We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet table on the patio - food was average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaw Cafe & Wine Bar

Shaw Cafe & Wine Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Wine Bar, Canadian, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Pet table on the patio - food was average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were impressed with the outdoor patio when we walked by. We had 2 dogs with us and asked if we could sit outside. We were pleasantly surprised when they said there was a special table on the edge of the patio just for dogs. It was perfect for us - tucked in the corner where our dogs weren't easily distracted. The service was good but the food was average. We were happy to be able to dine with our dogs so we were happy. It would be a perfect place to go for a glass of wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wannabeconch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    146
    122
    111
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

First of the view is fabulous. It's a small restaurant that really takes pride in the service and food. I would put this restaurant up against any of the at home, (Charleston SC). The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The only negative thoughts that I would have is the food was a bit pricey!... very good, but pricey.

I have to admit that the price of wine and the amount severed was questionable. I do not think the wine poured, (at the bar) was not quite 6 or 8 ozs. (just my thoughts)

The food was excellent and there was plenty to eat. They had a great wine selection and to my surprise, as young as our waiter seemed, he was very well versed, not only on the wine but the process.

I would recommend this Restaurant to anyone traveling through. I can see some negative reviews, but my experience was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stopped here for a light lunch before a play, and were able to get a table outside just before the rush. It's on the main street, but is not noisy or uncomfortable. I had a salad and fries that were both delicious. The food was reasonably priced. The wine was pricy ($10/glass), but I had two glasses of sauvignon blanc, it was so good. I think the main dishes here are expensive, but this was a nice place to have lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Womonwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Please avoid this place. Way too expensive compared to the food served. Disappointing quality and amount of food. The service was rude and very unpolite. The kitchen and toilets also looked very unpleasing. I am never going to visit this place again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leminazars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albbruck, Germany
Level Contributor
178 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A simple tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We waited 1hr for the food which was of mediocre quality. Waiters having fun, customers only though when they get drunken from the local wine. The outside atmosphere is nice on a first look but turns shaby the longer you sit there. Plates are not clean and we (fam of 4) simply left angry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoltinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Shaw Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing