We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening, food and service”
Review of LIV Restaurant

LIV Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
LIV Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Glendale Avenue
Description: LIV Restaurant is the award-winning, unforgettable gem, located at White Oaks Resort in Niagara on the Lake. The locally inspired wine list, lighting and music in LIV provide a fantastic backdrop to a spectacular dining experience. The service exemplifies the Four Diamond level the hotel is known for and provides for an experience truly beyond expectations. Chef Michael Price and his team have done something extraordinary. They have taken Canada’s Basic Food Guide and transformed it through international cooking styles and seasonings to create an unparalleled, globally inspired four diamond menu. All of the ingredients are natural, each one chosen for its uncompromising purity. Our team are more than willing to come out of the kitchen (time permitting) to discuss the menu or any special dietary concerns you may have. The menu changes slightly every season to take advantage of the locally grown produce that is so abundant in the Niagara Region. The atmosphere is chic/sexy.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great evening, food and service”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday night for a birthday. The restaurant was empty when we arrived. The service from start to finish was impeccable. I had the daily soup and it was excellent. Others had the romaine salad and the caprese type salad. I tried both and they were also great. I would definitely order the caprese on a return visit. We also we given an amuse at the start which was a crostini that was perfect. I had the rib steak for my main. This is my only negative. I ordered it medium rare and it was more medium well. As it was a birthday I didn't want to interupt the meal by sending mine back. Others ordered the chicken dish and the halibut. Both looked great. Deserts included a chocolate Armageddon which I could eat very day. Creme brûlée and coffees as well. The desert sampler also had a chocolate fondue and pumpkin cake. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    40
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New Favourite Restaurant”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great service and great food, what else can i say? The manager was excellent, and checked on us regularly, even though he didn't need to as our server was fantastic. The food was amazing, i had the beef tenderloin, and it was the best steak i have ever eaten. I planned this dinner for my soon to be husband, and it was one of the best dates we've ever been on. would highly recommend, and we will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Again, I liked everything about this place! I've had breakfast there twice, and dinner a few times now. Trevor and his staff are impeccable, you can't find such amazing service anywhere else. The menu and food is unbelievably delicious. I can't stop thinking about their rosemary salted butter....no joke!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RLBFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bequia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WELL DONE”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I visited White oaks and Liv restaurant in December 2012, the food experience was terrible, I went back with my wife to attend our sons wedding last week. It was absolutely perfectly organized and the food was of the highest quality, All of the staff did everything to make the wedding a success, the flowerarrangemnet was world class, the food well prepared and served exactly on time and the overall experience was 5 star. Thank you to management and staff that you did this wedding a success.

Mr Lars

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrlars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We ate here for breakfast and dinner while staying at White Oaks Resort. All meals were delicious. The wait staff was great and everyone was really nice and helpful. When we were sat at our table for dinner, we were asked if we were celebrating any special occasion. We told them we were celebrating our anniversary. For dessert we got a platter of the Liv's 4 most popular desserts. The chef wrote "Happy Anniversary" and put hearts all over the plate. It was a really nice touch and something they did not need to do.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yams0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LIV Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to LIV Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing