We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice for lunch”

Trius Winery Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Trius Winery Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $153
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Hillebrand Winery Restaurant celebrates the relationship between our land, our people, our wines and our food. Chef Frank Dodd showcases locally inspired cuisine made with ingredients from the bounty of Niagara Wine Country, and Winemaker Craig McDonald pairs them with wines made from grapes that grow in the same soil. Extend your stay in Wine Country, and allow us to arrange a private tasting in our Collector's Boutique or another Winery Experience prior to your meal.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“Really nice for lunch”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The Hillebrand vineyard restaurant is along Niagara Stone Road and the attractive terrace has a good view of the vineyard. The menu is modern European and two courses at lunchtime are priced at $32. We started with a duck egg on "wild and tame mushrooms" with proscuitto, cheese and toasts, and "ice wine beets" which consisted of slices of unusual beetroot (pink and yellow rather than red), beetroot sorbet, feta and herbs. The ice wine beets was particularly well judged with all the flavours mutually contributing to the whole. The mushroom starter had a little too much going on flavour-wise and the toast was unnecessary. Moving on to the mains, we chose an amusing "little (not 'Miss') piggy pizza" and wild salmon on a crab coleslaw with tiny cheese croquettes. The pizza was almost there but the base was a bit too thick and the toppings too piggily generous. The salmon worked well with the crab adding sweetness and the herbs adding freshness. Service was attentive and friendly and Hillebrand's Sauvignon blanc, Pinot noir and Merlot proved to be excellent companions to the food. All in all, a delightful place for lunch.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    122
    48
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gretna, PA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exquisite food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Niagara on the Lake has a great array of restaurants. We rented a house for a week with 3 other couples and sampled several. This is where we went twice. Lunch outside was delicious. The wines are terrific. Innovative menu - bacon ice cream on white asparagus. My favorite was the capon with pesto. It's all good.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My group of four returned to this restaurant again after have a great experience at the same time last year. Upon being seated, we were all given both a tasting menu and a regular menu. When it came time to order, we were advised that we all had to order off the same menu and that this is a "kitchen" requirement. I was left with the impression that they were more concerned with the workload in the kitchen rather then the enjoyment of their customers. We all ordered from the regular menu. The smoked salmon starter and grilled lamb main course were good. A vegetarian pasta dish was also done well. The tomato soup starter only average. Perhaps colored by the menu issue, I didn't leave as impressed as last time. This is also a very expensive restuarant and I am not sure the overall experience measured up to the expense.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rivertrader46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Divine 7-course meal with wine pairings!”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I had dinner out on the patio on a quiet Wednesday evening. The ambience was very peaceful and romantic. We enjoyed the 7-course meal with wine pairings. The service was wonderful. Our waiter was very knowledgable about the food and wines. Each course was well-executed. My husband ate everything, even the foie gras which he does not typically like! The wine pairings were very good as well. This is definitely not a meal you can do all the time unless you have money to burn. Of course my only complaint is how heavy it is on the wallet!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmcewen, Communications Specialist at Trius Winery Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your dinner with us on the patio. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Nice Meal in a Great Setting”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had dinner there over the Canada Day long weekend and were very glad that Tripadvisor reviews had steered us in the right direction again.

We ate on the patio which was very scenic, close to the edge of the rows of grapes. The service was pretty much perfect. I had the lamb which was superb and original. My friend had the beef which was, unfortunately, nothing that special, and the portion size was quite small.

Our appetizers and dessert were delicious, and overall we really enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Praxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trius Winery Restaurant also viewed

 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Trius Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing