We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pie Plate

The Pie Plate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Vienna
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Loved the cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stopped by at a late afternoon to try a cake and ended up eating 3 pieces of cake each of us because they were so good. Pies are also sold as a whole and locals stop by to get their bakery for their afternoon tea.

We didn't try anything else, they seemed to have a proper espresso machine but I couldn't check if they also know how to operate it properly.

We also took a baguette for our evening cheese plate which tasted ok, but was not extraordinary (I wouldn't go there for buying bread).

Service was friendly, although a little bit overwhelmed. However we sat down near the bar and just walked up to the counter when we wanted to try a new cake, so this wasn't an issue for us.

The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly, there is plenty of seats.

They also have a nice patio, however with Niagara Stone Road in front which is quite busy. Plenty of parking spaces behind the house.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    82
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
oshawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

So fresh, great salads,sandwiches and soups all showcasing the best of the season! The sweets are great too. We always make a point of stopping here for lunch and the last time tried the pizza for the first time- it was really excellent and I highly recommend the Pie Plate

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank OshawatlcRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“slow, slow, slow”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

not happy
confusing menu
spoiled our afternoon
uncomfortable chairs
tepid water
just not a pleasant experience
not in a hurry to return

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank passaporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sweet experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This classic little "hole in the wall" is quaint, comfy and best of all, has a wonderful menu. The owners were friendly, engaging and eager to make recommendations, such as the rhubarb pie from fruit harvested in their back yard..to die for if you're a rhubarb fan! It's a little tricky to find since it sets slightly off the street next to a car dealership. Don't miss it if you want some delicious fare. The wine selection was also fabulous from local vineyards.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belizebuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We went to The Pie Plate to have a light lunch and peach pie during the Peach Festival. Two of us ordered beef with sauteed mushrooms & onions on a mutugrain roll and two a peach, pershutto, arugalla and goat cheese pizza pie. Everything was outrageously good. We also had so much food we could not eat dessert. We fixed that by going back the next day for a dessert only lunch. Not great for the waste but great for the belly. We even brought home a peach pie! Don't miss The Pie Plate when visiting Niagara On The Lake.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack102988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pie Plate also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Virgil, Niagara-on-the-Lake
 

Been to The Pie Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing