Bistro just
a few feet away.Shopping Mall is very close by for those who want to shop around.
You can get to the center of the city within 10 to 15 minutes,on Lakeshore Drive to Main Street.
Everyone around are so friendly and helpful.This is my first choice for a summer vacation, especially if you want to do a little swimming, and even some great fishing.

Room Tip: I prefer the West side to enjoy the beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parisien940817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

I am thrilled to hear that you had enjoyed your visit at Sunset Inn. As you have mentioned, we are extremely fortunate to be situated on Lake Nipissing and beside some good restaurants. We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back! Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My GF had to go to North Bay for schooling for 5 days. We had heard good things thru Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed. She and I are all about the beds as we have back issues and always need a superior mattress. They didn't disappoint. A review telling us room 202 was good, was perfect. It was on the second floor with a good view of the private beach and water. Nice scenery...peaceful...despite the occasional loud traffic as it's right on :Lakeshore Blvd. It may be a problem if you like to sleep late. The owners were VERY friendly and would jump to your service with any need. It's family run and has a feel one doesn't get at a chain hotel. It's clean. The little private beach is sandy and has a great view. You are close to downtown and all the restaurants including the two great ones next door...The White Owl and Churchills. You have to go to the front office to get ice...no big deal. We needed a citrus squeezer and the owner gave us hers to make margaritas for 4 days!!! Unreal! They have a good DVD selection, although the volume on the TV was touchy.All in all, this is not a flashy place, it's 'homey and warm'. If you like upscale accomodations...this may not be your place. If you want something 'friendly and elegantly rustic'...it is.

Room Tip: Room 202 upstairs ...only one flight...no elevator. LOL Or try the luxury room or beach cottage ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! At the Sunset Inn, we try our level-best to make our guests feel right at home! We are glad that you had a good experience, a good night's sleep and you enjoyed our convenient location! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

When we first reserved a room the owner said the room we wanted was not available but would give us a upgraded jacuzzi room at the same rate if we did not use the jacuzzi. For $119 that sounded good to us as we are on a long road trip.

When we arrived he showed us another room first but it was $30 more, then he showed us our room and said the odor in the room was the exposed wood. Stupid me for believing him. We had the screen door opened but when it got cool and closed it we soon realized the real issue was MOLD! Yes, the room has a real mold smell. Not healthy at all looking back on the situation.

Went to front desk and he finally admitted they are having problems with our room in the summer months but had nothing to offer me. But, was nice and would give us a full refund if we left. We were tired and sick of driving so moving was not what we wanted. He told us to open all windows and turn on the fan for the AC unit. We did and went to dinner and upon return no change and he said only penthouse unit was available. We opened the sliding door and slept with it open all night long and took Claritin, allergy medication.

The crazy part is owner said he can't figure out the problem. My DH figured it out in 2 minutes, hot tub is not caulked at all. I can only imagine all the mold if you hauled out the unit. Also the molding behind the toilet is black in the corner. So, we told him and let's see.

The room is not worth the price and needs to be dealt with. How disappointing it would be if you were coming for a romantic getaway and had this room.

I am upset as I feel the owner was not honest with us at all at the time of check in. We should have been more forceful but are nice people. I have learned my lesson.

However, when we went to check out he did offer us a refund or a negotiation on the price. My DH said no just please take the room out of service and fix it. This is not a quick fix as the hot tub needs to be removed to fully assess the problem.

We stayed there on August 13th so you can judge if they have had time to properly fix the mold issue.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with real lake views so ask. The main double story hotel unit is right o...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our property. We sincerely apologize that you were provided with a less than impressive room. As per our discussion, I had “Premier Installation” in North Bay inspect room 304 thoroughly for mold (including under and around the Jacuzzi) the same week. As per the inspection there was not any sign/detection of mold in the room. In addition the room has had 70% occupancy in August and there weren’t any other concerns from other guests regarding smell/signs of mold. Here at Sunset Inn we take pride in being one of the unique properties in North Bay and we strive to maintain that standing in our appearance and cleanliness. Please know that we are thankful that you have brought this to our attention as we have now been able to acquire the appropriate tools to rectify the situation. I would encourage you to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your experience with us further. We thank you for your time here with us and we hope that during your next stay that we are able to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for one night this past weekend while passing through North Bay on a Motorcycle trip. What a beautiful spot. Our room was lovely, clean, quiet and seemed to be newly rennovated. The room itself had a cabin/rustic feel to it but was very warm and cozy. The bathroom was all new. We were treated very well by the folks that run the place. I would not hesitate to stay there again the next time we are in North Bay.

Room Tip: The restaurant beside the Sunset Inn have the best fish dinner I have ever had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bafer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Our goal is to make every guest feel extremely welcome and comfortable. It is great to see we were able to make that happen during your stay! Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to North Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton North Bay
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
0.3 mi away
Best Western North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn on the Park

Address: 641 Lakeshore Dr, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in North Bay
Price Range: $87 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Inn on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn is located in North Bay, on beautiful Lake Nipissing in Northern Ontario. Our unique Inn, a haven of tranquillity, awaits to enfold you in luxury and service. Create an unforgettable getaway in one of our luxurious suites. We also have variety of different types of rooms to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sunset Inn on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Inn On The Park Hotel North Bay
Sunset Inn On The Park North Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing