We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be sure to eat here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hob Nob Restaurant

Hob Nob Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hob Nob Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $42
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Simcoe St
Description: The HobNob restaurant & wine bar serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Hotel dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Be sure to eat here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had our anniversary dinner here and wow, what a treat!!
They gave us a complimentary glass of sparkling wine to start, and a small (2 oz?) glass of a chilled asparagus soup.
I had the arugula and quinoa salad and truly enjoyed it.
We had two entrees, the pork and the chicken, and like many couples, we shared tastes of each other's meal. Everything was spectacular--the meats tasty and moist, the veg cokked and hot, but not soft, and all the extras top-notch.
My companion had a dessert, the lemon tart and raved about it...not too sweet, tasty and just enough.
Treat yourself to a great meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the2Lynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for spending your anniversary with us here at The Charles Inn, and sharing your wonderful feedback with us. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your evening. I also noticed that you chose to stay at the Inn as well. I hope you enjoyed your accommodations as much as your dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back, possibly for your next anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    201
    85
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, NY
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have eaten at The Charles Inn several times. The reason we keep returning is that both the food and the service are exceptional time and time again. The menu is creative and well executed. It is a quiet, intimate restaurant well worth visiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking a brief moment to share your comments with us, and also for your repeat business. We look forward to having you join us again, so we can continue to provide you with great food and excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

There were four in our group and we all enjoyed our meals very much. We all enjoyed an appetizer, main and dessert and tried to order different things so we could all taste!! Everything was so artfully presented and so delicious! There wasn't a flaw to be found... absolute perfection!! Thank you for such a wonderful evening!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RFB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share these kind words with us. I am happy to hear that everyone in your party enjoyed their experiences, especially with the variety of items ordered. I am humbled to see that you had a flawless meal, as that is what myself and my team are always working hard to provide each guest with. We hope to have you join us again, so that we can deliver another memorable evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A haven for gourmets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Much of the food along the main street of Niagara on the Lake is not too great. We have had better success at restaurants in the Wineries of the region. BUT the Charles Inn is a notable exception. Service, decor, and most important, the food are all "5 star". Our dishes included a delectable salad, poached fois gras, and duck breast served creatively with a small cassoulet that repeated the duck theme by including a small amount of duck confit. Excellent! The Creme Brule dessert was one of the best we have experienced. Charles Inn has a very helpful "bring your own wine" policy for a reasonable corkage charge so if you have a treasured bottle, they will serve it for you with care. Of course they also have an extensive wine list.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistent excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have visited this restaurant several times and were not disappointed again. The food was excellent, both of us had steak, which was impeccably presented, great quality. The wine selection, all Canadian, is excellent and well priced for the quality of rsstaurant. We only had one small minor complaint, the service was good but somewhat slower. We waited for about an hour and fifteen minutes for our main course, while other diners were getting theirs in about 45 minutes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gore_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hob Nob Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Hob Nob Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing