We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great start to a romantic vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of LIV Restaurant

LIV Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
LIV Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Glendale Avenue
Description: LIV Restaurant is the award-winning, unforgettable gem, located at White Oaks Resort in Niagara on the Lake. The locally inspired wine list, lighting and music in LIV provide a fantastic backdrop to a spectacular dining experience. The service exemplifies the Four Diamond level the hotel is known for and provides for an experience truly beyond expectations. Chef Michael Price and his team have done something extraordinary. They have taken Canada’s Basic Food Guide and transformed it through international cooking styles and seasonings to create an unparalleled, globally inspired four diamond menu. All of the ingredients are natural, each one chosen for its uncompromising purity. Our team are more than willing to come out of the kitchen (time permitting) to discuss the menu or any special dietary concerns you may have. The menu changes slightly every season to take advantage of the locally grown produce that is so abundant in the Niagara Region. The atmosphere is chic/sexy.
Boisbriand, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great start to a romantic vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We didńt look at Trip Advisor before coming but it was worth it. Ask for Lola. She gives great advice!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartineCastonguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    39
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
farmingdale, NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk, to LIV!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

From the moment we walked in, we loved everything about LIV. The staff was incredibly friendly and the decor was refined and lovely, and luxurious. Our waitress and bus-person were perfect- friendly, attentive and knowledgable! I was celebrating a belated birthday and the entire table was offered complimentary champagne (and ginger ale for my 12 year old)! The amuse Bouche was extraordinary- salmon, quinoa, garlic aioli. There was such attention to the balance of flavors and an incredible eye to presentation- my steak was cooked to perfection!
My son ordered a chocolate Armageddon cake for dessert- which came out with "happy birthday" written in chocolate, and he's still talking about it!!
The chef is clearly wonderfully talented and has a wonderful command of his/her kitchen. Definitely would go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ExecGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

It started when we made the reservation - they made us feel special in so many little and big ways. We had dinner there on our 35th wedding anniversary. We were treated to complimentary sparkling wine on arrival, and even the menu had a "happy anniversary'' note tucked inside. The food and service were extraordinary. Our server enjoys her job and it shows. We enjoyed the food, the ambiance, the comfortable and cool surroundings. Everything was delicious. Then we had a wonderful breakfast the next morning. This is one of the best restaurants we have enjoyed in many years and many cities. The prices are on the high side, but if you stay at the hotel, ask for a combination rate, which includes a credit for dinner and breakfast, making the experience a bit more affordable. This is a special occasion place that is worth every penny.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacationer0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic dinner experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights at White Oaks Resort and Spa and dinned at Liv on our last night. Both my boyfriend and I were truly impressed. Service was beyond anything I have ever seen. 3 servers were very attentive to all of our needs. The complimentary appetizer, palate cleanser and truffle were great. We shared two appetizers which came at a great pace, and enjoyed absolutely amazing home baked bread with them. My boyfriend had the lamb which he loved and I had the bison which just melted in my mouth, wasn't too sure about the risotto that accompanied it but the meat made up for it big time. The wine menu is extensive and represents the region well. I was disappointed by the prices of the entrees but otherwise extremely pleased. There was an incident at the beginning of our meal which had my boyfriend wanting to run out but both our server and the manager were quick to get on top of it and I honestly don't think its anything they could have prevented, they reacted extremely well and thats what I appreciated.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food and beautiful surrondings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

First time eating here. Although it is expensive it is well worth every penny. The staff was attentive, friendly and treated us like roalaty. The chef was fantastic, amazing plates and not one bad thing can out if the kitchen. They serve warm bread to start. We tried the duck confit pizza and it was wonderful. They think of everything right down to a hot cloth to wipe you hands before you eat. I cannot say enough about this restaurant, if you are in the area you should definitely have a meal there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LIV Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to LIV Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing