We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in North Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
220 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

One night stay. Wifi works fine. Our room had a bureau with four drawers, a work desk with a wheeled chair, a comfy chair and a night table. The bathroom counter was a good size to hold our toiletries bag. The shower had a curved shower rod; the curtain had high clear patches to let in light. The room, bathroom and hotel were clean. The television was a smallish LCD flat screen. The breakfast area was large and attractive. The food selection consisted of both hot and cold items and they were of good quality. The hotel has six floors and two elevators. The hotel has discounts arranged with several restaurants, including Boston Pizza which is just a two minute walk away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtrodgers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Mtrodgers99,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review based on your recent stay with us. I'm sure the information you have provided will come in handy for our future guests.
Wishing you a wonderful day!

Yours In Hospitality,

Carrie Delongchamp-Robinson
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    156
    30
    4
    3
See reviews for
229
130
40
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontraio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Hilton have a standard that they follow and so everything was of high quality. The front desk service was so friendly that you were put to ease from the get go. Clean no pristine would be what I would use. I even walked around in my bare feet. The one and only issue I had was that I am returning back to my home town post surgery and requested an accessible room. There was not a walk in or roll in shower. It was a very well appointed shower/tub conversion , which unfortunately I could not use due to my mobility issues. So if you need this room and are in wheelchair check with them first.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Jollyjane,

Thank you for the kind review. We do have 1 room that has a roll in shower however several rooms that are accessible with larger bathrooms and other friendly amenities. At this time we try to keep our room with the roll in shower available to those that specifically request it. Unfortunately at the time of your arrival and finding out that you did need that specific room type it was already in use by another guest. Upon your return visit to North Bay, should you require this specific room we would be more than happy to do everything possible to ensure it is provided.

We look forward to your return!

Carrie Delongchamp-Robinson
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just off the main highway at the bottom of the hill as one enters North Bay from the north. Very comfortable beds. For the price, the substantial buffet breakfast included made it worthwhile for me. Did not use the pool nor the fitness room but would certainly do so on another trip. If you're visiting family, in the Bay on business, it's a good place to bed down. I particularly liked their lobby which doubles as a breakfast area in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 790memb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear 790memb,

I would like to thank you for the kind review! I'm glad that we were able to accommodate you with a comfy bed and a substantial breakfast. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future so you can enjoy our pool and fitness centre.

Wishing you a wonderful day!

Carrie Delongchamp-Robinson
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

The staff was very nice during a difficult stay for our family's loss. The room was very clean and the cleaning staff was very nice and accomodation to our schedule. The Breakfast had enough varity for the family and was very good and the area was kept very clean. Hope to return for a happier visit soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Joe V.,

We were so sorry to hear of your recent loss. Our thoughts continue to go out to you and your family. If there is ever anything we may be able to do for you in the future please feel free to reach out to us.
Yours In Hospitality,
Carrie Delongchamp-Robinson
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The hotel was extremely clean, fresh smelling, with comfortable beds, and large room. The compliementary breakfast was very good. Would recommend this hotel to family or business travellers. It is also located in a central area near shopping. Staff were friendly, accommodating, and customer oriented. Nothing negative to say about my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Larry S.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel based on your recent experience with us. I am so happy to know that we have your recommendation!

Yours In Hospitality,

Carrie Delongchamp-Robinson
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed only the one night. The staff advised me of savings to be had at local restaurants for dinner like 15% off just by showing my room key at Boston Pizza. I went for a swim and the pool was clean and temperature was just right - was able to jump right in. I had the pool all to myself so very relaxing. The breakfast was well stocked and hot - the food delicious and the fruit was fresh. I left feeling rejuvenated. PS. The home made cookies were also delicious :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Ms. Jackie D.,

I'm so glad you left us feeling rejuvenated and relaxed. Thank you for the very kind comments, we certainly look forward to your next visit with us.

Yours In Hospitality,

Carrie Delongchamp-Robinson
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

After the tiny room I stayed in on vacation in Scotland recently, the comfort of the Hampton Inn was much appreciated. The rooms and bathroom are a good size, with nice toiletries. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful, and there is a 24 hour coffee/tea station in the lobby, with fruit and cookies. The breakfast buffet is OK with quite a few choices but cold rubber scrambled eggs don't appeal to me. However the hot oatmeal with trimmings was good. The hotel lacks a bar which would have been appreciated in the evening, and local eateries were pretty basic. As others have said the wifi was slow and unreliable. What astonished me was the advertising in the elevators (photos attached) which seemed very misguided: don't we expect that clean sheets are used every time? Does that have to be the focus of the campaign? Is there an implication that other North Bay hotels don't do that? Ewww.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trakette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Trakette,

Thank you for the great review! I would also like to thank you for allowing me the opportunity to discuss the Hampton elevator wraps. We do pride ourselves on our fresh and clean beds. Although it is becoming more common for every branded hotel to wash the duvet/top cover after each guest it is a standard that you will expect from every Hampton, every stay. We are proud of our cleaning and preparation process that takes place for each new guest arriving with us.
I thank you for your comments concerning our breakfast area and happy to let you know that we are still eagerly awaiting a new breakfast menu to make its way to us. They have recently launched a new breakfast program in our American properties and soon to be launched here.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Carrie Delongchamp-Robinson
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
4.9 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#6 of 24 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
Address: 950 McKeown Ave, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a member of the Hilton extended family, our guests have come to expect a warm welcome, amazing amenities, and a level of customer service that is exceptional. The Hampton Inn by Hilton is your ideal hotel in North Bay for business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay Hotel North Bay
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing