We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Ritz, but clean, large room, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz, but clean, large room, good value”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

O.K. it's not the Ritz. But the rooms are clean, relatively large and under a hundred bucks. It's across the street from the lake and best of all you can walk to the White Owl Bistro from here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PghAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    22
    14
    6
See reviews for
35
35
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saanich, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

OK but not super clean or even close to being up to date. Beds are turn of the 60's with covers that have burn holes. and sliider doors need new handle and a goog cleaning. In other words - over worked and under maintaned. Do not beleive it reaches the ** rating - maybe after a good redo - again. Until them - one and a half stars at best.

Room Tip: Seniors and AA discounts after you get a quote on base rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobFarr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Bay hotels

Sundridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

My daughter and I went for a girls weekend to North Bay. We decided to go with one of the mystery hotels through Travelocity. We figured if you were saving 60%-80% that we were going to get a fantastic hotel. The staff was great. The room was not. My daughter slept on the pull out sofa and said that she coulf feel every spring. One side of the room was in a different climate zone from the other. I was too hot and she froze. No swimming pool, very small breakfast (for a small fee)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1awesome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I stayed at the Comfort Inn for a friend's wedding in July - I was very disappointed.
The reason we stayed here is that our friend had negotiated a 'discounted rate' of $95/night, and it was on the same street as the wedding/reception, so it was very convenient.

The hotel is old and tired, there were cigarette burns in the bedspread, the air conditioner barely rattled to life when we turned it on, and there was no fan in the bathroom, so we were stifling hot when getting ready. I am not usually someone who is picky about hotels - but this place wasn't very nice. There are a few more worthy hotels in North Bay and I daresay they are around the same price.

The one thing I did like was that there was a fridge and microwave in the room - they definitely came in handy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubasiCubasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2007

We stayed in August and were very happy with the room.The price is right and couldn't believe the how good the breakfast was.And we were right across from the lake.We would certainly recomend this hotel to everybody.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank roybarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Our family will never stay here again! Until the wee hours of the morning, large men (like truckers or motorbike gang?) were yelling, swearing drinking and smoking all through the night with their doors open. My wife and kids were scared of these men, and we should have called the police I guess. The whole first floor of the hotel was noisy and smoky from the partying. All kinds of visitors were complaining to the front desk all night and the next morning, but the night staff were rude to people, didn't answer phones, and kept acting like there was nothing they could do about it. There were supposedly 'no managers available' to deal with all the complaining customers. A horrible experience.... stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CEOstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2006

I have spent the night at this location on several different occasions, the staff are always friendly, the rates are pretty good, and it's located away from heavy traffic so it's pretty quiet. On my most recent visit there was only one room left, a smoking room... Now, I am not a smoker, but I did not feel like searching around for another room, so I figured sure, I can put up with a room that smells a bit somkey...

Well, a bit smoky was an understatement... It would appear as if all the smoking rooms are linked up somehow, so when someone is smoking in another room it filters into the other rooms! So lesson learned, if you are not a smoker, I would strongly suggest that you don't settle for a smoking room!

  • Liked — Nice and quiet.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Tips/Secrets — Non smokers don't settle for a smoking room!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Avistow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
0.1 mi away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#8 of 26 in North Bay
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay

Property: Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
Address: 676 Lakeshore Dr, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of Lake Nipissing, this Comfort Inn® hotel is minutes from points of interest including the North Bay Mall, Canadore College, Nipissing University, Laurentian Ski Hill and the North Bay Jack Garland Airport. This North Bay hotel is conveniently located close to outdoor recreational activities including golf, fishing, hunting and snowmobiling. Guests can relax on the sandy beaches across from the hotel, and the shopping and restaurants of downtown are a short drive away. Spacious guest rooms come equipped with hair dryers, ironing equipment, coffee makers and cable television. All rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves. Handicap accessible rooms are available. The hotel is 100% smoke free. Business travellers appreciate the onsite business centre. Premium amenities and features of this Comfort Inn hotel include: Free breakfast Free local calls Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free newspaper Pet-friendly hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Bay
North Bay Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing