We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“different dining”
Review of Stone Road Grille - CLOSED

Stone Road Grille
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
st. thomas, ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“different dining”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

we enjoyed dining at this very eclectic restaurant. It seemed like we were the only strangers in the place as each person who came through the door was greeted like a long lost friend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank toni b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    124
    51
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Harbor
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well worth looking for!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This has to be a "must visit" place for lunch! Wonderful and creative local freshly made food with the perfect wine pairing. Everything was just perfect...once we found it...right in a strip mall! With all of their success, maybe they could get a much bigger sign before we return next year! We can't wait!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hortenseNewHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great local food--with maple cotton candy!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Yes, it's in a strip mall. Once you are inside you forget that and settle in for a great meal with very friendly service. Great local wine list as one would expect in Niagara. Menu also reflects the best of local Niagara food. Chacuterie plate was among the best we have had. The chicken liver parfait was outstanding. Entrees were also excellent, including homemade duck confit that was equal to better than any we have had in France. Maple cotton candy for dessert! Enough said. Doesn't get any better than that. Went to Jamie Kennedy at the Falls the next night and Stone Road was by far the better dining experience. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Thirstytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed...”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Another great experience at 'Rest' (aka Stone Road Grille). Excellent local produce and wines. The menu is always different depending on the season. I particularly like that they offer smaller portion choices; so one can comfortably enjoy three courses! Staff are friendly and attentive and the atmosphere always has such a positive vibe. We make this an annual treat and its worth every penny!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EeyoreCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London ON
Level Contributor
180 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Another winner!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We've been to the Stone Road Grille many times over the years. Their menus changes frequently to suit the season and the food stuff that's available. Everything is always impeccably prepared and served. The wait staff are friendly and helpful. I was blown away by the appetizer we ordered - beef tartar. I know this isn't everyone's cup of tea but it was so well prepared, I was in rapture (I like things rare, what can I say, sashimi, tartar. . .). The oysters on the half shell always featured the best in season from the east coas and having lived in the Maritimes for 6 years, I should know when seafood is as it should be. For this season, they have on their menus, "lighter entrees", and my Korean style short ribs were done to perfection, the meat fell right off the bone. It was also small enough that I had room for dessert which was a rhubarb and custard tart. Amazing! It's where the local go to eat in NOTL, and you should too. Oh, BTW, Gordon Pinsent was at a table not too far from us tonight. Wow!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DINKSinOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Road Grille also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing