We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful way to spend a lazy afternoon/”
Review of Hob Nob Restaurant

Hob Nob Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hob Nob Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Simcoe St
Description: The HobNob restaurant & wine bar serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Hotel dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

WE took our guests there last week and sat on the verandah with golf course views.
Everything was wonderful right down to the cardinal nest in the candelabra. Mommy fed her babes the whole time we were there.
You can enjoy lunch in any area of the Inn from the same menu.
I also had my birthday luncheon there which was very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank arbourview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing to join us for lunch and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy to see that you have dined with us in the past, and that experience has brought you back again. The back veranda is always a great place to enjoy an afternoon lunch. We look forward to having you join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 902 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

There's plenty of great restaurant choices in NOTL, and some not so great. But this place was exceptionally good. The chef really had a way with ingredients - every flavour was clean and the dishes were very well balanced. We had the quinoa and arugula app, as well as the smoked char app. Both were incredible. For mains, we had the crispy skinned salmon as well as the whitefish. Again, both were absolutely delicious. Portion sizes were surprisingly large for the level of food quality. The patio and dining room were both elegant, but not stuffy, and you could dine here in a range of attire. The patio overlooks the golf course, which is very pleasant.

2  Thank Scruff2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent evening spent here with us at The Charles Inn. I am happy to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your evening, from the quality of the food, to the level of service as well as the atmosphere. I take pride in keeping my menu fairly simple, to let the ingredients speak for themselves, and I am delighted that you appreciated the clean flavours (and portion sizes) of your dishes. Thank you again, we look forward to having you join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Restaurant is in an 1832 historic building, which could use a paint job in places and a decorator to make the decor fit the historic nature of the building. Dining room is well set up but is quite eclectic.

When we dined on a Friday evening service was good, although we did have to get a server from the bar to seat us as the front desk clerk of the Inn/restaurant was also the host and she was busy. There was also a mistake in our original desert order and the excuse by the server was "I pressed the wrong button", but no apology

Food was good, although the venison in the Tagliatelle appetizer was a little stringy.

The whitefish and pork tenderloin entrees were both cooked to perfection and well presented.

Crème Brule desert had been left under the propane torch too long.

While the entrees are reasonably priced at $22-$38 the appetizer prices are somewhat high.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 243Furby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

"Do you want water?" a girl snapped. Startled, we accepted the offer. A pesky fly would not leave us alone, soon we realized it was several pesky flies. At least the waitress was very friendly and professional. Our bread never arrived but finally our appetizers did. A cheese platter you can't mess up and $18 for 2 under cooked scallops, meh. We nearly finished our bottle of wine by the time our mains arrived. Beef Tenderloin and Pork belly with pork loins, both were delicious. We passed on dessert as we had already been sitting there for 2 hours and 15 minutes.

Nothing special about this old place. The building is outdated, and I don't think the menu has ever changed. On their best night you could have a good dinner but the experience could never be impressive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lienaDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We happened upon the CHarles while in Niagra-on-the-lake for the Shaw festival, and thought we'd give it a try. Everything was perfect. What a treat!

1  Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for joining us for dinner on your recent visit to Niagara-On-The-Lake, and taking the time to share your comments. I am happy that you enjoyed your dining experience here with us, and look forward to having you join us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hob Nob Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Hob Nob Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing