We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in North Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
elliot lake, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

this is a excellent place to stay for business or leisure if in north bay if you are staying in North bay. great restaurant, great lounge, good beds reasonable price . great location. friendly staff. good place to stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you Dennis, we are glad that you had a great stay, we appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    113
    48
    26
    14
See reviews for
75
66
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

When a hotel uses conference centre in their name I expect a few basics for a business hotel. This hotel met none of them. The front staff are slow and do not seem to care that I was staying there, wifi connectivity in the room was very poor and no express check-out making for a painfully slow departure. As well the hotel advertises that they are 'newly renovated', I could see no evidence of this as my room had the wall paper peeling off of the wall.

There are enough other choices of hotels in North Bay that it is unlikely I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Sorry that we did not meet your expectations, we have done a lot but still have a few items that still needs completions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Bay hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
713 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Best Western in North Bay on Lakeshore Drive is a solid choice for a business stay. It is a short drive to the downtown core. You can also take a short walk (about 10 minutes) to a public beach on a point that juts out into Lake Nippissing. The hotel has a good restaurant. Although it could use an upgrade it is well maintained and pretty busy. The work out facility is adequate. All in all you can't go wrong with the Best Western in North Bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you JamesII for your review of our location, we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed three nights over the Thanksgiving weekend at this hotel. Overall this is a decent hotel. The front desk staff could use a bit of training in customer service. Possibly looking at the guest might be a start. I must say the person who checked us out of the hotel was very pleasant and had good customer service skills. Can't say this for the person who checked us in or the young gentleman who I asked for lid for my coffee cup....
The service and food at Farina's restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. The bartender, Vera, at Fab Lounge was great.
You can tell this hotel used to allow smoking in the rooms - they have tried to mask the smell but it is still there. The only way to remove the smell is to paint the rooms and replace the drapes and carpets.
Overall it was a decent stay and I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribvibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We thank you for your honest feed back, as it helps us continue to improve our service. We have replaced carpets, beds, drapes in what had been our last 5 smoking rooms. From time to time guest are not respecting the no smoking. We will need to do a deep clean to correct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a one nte stay here.They had just finished renovations so it was very clean. Ate two meals in there onsite restaurant and the food was excellent.the pool and hot tube area were very clean with nice change rooms.we were told at check in that the rooms had new mattresses and bedding so thismeant a lot.There were no conferences at this time and it was midweek so it was very quiet.can't say enough. Just all around good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you Ron for your review and comments, we are glad that you had a great stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val-Caron
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and good service fromcleaning staff but checking in was a hassle and slow . I had ordered a microwave and they said there was none available. I had to stand there and pressure the front desk to find one which she did but charged me $5 extra all in all for the price and the no frills I m not certain if it will be my first pick of hotels in North Bay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric-gaudreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do offer many different room types that come already equipped with a fridge and microwave. Your feed back helps with us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It is not our first time here and we have nothing negative to say about this spot. Great location for the function we where attending . Good manager makes for good hotel. keep up the good work. Nice and quiet and shower was nice and hot. Helpful staff

Room Tip: you may require a ground floor if stairs are a problem. Be sure to ask .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you Darlene, glad you continue to have great stays at our hotel. Thank you for your review and recommendations for those that may require ground floor rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
0.1 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
0.0 mi away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#7 of 25 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 North Bay
Super 8 North Bay
#2 of 25 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 700 Lakeshore Dr, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Lakeshore drive, the Best Western North Bay is located right across lake Nippising and provide easy access directly into our parking area for snowmobilers. We provide secure parking for all snowmobiles. In your room you will appreciate the comfort of our Pillow Top Simmons Felicity mattresses wrapped in smooth plush linens, free WIFI and you will enjoy watching your favorite movie on our 37inch TV. Also available for all our guests: the largest indoor heated pool, exercise room, a business center and a guest laundry facility (coin operated). At the end of the day enjoy your favorite drink at our on-site Fab Lounge and enjoy a nice dinner in our own Farina Ristorante with an Italian inspired menu. Because we understand how important it is, your small pet is always welcome (a small fee may apply). The BEST WESTERN provides you with a smoke free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario
North Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing