We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot on Lake Nippising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn on the Park
Ranked #1 of 7 North Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I travel alot for work as a sales rep. I have to say this is the best place to stay in North Bay.
I can sit on the beach and look at Lake Nippising after a long day at work instead of being couped up in a stuffy hotel room.
The owners are amazing!! Warm and welcoming they go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable.
2 great restaurants in walking distance although the rooms do have fridge stove and microwave
The rooms are very clean and the beds very comfortable.
Probably one of the nicest places I have ever stayed overall business or pleasure

Sandra B
Barrie,Ont.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandibeaches59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience based on your recent stay with Sunset Inn. Our goal has always been to provide our guests with friendly, clean and comfortable stay. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our great location and look forward to hosting you again! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Inn on the Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 137 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

After spending the previous 8 days enjoying the peacefulness of the Algolquin Prov. park region, it was a bit daunting to arrive in North Bay, but our fears were soon allayed with the genuine welcome we received from Chetan and Dipika. Our room, a king with lake view was spotless, spacious and well appointed. Their attention to detail was excellent, and nothing was to much of a problem for them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your positive comments regarding us. I am also thrillled that you enjoyed the property and the cleanliness of our Inn! Please feel free to reach out to us when you or your family are heading this way. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our stay at this Inn was most enjoyable. The owners were hands on,could not have been more helpful or pleasant, and are really nice people.The accommodation was well appointed and good value for money. The Inn is very well situated on the shores of Lake Nippissing offering a serenity not often found.
We look forward to a return visit and would recommend the Sunset Inn, North Bay without hesitation.

Room Tip: The cottages and rooms closer to the lake would be even quieter and offer the benefit of almost bein...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony499290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location. We thank you for your positive comments regarding the friendliness of our staff. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was driving back to Alberta from Ontario. Noticed the beautiful location and stopped. Of all the hotels we had visited during our trip, this one was, by a very large margin, the best. The owners are tremendously nice and keep the place in tip-top shape. Everything is clean, the furniture is new, and the location is absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yash585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

I would like to thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with Sunset Inn, North Bay. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our room and that you have chosen us for accomodation in North Bay. Hope we have the opportunity to meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay here while up visiting our family. We were treated very well, with a beautiful fireplace room overlooking Lake Nipissing. the room was very clean and beautifully made up. The beds were exceptionally comfortable. We loved sitting in the comfie chairs beside the fireplace, while enjoying one of the many movies the owners have available to borrow. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience based on your recent stay with Sunset Inn. I'm thrilled that we were able to provide you with the type of service we strive for with all of our guests, friendly and comfortable. Thank you again for recommending us and making us your choice when you travel to Northern Ontario, we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed the weekend of January 25th in the Penthouse Suite. It was absolutely gorgeous! The staff was pleasant and very friendly. We ordered the romance package with couples massage, roses, a cheese and fruit tray, champagne and a dinner for 2 at the White Owl Bistro. My only complaints about the actual Inn itself were that our balcony was not cleared off and that the stairs were very icy going up into the room. Also, the cheese and fruit tray that came in the package was certainly not worth the $60 that they charge for it Otherwise, my main complaint was actually the food that we had delivered by room service from The White Owl. I ordered the pickerel dinner with rice and vegetables.....unfortunately, the fish that they served me was not pickerel (it was maybe lake trout or some other pink fish....pickerel cooks up white), the rice was undercooked and chewy, and the vegetables were in huge chunks with no flavour. Also, our room service tray which they told us to leave outside our door was not picked up until the following afternoon. The meal was so disappointing, after having read so many positive reviews about the White Owl Bistro. We basically paid over $500 per night for our room and it was disappointing that the meal really ruined our first night...we ended up having to go get take out later on. My husband did let the owner/manager know, but he just informed us that he'd let the restaurant know, so I assume that they really don't care about repeat business. At any rate, if you go, do not order the romance package....it is not worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

I would like to thank you for your feedback concerning your current stay with us. I am truly sorry to hear that your meal was not satisfactory with the White Owl Bistro. It is a respected local restaurant in North Bay. I did forward your concern to the owner of the restaurant.

I am sincerely sorry about the snow and ice management. Having a week of near -40 degree celsius we tried our best to make sure all walkway were safe. Adding salt had no effect on the ice therefore I used sand to avoid any accident.

Overall, I'm happy that you were happy with our room. Once again thank you so much for the feedback, and I am truly sorry to hear of the issues. We do care of our customers and pride ourselves on delivering a comfortable stay for all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great place. I stayed in the fireside room. Large, very clean and very relaxing, The owners are delightful and very helpful. The little white owl restaurant beside is a real treat. This place is not expensive and well worth the stay.

Room Tip: The fireside suite is really great!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karine427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Owner at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sunset Inn on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to looking after you again on your next visit to North Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
0.3 mi away
Best Western North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton North Bay
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn on the Park

Address: 641 Lakeshore Dr, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in North Bay
Price Range: $88 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Inn on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn is located in North Bay, on beautiful Lake Nipissing in Northern Ontario. Our unique Inn, a haven of tranquillity, awaits to enfold you in luxury and service. Create an unforgettable getaway in one of our luxurious suites. We also have variety of different types of rooms to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Inn on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Inn On The Park Hotel North Bay
Sunset Inn On The Park North Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing