We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, good food, good service”
Review of Hob Nob Restaurant

Hob Nob Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hob Nob Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Simcoe St
Description: The HobNob restaurant & wine bar serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Hotel dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

One of the things we love most about visiting Canadian restaurants is that all of them feature local wines. We live in the Finger Lakes area of New York, where many fine wines are produced; however, it's rare to find any of them on local menus. Shameful.

That said... The Charles Inn at NOTL has a charming, cozy dining room; a pub-like bar with leather sofas, armchairs and newspapers, where you could spend the day, especially if it was cold or rainy outside; a bright and cheery glass enclosed porch to enjoy on those days when it's sunny but chilly outside; and a nice outside patio.

Once seated in our preferred venue - we chose the sunny porch - Lloyd, our chatty waiter, greeted us and gave us the rundown of the menu. Our choices were shepherd's pie, crusty salmon and parmesan-truffle mac&cheese. All the meals were delicious. Desserts looked good, but we opted to visit one of the many local bakeries in NOTL. Lloyd, a local, gave us tips on the best bakeries.

We did not feel at all rushed, nor were we kept waiting. Service was perfect!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VMSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to reflect on your dining experience with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your lunch in the glass enclosed Verandah and that you enjoyed Lloyds’ friendly service . We hope to see you again the next time you are in Niagara-on-the-Lake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 816 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

A quick note to thank the staff at the Charles Inn and especially Ray Bateman for making our dinner at the restaurant a wonderful experience. The food was excellent and I would highly recommend visitors to Niagara On The Lake try the Charles Inn. Make reservations though as it is a popular place.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I enjoyed a wonderful meal at the Charles last night. 3 fabulous courses, tasty and beautifully presented in a lovely setting. Our waiter Dylan did an amazing job of pairing wine with each dish. Great service.
I highly recommend the Charles to anyone looking for a special night out.

1  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience at The Charles Inn. I am happy to see that you enjoyed everything about your evening; from the food and wine pairings, to the level of service you received. We look forward to your next Visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I've never stayed there but the restaurant is fantastic! If you like fine dining restaurants, The Charles is among the best! The atmosphere is very pleasant. Located in a beautiful old house in Niagara On the Lake. The staff were great! They don't judge those unfamiliar with fine dining restaurants. They are happy to help you enjoy the experience. I highly recommend The Charles. Great food, great staff and a beautiful location.

1  Thank Bug70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We appreciate your wonderful comments! I am thrilled to hear that you feel The Charles inn is one of the best !! Thank you for your compliments on our serving staff. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a welcoming place! We walked in without a reservation and they found a table for us, dragged some chairs out of who-knows-where and we were seated in minutes. What a nice interior in a stately old building. Very friendly and knowledgeable waiter. Excellant service and wonderful food. Try the pork belly! We'd never had it before and now we wish we could find it more often. The Pickerel was cooked and seasoned to perfection on a bed of delicious wild mushrooms. Deserts looked great but we were too stuffed to try them

1  Thank JohnandJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hob Nob Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Hob Nob Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing