We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why did we overlook this Restaurant?”
Review of Hob Nob Restaurant

Hob Nob Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hob Nob Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $47
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Simcoe St
Description: The HobNob restaurant & wine bar serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Hotel dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have passed this restaurant many times but never considered eating there, perhaps we thought it would be too expensive. Certainly the Charles Inn is not Denny's but you pay for quality. It was a cold winter night in December when a friend invited us to dinner. The restaurant was warm as was the staff's welcome. The serving staff were extremely attentive. They explained the uniqueness of each item, I had Pan Seared Scallops as an appetizer. All I can say is WOW! I have never tasted any thing like that before. For the Entree I had Pan Roasted Halibut. Again what a taste. I was too full for dessert. Certainly this restaurant is worth visiting for the food and outstanding service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roundlake60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit to Niagara on the Lake, I am very happy to see you did not overlook the Charles inn on this visit. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience; we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Visit to Niagara on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 778 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We recommend this restaurant to all of our Globetrotters B&B guests and they are never disappointed. The main dining room is our favourite place for special events and Christmas dinner, which is always excellent. At other times, we love dining in the Lounge where all entrees are less than $15 and prepared by the same chef as the main dining room. Outstanding value and comfy too. In the summer, there's also outdoor patio dining at lounge prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Globetrotters-BnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

We appreciate your wonderful comments! I am thrilled to hear that you feel The Charles inn is an all time favourite. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our party of six ate dinner at the Charles Inn the weekend of the Santa Claus parade. One of our group had been there before in the summer for lunch and on that recommendation we made a reservation. My only regret was I have forgotten the name of our server who did an excellent job. We all enjoyed our meals - they were excellent. The portions were perfect and I appreciated that there were a reasonable amount of vegetables which is often lacking. The dishes were not overly rich and perfectly seasoned. I travel extensively during the year and restaurants can all start to taste the same. This one though however definitely stands out for the quality of food, the service and atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your dining experience! We strive to provide the highest level of service and cuisine and I am thrilled you had a delightful dining experience. We look forward to your return to Niagara-on-the-Lake and The Charles Inn next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A birthday dinner with my wife and friends on a cold winter night in Niagara-on-the-Lake. A table by the fire, a knowledgeable waiter, and good food. This was our second time dining at this restaurant; the first was five years ago. We will dine at this restaurant again and hope that it won't be a five year wait.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Do not let the creaky floor boards of the quaint old inn fool you. The restaurant was a delightful place for our romantic evening dinner for two. Service was very exceptional, Greg was extreme courteous, attentive and knew his white wines. Setting was very warm and cosy.
Starters: spiced sweet potato veloute and salmon mi-cult. The cinnamon marshmellow was a curious choice, yet all matched up well - the veloute was clearly a well tasted and thought out dish. As was the salmon mi-cult, light refreshing choice, crisp flavours from the typical winter dishes.
Mains: AAA Ontario beef tenderloin & magret of duck. If you are to eat a grilled beef tenderloin dinner you might as well eat the best, this was very close to the top, perfectly medium/rare beef easily the star of the dish. Duck was equally fantastic, sausage was rich, duck breast perfectly moist and pink. If I had to, at a push find a critique, it was the awkward shape of the plate!
No room for dessert sadly, but there will be a next time to sample! We will visit again for sure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SaSe_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent dining experience at The Charles Inn. Our entire team is always focused on providing the best experience possible and I’m glad we did not disappoint! We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hob Nob Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Hob Nob Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing