We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice surroundings somewhat overpriced”

Trius Winery Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Trius Winery Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $153
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Hillebrand Winery Restaurant celebrates the relationship between our land, our people, our wines and our food. Chef Frank Dodd showcases locally inspired cuisine made with ingredients from the bounty of Niagara Wine Country, and Winemaker Craig McDonald pairs them with wines made from grapes that grow in the same soil. Extend your stay in Wine Country, and allow us to arrange a private tasting in our Collector's Boutique or another Winery Experience prior to your meal.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“nice surroundings somewhat overpriced”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Largest most tender pork chop ever.
Somewhat disappointing parsnip soup.
wondered where the parsnips were!!!
Scrumpdilicious dessert, we tried both the cheesecake and chocolate ones and they did not disappoint.

Because it was a Winterlicious and reservations were tight we felt somewhat rushed at the end of the meal

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Trius Winery Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We will definitely take your feedback into consideration as our Restaurant staff always strives to deliver the highest standard in customer service and culinary excellence. Please come back and dine with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    116
    43
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food,”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went to Winterliscious at Trius Winery. Fantastic meal. Lamp Shank that floated off the bone with a delightful sage and pecan crust almost beat out the pork chop savoured in maple in apple as the best dish at our table. The wine pairings were perfect, exploded the pallette with complimentary flavours. Our waiter Chris was amazing and explained choice to us.

Easily able to cope and accomodate to nut allergies, Trius is a mustbrepeat restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DGM2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Trius Winery Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of your experience at Trius Winery Restaurant. We will pass along your message to Chris. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food for foodies”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went there for lunch and had prix fixe menu. My husband and I ordered different things so that we got to try more dishes. Everything was fantastic. We had wine pairing which was also very nice as well. My appetizer got combination of butternut squash ravioli with scallop and pork belly, yumm! My husband had parsnip soup which was very good as well. My main was pork chopped with cassoulet, my husband had salmon with butternut squash risotto, both were great. I had chocolate mouse for dessert and my husband had pear almondine, yum and yum. It was a great experience and we were both really enjoyed it.
If you don't want to spend so much money for a meal, go there for lunch. Dinner will be in the expensive end.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tvlgal1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Trius Winery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the detailed account of your dining experience at Trius Winery Restaurant! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very good and very expensive”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had a very favorable dinning experience in the barrel room. We all opted for the 5 course dinner with wine. The service was impeccable.

All the courses were 5 star. The mushroom truffle broth was a hit. The steak carved table side was one of the best tasting steaks I have ever eaten.

Everything was fantastic. It was a memorable meal but very expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SUFAN4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Trius Winery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We're thrilled we could deliver an excellent dining experience. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
281 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Year's Eve celebration”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

It's was our first Trius masquerade New Year's Eve party at the Trius winery. The evening lasted till 1am which began with a reception with sparkling wine, appetizers and an environment that was intimate enough to roam and mingle. The were over 70 guests at the party, we were then seated for a fabulous dinner with our hosts Frank (executive chief) and restaurant manager. Each course was introduce by Frank, and it was simply delicious. There were more than enough wine and spatkling to go around. To ring in the new year, the party was moved to the restaurant area whe desert, coffee, bar, and a DJ was ready to entertain. We met a lot of great people at the party, the mood was festive and this makes a very memorable event to ring in the new year.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Trius Winery Restaurant, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed account of our New Year's Masquerade! The staff and management teams really enjoyed reading your comments. We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trius Winery Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Trius Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing