We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good basic motel close to downtown North Bay, but not a...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn North Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in North Bay
Burlington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good basic motel close to downtown North Bay, but not a...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good basic motel close to downtown North Bay, but not a very attractive location. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank elaine_pettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    24
    15
    15
See reviews for
32
24
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I travel with friends and family often, and stay at many hotels . This hotel by far offered best prices. The rooms are spacious, beds are really confy, comes with LCD TV, microwave and fridge. Hotel was really clean, quite and homely. Staff was really helpful and knew a lot about the town. They were always available to guide us. Hotel is really conveniently located, and was close to many attractions. All for unbelievably small cost. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were attending a funeral in Powassan and decided to stay in North Bay for the visit. The room we were in had been newly updated, so the pictures they have uploaded are not an accurate representation. The bed was as nice as what we've had in 4 star Hilton's in the past. The room was very clean and the tv's was updated to a decent size flat screen. For the price we paid it was more than sufficient..

The continental breakfast in the morning was included in the price of our stay and was extremely basic but we didn't mind since we're not huge breakfast eaters anyways. We had no problems with the staff and was always greeted with a smile, and the place was basically empty while we were there so we had no issues with noise or anything.

At the end of the day its a very basic place.. if you're expecting something fancy you wont find it here, but we have absolutely nothing to complain about.. the room more than served its purpose for our stay. I probably would not stay here again, simply because the next time I'm in North Bay it wont be for the same occasion but I would recommend it for people looking for a simple stay for a good price.

One perk is its close to the water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTownMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

While on a move across the country we came across this Motel and found the staff friendly and kind. The room was comfortable and although the free breakfast was certainly not the best we've come across it did provide the basics. For it's value and cleanliness, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WesAura-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lorne,Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This was not easy to find.
The room had many deficiencies and the breakfast was awful.
The desk attendant acted like I was bothering her online surfing time.
Will never stay there again
You can hear the noise from other rooms.
It is probably considered a motor court rather than a hotel since all the room doors open to the outdoors.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knitpik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Bay hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed there 4 nights and found the staff friendly and kind, this is the third time I stayed here and have no problem what so ever, the rooms are clean and have been renovated since my last stay. Very nice marble bathroom, flat screen T.V. with all the movie channels, New air conditioner, comfortable beds and I like that I could park my car rite at my door. Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
3.6 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#7 of 25 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn North Bay

Property: Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
Address: 255 McIntyre St W, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2Y9, Canada (Formerly Northgate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn North Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Bay Hotel North Bay
Days Inn North Bay
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing