We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Newly decorated rooms, issue at check in” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in North Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Newly decorated rooms, issue at check in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

First I will say that we stayed in this hotel two years ago and the remodel that has taken place is great. Our room was lovely and the bed was comfortable. My only issue was with our check in. I had asked when I booked the room for a fridge as I have meds that need to be kept cool. I was told that wasn't a problem as the new rooms had fridges and microwaves. When we checked in I was told no fridges were available and "No-one would have said that to you." The comment made me feel very uncomfortable. The woman at front desk told me they would have to physically check the unbooked rooms for a fridge. Many thanks to the person in the lobby who offered their fridge to me--I don't know what I would have done without your help! Our room was on the second floor and there is no elevator, but as I said the room was very nice. Two people arrived at our room quickly with the fridge, and had it set up in no time. I'm sure that carting a fridge around at 10:30 at night was a pain, but they were very friendly and helpful. It did help to alleviate the sour taste left in my mouth after check in.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if stairs are a concern--no help with baggage and no elevators.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ToeLoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
I would like to thank you ToeLoop for your review of our hotel. We're pleased that you found our new beds to be comfortable and the room to be lovely and clean, and overall to your needs. We do have fridges and microwaves in all our upgraded rooms, and also have an inventory of these items which can also be delivered to other guestrooms as needed. Please accept my apology for our new front desk agent who had made you feel uncomfortable, we value your comments as this help us with providing positive training of our team. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    118
    50
    28
    14
See reviews for
76
69
16
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I booked our room over the Internet which was very convenient.
We stayed one night, which was a Saturday night, where a wedding reception was being held. I was quite concerned due to the anticipation of noise and much to my delight we didn't hear a peep.
I fully enjoyed the new Simmons pillow top mattress. Had the best sleep in a long time!
We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildemptynester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you Wildemptynester for the great review of your stay. We're happy that you found our new beds to be quite comfortable and the stay to be a pleasant one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regardless of the season, there is always something great to do in North Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed in July, room was clean and offered quietness for a good nights sleep. Fixtures were older and a touch outdated but overall was very comfortable. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. This hotel did offer a very good value for the amount we paid for the night. I would recommend this hotel for a good nights sleep away from home.
This hotel also had a pool which we did not have the opportunity to try but it did look inviting and clean.

Room Tip: Good value for your buck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDoucet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Pgrobitaille, thank you for your review and for recognizing the comfort, cleanliness and good value in choosing our hotel, as well as the helpfulness and friendliness of our team members. We hope you will return again and will have the time to enjoy the additional services of our pool and restaurant the next time around. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

the first room we were given had a moldy , musty smell. The manager offered us an air freshener !! We moved to another room with no odour, but the carpets and chair were badly stained. The whole hotel was a bit dusty and needed a good cleaning, pool had some gungy stuff floating in it. The beds and TV's were new and we were told the carpets and chairs will eventually be replaced. Would have moved to another hotel, but we were attending a wedding the the conference centre so it was convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Linda, thank you for your review of our hotel. We're sorry that we didn't exceed your expectations during this visit. While many upgrades have occurred in the hotel over the last year, which have garnered excellent guest feedback, we are excited to get our remaining upgrades completed over the next few months. We hope you would choose to return in the near future to see that your comments were certainly taken seriously and that we have, in fact, implemented the additional upgrades we spoke of. It is always our goal to ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay for all our guests, while maintaining the high standards of the Best Western brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Bay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed for one night passing through North Bay. It was clean and spacious. The bed was also very comfortable The restaurant in the hotel was highly recommended, so we decided to go and it was very good. The only down falls about this hotel was that there was no fridge in our room and also no breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgamache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
I would like to thank you Kgamache for your review of our hotel. We're pleased that you found our new beds to be comfortable and , the room to be spacious and clean, and our new restaurant to be quite good. We do have fridges and microwaves in all our upgraded rooms, and also have an inventory of these items which can also be delivered to other guestrooms as needed. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed this past weekend
The good: We were impressed by the room. It was clean and equipped with a microwave and bar fridge. Bed was comfortable. Pool looked nice although we did not use it. Lake is across the road from the hotel and several restaurants are close by.
The Bad: 1) Very Noisy air conditioner
2) We were woken up by a call at 7:45 in the morning (disappointing after a 7 hour drive the day before and a rare morning we could have slept in!!!) from the front desk asking me who I was and why I was in this room! It was the room we were checked into the night before. After answering her ridiculous questions, and unable to fall back to sleep I went to the front desk to inquire as to why we were woken with such questions. She simply said she was "doing her job" as they didn't understand why my husband and I were in that room! As far as I know she would have been doing her job she would have known who she had checked into which rooms!! (she is the same girl who checked us in on Friday night- and gave us the keys to the room). There was no apology and for this reason we will never be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you Kluvs2travel for your constructive review about your experience at our hotel this past weekend and for the kind words about the cleanliness of your guestroom and comfort of the bed. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noisy Air Conditioner and interruption by the Front Desk the following morning. These experiences are in no way indicative of the service we are striving to provide. Coincidentally, we did complete an installation of new (and very quiet) Air Conditioning units in the hotel just last week, so I am led to believe that your unit was either not installed properly, or has another shortcoming. Unfortunately, from your screen name, I am unable to determine which room you may have occupied so it would be hard for me to investigate further. If you are willing to contact me directly, my e-mail address is john.crescenzi@whg.com. We strive to ensure a care-free stay for our guests and would like to work to win back your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at this BW hotel last week and wow. I had booked reservations elsewhere but that Big Named hotel was pittiful, ( See my reviews ). Started looking for another hotel within 10 mins of being in it. BW had a better rate and there wasn't even a comparison. BW beat the other
"Newly renovated" hotel in every detail. It was fresher, cleaner, bigger rooms, better & friendlier service. I certainly can't say enough and the staff took care of every need and want. We enjoyed the pool, but if there was anything bad, the hot tub was a little too hot for us. Enjoyed our 2 night stay and i hope you get the same. Will certainly look them up on our next stay. GREAT !

Room Tip: Our room was near the pool which was a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgewdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
George....your honest review of our hotel was very much appreciated. We're pleased to have been "the best of your week" and are happy that you found the price, product and service to be top notch. We look forward to welcoming you back....please bring lots of friends next time and we'll bring the temperature of the hot tub down a couple of degrees!! Keep smiling and enjoy the remainder of this beautiful summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
0.1 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
0.0 mi away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#6 of 24 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 700 Lakeshore Dr, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Lakeshore drive, the Best Western North Bay is located right across lake Nippising and provide easy access directly into our parking area for snowmobilers. We provide secure parking for all snowmobiles. In your room you will appreciate the comfort of our Pillow Top Simmons Felicity mattresses wrapped in smooth plush linens, free WIFI and you will enjoy watching your favorite movie on our 37inch TV. Also available for all our guests: the largest indoor heated pool, exercise room, a business center and a guest laundry facility (coin operated). At the end of the day enjoy your favorite drink at our on-site Fab Lounge and enjoy a nice dinner in our own Farina Ristorante with an Italian inspired menu. Because we understand how important it is, your small pet is always welcome (a small fee may apply). The BEST WESTERN provides you with a smoke free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario
North Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing