We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 304 has a serious mold issue - owner was aware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn on the Park
Ranked #1 of 7 North Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

When we first reserved a room the owner said the room we wanted was not available but would give us a upgraded jacuzzi room at the same rate if we did not use the jacuzzi. For $119 that sounded good to us as we are on a long road trip.

When we arrived he showed us another room first but it was $30 more, then he showed us our room and said the odor in the room was the exposed wood. Stupid me for believing him. We had the screen door opened but when it got cool and closed it we soon realized the real issue was MOLD! Yes, the room has a real mold smell. Not healthy at all looking back on the situation.

Went to front desk and he finally admitted they are having problems with our room in the summer months but had nothing to offer me. But, was nice and would give us a full refund if we left. We were tired and sick of driving so moving was not what we wanted. He told us to open all windows and turn on the fan for the AC unit. We did and went to dinner and upon return no change and he said only penthouse unit was available. We opened the sliding door and slept with it open all night long and took Claritin, allergy medication.

The crazy part is owner said he can't figure out the problem. My DH figured it out in 2 minutes, hot tub is not caulked at all. I can only imagine all the mold if you hauled out the unit. Also the molding behind the toilet is black in the corner. So, we told him and let's see.

The room is not worth the price and needs to be dealt with. How disappointing it would be if you were coming for a romantic getaway and had this room.

I am upset as I feel the owner was not honest with us at all at the time of check in. We should have been more forceful but are nice people. I have learned my lesson.

However, when we went to check out he did offer us a refund or a negotiation on the price. My DH said no just please take the room out of service and fix it. This is not a quick fix as the hot tub needs to be removed to fully assess the problem.

We stayed there on August 13th so you can judge if they have had time to properly fix the mold issue.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with real lake views so ask. The main double story hotel unit is right o...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our property. We sincerely apologize that you were provided with a less than impressive room. As per our discussion, I had “Premier Installation” in North Bay inspect room 304 thoroughly for mold (including under and around the Jacuzzi) the same week. As per the inspection there was not any sign/detection of mold in the room. In addition the room has had 70% occupancy in August and there weren’t any other concerns from other guests regarding smell/signs of mold. Here at Sunset Inn we take pride in being one of the unique properties in North Bay and we strive to maintain that standing in our appearance and cleanliness. Please know that we are thankful that you have brought this to our attention as we have now been able to acquire the appropriate tools to rectify the situation. I would encourage you to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your experience with us further. We thank you for your time here with us and we hope that during your next stay that we are able to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 141 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for one night this past weekend while passing through North Bay on a Motorcycle trip. What a beautiful spot. Our room was lovely, clean, quiet and seemed to be newly rennovated. The room itself had a cabin/rustic feel to it but was very warm and cozy. The bathroom was all new. We were treated very well by the folks that run the place. I would not hesitate to stay there again the next time we are in North Bay.

Room Tip: The restaurant beside the Sunset Inn have the best fish dinner I have ever had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bafer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Our goal is to make every guest feel extremely welcome and comfortable. It is great to see we were able to make that happen during your stay! Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to North Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed at the Sunset Inn and absolutely loved it. It was my first time staying at the Inn and I will stay there again without a doubt!!! The room was beautiful, clean, bed was so comfortable and the owners were so welcoming! We ate at the Sunset Inn Restaurant the the food was delicious, our waitress Samatha was the best! I will be back!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 203 and my friend stayed in Room 105. I loved the balcony at the front and back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowflake333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review on Sunset Inn. We are pleased to see you and your friend had such a wonderful stay and look forward to having you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We came to North Bay for a family wedding but chose not to stay at the generic hotel that was booked for friends and family. We wanted a view of the lake and not a car park! I did some research and really liked the reviews I read and equally the speedy responses from Chetan. We stayed for two nights and would have love to stay for longer. The owners are awesome, very friendly, professional and we received excellent customer service. We stayed in a fireplace suite, 2nd floor, room 202. Looked just like the picture, very clean and comfortable. Nice balcony with a perfect view of the lake and the room was very adequately equipped with all the essentials and more for a short stay. Other family members who came and visited us during our stay were also equally impressed with our room and the location so much so they wished they had made the same choice as us, (e.g. don't stay at the Best Western!) Oh and the little private beach was really lovely. If we ever go back to North Bay we will definitely stay there again. Thanks again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliza a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your great review and positive comments regarding our rooms, service and property. The private beach is bonus point for us and we are happy when our guest are able to utilize it. We thank you for sharing your excellent experience with other travelers and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to North Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked the cottage for a week to enjoy our honeymoon. What a great experience! The owners were very friendly and welcoming during our entire stay. They went out of their way to ensure that our stay and every other guests' stay was wonderful and memorable. The staff were wonderful, coming in everyday to offer cleaning and fresh towels. The view was amazing and we were rocked to sleep every night by the sound of waves on the shore. They have thought of everything to make their guests stay the most comfortable possible. This will remain our number 1 spot to stay in North Bay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWM2784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sunset Inn for accommodations for your wedding and vacation. We are thankful for your comments regarding us, our great staff, service and location. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here June 30th 2013
It was our 3rd time staying at Sunset Inn and first time under the new owners. Just as you think it can't get any better it does. The new owners have completely renovated (at the least the room we were in was) The room was immaculate! The beds were high and comfortable, fresh new fluffy pillows, newly renovated shower and bathroom. Chetan & Dipika are really friendly, social and accommodating. We were 2 couple who came on Motorcycles and they went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Nice little Continental breakfast was included. I would highly recommend staying here and we will stay here next year on our travels

Room Tip: I forget the room number, we were facing the road but don't let that fool you. Once you open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine4jo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your great review and continued loyalty to Sunset Inn, North Bay. We thank you for your comments about our comfortable mattresses and our newly renovated rooms. Hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After a long trip home to Ottawa from Edmonton we decided to stay in North Bay for a couple of nights, and lucked-in to find the Sunset Inn. All categories were top notch in terms of service, rooms, cleanliness, location on the lake...and the beds are very comfortable. The owners are so friendly and helpful to ensure everything is just right. We travel quite a bit and must give credit to this Inn...as previously stated by Yash585, this was the best we have stayed in for quite some time. The Sunset Inn is the only place I will stay at in North Bay in the future and look forward to bringing our friends next time. Room 202 with the balcony looking out to the lake is very impressive!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of the Sunset Inn. We are thrilled to learn that you had such a complete experience throughout your stay and thank you for your perfect ratings of our location, sleep quality, room cleanliness and service. We look forward to hosting you and your friends when you are back in North Bay. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton North Bay
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
0.3 mi away
Best Western North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn on the Park

Address: 641 Lakeshore Dr, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in North Bay
Price Range: $87 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Inn on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn is located in North Bay, on beautiful Lake Nipissing in Northern Ontario. Our unique Inn, a haven of tranquillity, awaits to enfold you in luxury and service. Create an unforgettable getaway in one of our luxurious suites. We also have variety of different types of rooms to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Inn on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Inn On The Park Hotel North Bay
Sunset Inn On The Park North Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing