We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleepless night at bellow average motel like stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn North Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in North Bay
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    24
    15
    15
See reviews for
32
24
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Requested ground level room and although they had not assigned one to me, the on duty guest relation person was good enough to find one for me.
Room was clean and all the appliances worked well. Fridge, Microwave and coffee maker were all included as well as a hair drier I did not need to use.
Morning Breakfast was minimal but sufficient to start my day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I was on a budget and picked this place for the price of around $75/a night. There is nothing fancy about the place, but the room I had #22 (I think) seemed fine. The operators were friendly and helpful, but the whole place desperately needs a update, as its really run down. The breakfast was a typical continental style, and the coffee was good.. I'd like to try a different place if I was in the area again though...

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MikeFitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I chose this hotel because of it's location and that was all that it delivered on. I have stayed at Howard Johnson's before but this one was sub par compared with the other I have stayed at. The rooms were dirty and had several ants crawling around, also there were also no towels. In the morning the hotel had promised free breakfast, but there was nothing.

There are other hotels in the area and in the future I would spend the extra couple of dollars to stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkipperStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Bay hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Well I stayed there with a friend In May! We booked online we didn't know we had to put a had to put a 100$ Deposit Down! Which we got back when checking out!! It took forever for the guy to look over the room!! But Besides that the Room was Okay.. The Ice container was Dirty!


The Breakfast was okay besides the Orange Juice and Milk was Room Temperature !! Really Disgusting .


It was My first time staying there and last time!! :)

Room Tip: I found the room on the main floor was pretty quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Browneyegirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hotel is more like a motel but it was really clean and the staff was kind. I was unhappy to find out the continental breakfast did not start until 7:30am which was too late since most hotels begin serving breakfast as early as 6:00am.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
3.6 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#7 of 25 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn North Bay

Property: Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
Address: 255 Mcintyre Street West, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2Y9, Canada (Formerly Northgate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn North Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Bay Hotel North Bay
Days Inn North Bay
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing