We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dining Experience to Remember”
Review of Cannery Restaurant

Cannery Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cannery Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: King Street
Description: The Cannery menu will appease every appetite with a balanced selection of seafood, meat and vegetarian options. Our executive chef prepares generous portions that allow local Niagara-on-the-Lake ingredients to shine. Top it all off with a sweet and savoury dessert featuring fresh local fruits or devilishly dark chocolate. Every guest will leave satisfied with great service and an outstanding taste of Ontario cuisine. Every dish can be complemented by a selection from our extensive Wine List, filled with local and international favourites.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“A Dining Experience to Remember”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Superb, tantalizing meals. Extreme professional service. Courteous and attentive. A variety of choice with preparation to accommodate your taste.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hsidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    135
    52
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Had a great buffet breakfast. Lots to choose from and very good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank remydoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Reliable, delicious, wait staff delightful”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We love this restaurant, you can count on it to be very good, sizable portions, comfort food, good beef, fish and chicken. Salmon and prime rib always done to perfection.
The wine recommendations were right on, the service attentive and responsive. The ceasar salad was the best I have had. Nothing especially trendy, just leaves you feeling like giving a big tip because everything went well.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maui2soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Inn, terrible restaurant”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were really looking forward to a nice dinner at the Pillar and Post Inn. The Inn itself is beautiful which made our disappointment with the restaurant even more of a surprise. After the ho-hum minestrone soup made from canned veggies and the overly dressed, soggy caesar salad, we should have cut our losses and cancelled our mains. Oh how I wish we had! The pepper steak looked and tasted like it was boiled rather than grilled. The menu promised "seafood fetticuni in a basil tomato sauce". What we got was bowl of mushy pasta with bland ragu-like tomato sauce and rubbery, over-cooked shrimps and scallops that I swear just came out of a microwave! But the worst meal in our group by far was the doughy sour-tasting factory-produced gnocchi. Yuck! We barely touched our meals even though we were hungry. When the server came to clear our plates she asked us if anything was wrong. There certainly was! We acknowledged it wasn't her fault but the food was terrible. When she brought us the bill she told us that she had showed the chef our uneaten meals but when he tasted them he said they "tasted the way they're supposed to" and "there was nothing wrong with the food." Are you kidding? The food was inedible! I guess because the chef's standard for food quality was so low they felt justified to charge us the full amounts for our uneaten meals. What a wast of nearly $200. Never again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quiet restaurant”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My friend and I enjoyed a great meal here. The restaurant was quiet and our food was super.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meganbeth4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannery Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Cannery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing