We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable 30th Anniversary Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hob Nob Restaurant

Hob Nob Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hob Nob Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $43
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Simcoe St
Description: The HobNob restaurant & wine bar serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Hotel dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Memorable 30th Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We have dined at the Charles a number of times and while staying in NOTL for our anniversary we could think of no better place to celebrate. The food was excellent and the service was impeccable. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LScott52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Charles Inn with us and the rest of the Trip Advisor community. We are so happy to have been a part of your 30th Anniversary celebration and thrilled to welcome you back someday soon. Happy Anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    196
    85
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice patio a couple of blocks away from the busiest part of town
Very pretty right by the golf course
Highly recommend for lunch

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaye64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Charles Inn Restaurant is a delightful place and clearly one of the best meals available in Niagara on the Lake. It is at the quiet end of Queen Street, but an easy walk from the intersection of King and Queen. We had a party of four and were given a table that accommodated us nicely. The food was excellent from the appetizers through the entrees to dessert. Among the four of us I think we tried three different appetizers and three different entrees and all were excellent.

We had a very pleasant wait person who was knowledgeable about each dish and offered several suggestions that proved to be perfect. Our only real mark down was the bus person who was friendly, but a bit overzealous - removing plates before everyone was finished. She also was prone to refer to us as "you guys," such as, "would you guys like some more water," or "are you guys ready for dessert?" It was out-of-place in a restaurant of this stature and definitely not appreciated by my wife, let alone the three men at the table.

Unlike some of the other reviewers, we never felt rushed. We took our time and enjoyed our evening until we chose to depart. We would definitely return to the Charles Inn Restaurant, but do suggest that management give the staff a little more training in etiquette.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
218 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Anniversary elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Celebrated our 34th ann. here with our two mothers and had a wonderful evening. Ambiance is romantic, staff is attentive and well educated about menu and ingredients. Preparations were clean, attractive and delicious. Not only did we love everything we ordered and tried but the little extras were delicious little surprises that make for an entertaining evening and set a happy mood for everyone. The scallop app was a highlight! My husband loved the pork loin entree but it was a bit on the spicy side. Mothers enjoyed the tenderloin. The complimentary side veggies are as good as the main entrees-not always the case. We had a terrific bottle of wine from the local Hernder Estates for $33. The bathrooms were clean and comfortable!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good food, but it can be hit or miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We give great reviews to the foie gras appetizer as well as the pear & fennel veloute soup. However, the tagliatelle appetizer was a total miss -- noodles in a meat broth that was neither Italian not Asian...we could not figure out what the chef was trying to do with this. They really should take it off the menu. The buttermilk chicken was excellent! A nice variety of vegetables that were fresh and perfectly cooked and chicken that was so tender it melted in your mouth. For some reason, this restaurant will not cook meat/fish at medium rare which means that the pork and beef are always a bit dry and tough. Had a lovely meal here in 2011, but the kitchen seems to be a bit more inconsistent now in 2013.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne9878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hob Nob Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Hob Nob Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing