We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Because this is a Howard Johnson, expectations were that it...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Because this is a Howard Johnson, expectations were that it would be a good place to stay. It is severely run down. Very obvious that any profits are not put back into it. It's run down; looks scarey. Mold all over bathrooms; shower/tub enclosures cracked in multiple places; rooms are in desperate needs of a coat of paint. I know that for $70 a night you shouldn't expect a lot but if this place was $20 a night - I wouldn't stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank BBLeblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

THE GOOD:
-nice firm soft bed
-friendly and helpful staff
-reasonable price
THE BAD:
-strong smoky smell in my non-smoking room
-aging facility
THE UGLY:
-difficult to find and surrounded by decaying neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williams R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good basic motel close to downtown North Bay, but not a very attractive location. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank elaine_pettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I travel with friends and family often, and stay at many hotels . This hotel by far offered best prices. The rooms are spacious, beds are really confy, comes with LCD TV, microwave and fridge. Hotel was really clean, quite and homely. Staff was really helpful and knew a lot about the town. They were always available to guide us. Hotel is really conveniently located, and was close to many attractions. All for unbelievably small cost. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
3.6 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton North Bay
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn North Bay

Address: 255 McIntyre St W, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2Y9, Canada (Formerly Northgate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
Price Range: $67 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn North Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Bay Hotel North Bay
Days Inn North Bay
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing