We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Meal to Remember”
Review of Hob Nob Restaurant

Hob Nob Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hob Nob Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $43
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Simcoe St
Description: The HobNob restaurant & wine bar serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Hotel dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Meal to Remember”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

While there are quite a number of excellent dining rooms in and around the Niagara-on-the-Lake area, The Charles Inn Restaurant pleasantly and expertly executed one of the tastiest meals we've had anywhere, for two reasons: everything was cooked perfectly and the fresh ingredients were blended perfectly to provide layer upon layer of flavours with each bite. The foie gras was sinfully delicious in all its delicate buttery uniqueness, the tuna and pickled watermelon peel was equally delightful, entrees of medium-rare beef tenderloin with creamy and tart hollandaise and perfectly poached lobster with butter sauce reminded me of the simple pleasures of French cuisine, and the European portion sizes were satisfying. We finished our meal with a truly exquisite selection of cheeses. Service by Alan was fabulous, he was knowledgeable about ingredients and gave us just enough time to savour each course before presenting the next. Our only critique was the fairly short list of by-the-glass wine selections, although the wine list was fairly extensive; there were a number of wines we would have liked to try by the glass but they were only available in bottles. A lovely addition to this menu would be a triple sampler of local wines, in smaller glasses perhaps. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SeaTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    208
    85
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I went with my husband to the Charles Inn Restaurant to have dinner celebrating our 1 year of marriage. I spent a lot of time trying to decide where to go, there are so many fine restaurants in the GTA. I am so happy we chose The Charles Restaurant! We were greeted by a very nice and hospitable gentleman who sat us in a cozy & romantic corner table for 2. The wait staff was prompt, professional, accommodating (I have a few allergies and they went above and beyond for me without any hesitation) and they all were very friendly. The food was outstanding and worth every penny. In fact, it was prepared and presented so well that I would have easily have paid more without feeling overcharged. (I HIGHLY recommend the Duo of Ontario Lamb) It doesn't get better than this! You will be very pleased if you get the opportunity to dine here, promise! =)

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LaceyKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great lunch - both food and service are terrific”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stopped in for lunch and was pleasantly surprised. Food was excellent and arrived quickly. Expected it to be pricy but found it very reasonable. Will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jbolles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place and service- Food was bit of a disappointment”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Went September 6, 2011 The good: Our view from the enclosed front porch was wonderful, our service was wonderful, the atmosphere was wonderful, the menu selections for food and wine were wonderful, the first little course of sipper soup was nice and unexpected.
Disappointment: was that my husband ordered steak/lobster and both were overcooked, my risotto was undercooked, still had a little bite in the rice grain. Such small mistakes made all the difference in our experience, because the sauces and composition were right on. The food is prepared in "french style and presentaion" Looked great, but was not executed very well. Now, the dessert was beyond wonderful- homemade sorbet, panna cotta- yummo!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LancasterIndiansfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal and Ambiance”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had a wonderful dinner on the verandah overlooking the golf course. Our waiter was attentive and pleasant. The meal was very good and we enjoyed the wine as well. After dinner we were able to take a nice stroll to the Festival Theatre to see a play. Great place for a pre-theatre dinner.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TLDEKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hob Nob Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Hob Nob Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing