We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot!”
Review of The Pie Plate

The Pie Plate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Great lunch spot!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Conveniently located on the way into Niagara-On-The-Lake, the Pie Plate has a simple yet tasty lunch selection. We had a baguette sandwich and a meat pie, and both were fresh and delicious. The strawberry tart was amazing, I regret not buying some to bring home. It's also nice and quiet, as opposed to the crowds at NOTL. I'll definitely make this a regular stop for future trips.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    87
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dammam, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home baking at its finest”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely amazing!. Quaint and probably the best representation of a ma and pa's I've ever seen in my life. The place has a very homily feel to it. The baking is spot on. The staff are friendly and warm. My relatives and I ordered 4 pies and they were worth every penny.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I've been to the Pie Plate a number of times now and this time took guests from Germany. I had the ham and cheddar grilled sandwich with apple butter. Each bite was a delight. One of my guests had the same thing and savoured every bite. The other guest had an asparagus/goat cheese quiche and also pronounced it excellent. I love the water served in glass bottles with a stopper. Somehow it tastes so fresh and clean and unplastic. I live in NOTL and this is one of my go-to spots.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I stopped here for a quick bite on our way out of town. We ordered the ham & brie and turkey avocado sandwiches. Both were so good that we shared our sandwiches with each other to get some of each.
We ate on the little porch that wraps around the restaurant.
We will definitely be back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yummy pies”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We called in here on our way to the Shaw Festival. A cute little place with mouthwatering sights and aromas. I had a chicken pie (though being a Brit, I would have called it a pasty) which was delicious and my wife and sister in law had filled baguettes which they said were lovely. Everything accompanied by nice fresh salad.

Ignoring the carb overload, I then had the rhubarb pie which was okay, but not brilliant. My wife had the banana cream pie, my sister in law the lemon meringue. Both these were really nice. In fact more than nice. Really YUMMY.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattWrightMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pie Plate also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Pie Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing