We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Comfortable Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn North Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn North Bay to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Mcintyre Street West, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2Y9, Canada (Formerly Northgate Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in North Bay
Winchester, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

While on a move across the country we came across this Motel and found the staff friendly and kind. The room was comfortable and although the free breakfast was certainly not the best we've come across it did provide the basics. For it's value and cleanliness, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WesAura-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    34
    22
    15
    15
See reviews for
29
23
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Lorne,Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This was not easy to find.
The room had many deficiencies and the breakfast was awful.
The desk attendant acted like I was bothering her online surfing time.
Will never stay there again
You can hear the noise from other rooms.
It is probably considered a motor court rather than a hotel since all the room doors open to the outdoors.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knitpik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Bay hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed there 4 nights and found the staff friendly and kind, this is the third time I stayed here and have no problem what so ever, the rooms are clean and have been renovated since my last stay. Very nice marble bathroom, flat screen T.V. with all the movie channels, New air conditioner, comfortable beds and I like that I could park my car rite at my door. Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
344 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The beds seem newer, they are quite comfy. Has seen some improvements since it became a Hojo but its still a dive. We stay here once a year and I don't know why. The service is friendly but that's about all that is good about the place. Stay elsewhere! Not recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorbragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Do whatever you can to find another place to stay in North Bay.
-Black mold in the washrooms
-A friend got bed bug bites in her room
-No water pressure
-Book a room for 4 people, they give you 2 towels max..ask for more and only get more if you return the original 2
-Half the time there is nobody at the front desk as they are busy looking after their kids. The cleaning staff is the front desk guy's wife and 2 of their umpteen kids..takes forever to get anything from them.
-The staff lives in a room at the motel...leave their door open and all you hear all day are their kids screaming
-"Free breakfast" is stale bagels, and big containers of cereal that sit out FOREVER.
-Condiments for bagels are small pkgs of penut butter and jam stolen from restaraunts (even with orig name of restaurant stamped on them)

Room Tip: No good rooms exist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinParnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val-Caron
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

An older hotel found on hotline.com rated a 3star but in reality it was more like a 1.5 or a 2 @ the most. Usually a 3 star rating is for a Holliday Inn....When we I opened the pullout bed their was allot of crumbs and food in the sheets.I m not comming back here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric-gaudreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

great value but the rooms are sub-par. my room felt damp and stunk of stale smoke.
the comforters they had wreaked of cigarettes, i had to pull a blanket out of the car for my 2 year old to sleep with.
washrooms had rust stains all over.. could see mold around tub and sink.
i guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
3.6 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#7 of 25 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn North Bay

Property: Howard Johnson Inn North Bay
Address: 255 Mcintyre Street West, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2Y9, Canada (Formerly Northgate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn North Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Bay Hotel North Bay
Days Inn North Bay
Howard Johnson Inn North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing