We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return!”
Review of Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchid Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Enjoyed a perfect stay at the Orchid Inn this past weekend. Cindy is a fabulous host offering great service with a smile. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast both mornings was excellent. Lots of variety with everything fresh and nicely presented. Loved all the magazines available for reading before bed! We will definitely return to the Orchid Inn and wouldn't hesitate recommending to others. Thanks Cindy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 180 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

If I ever return to Niagra on the Lake I will definitely stay at the Orchid Inn. The room was spacious and clean. The linens were high quality. The location is great. The food at the Ginger restaurant was healthy and delicious. Some of the best meals we had on our 3 week journey through Ontario. Best of all, the owner was friendly and interesting to talk to. If you don't take the time to have a conversation with this amazing woman you are missing out on the best part of the experience. Her sons, who run the restaurant, were wonderful as well. Thank you Cindy, Thane and Seth for making our time there memorable.
Belinda & Francis

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, King with ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blharney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I planned a birthday getaway for my boyfriend and I for 2 nights and my expectations were truly exceeded. Cindy, the owner was so sweet and accomodating. She knew my name on arrival and was happy to share her knowledge of the town and activities to do. She asked if 9am was good for breakfast as we were the only 2 that night (not suprising for a Monday).
The 4 poster bed was very comfortable, the A/C worked great and the tub was a perfect size for two. I asked if Cindy could get us some ice and she returned with ice, 2 wine glasses and a bottle opener :)
Breakfast was a highlight for us! Delicious coffee, great portion, including fresh fruit and some chocolate for dessert :) We also had dinner on the Tuesday evening at her son's restaurant Ginger. Delicious meal and of course, great wine.
Location is great! Not exactly walking distance to the Old Town, but there is lots of parking within 2 blocks of everything there.
For the price we paid, I don't think I would at stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room #7 - 2nd floor, Queen bed, fireplace, 2 person tub and separate shower. Faces southea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Orchid Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary - I couldn't have asked for anything better! We were seeing an afternoon show at the Shaw Festival and wanted to check-in a bit earlier so that we could get ready - Cindy was extremely accommodating! When we arrived, she was waiting for us at the front door and she gave us directions to the theatre and showed us to our room. We stayed in room 9 and it was perfect for our needs. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the room was spotless and inviting, and the ensuite bathroom was extremely clean. Breakfast the next morning was just the icing on the cake. It was one of the most delicious breakfasts I've had! Each room had their own private table in the attached restaurant and we were served by Cindy. Glasses of orange juice were waiting for us and an unlimited supply of coffee and tea. The food was incredible! Cindy is a wonderful hostess - so nice, welcoming, and helpful. The Orchid Inn is the perfect blend between a bed&breakfast and a hotel. We will definitely be visiting again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 and it was a great size for us - the bed was incredibly comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Orchid Inn, a lovely bed and breakfast place in Niagara-on-the-Lake. The inn is within walking distance from the downtown area and is easily accessible either on foot or by car. Our stay there was fantastic! The inn itself radiates peace and comfort. The room we had was immaculate. Everything was impeccable. It included a sitting area with a small couch and chair and an electric fireplace. Feng shui must have been used to decorate it. The pale palette was serene. The floral prints in the bedroom area matched the print in the bathroom which matched the floral arrangement in the bathroom. We had breakfast in the Ginger Restaurant both days of our stay. The food was incredible-- beautifully arranged on the plate, colorful, full of flavor and texture. Cindy is the person who makes all of this possible. Her warmth and friendliness light up the place. In fact, we believe that her personality is at the heart of the Inn. We would definitely stay there again and encourage others to do so.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. We had a back room that faced the side and back yards -- wonderfully peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stopped in Niagara-on-the-Lake for one night and plan on returning soon. Particularly, we would choose to stay here at The Orchid Inn.
The proprietor of the Orchid Inn is just the most hospitable individual I have met whilst traveling. Cindy was absolutely amazing during our stay. Friendly, helpful, and seemingly just plain happy that you have chosen to stay with her. Upon check-in, she was even polite and sensitive enough to ask what we liked for breakfast or didn't like! She wanted us to be happy with her breakfast the following morning.
The weekend that we chose to visit found us without many options to stay as the small, quaint town was rather busy. We were referred to Cindy by Barb Zimmerman at Lakeside Pottery. (Another fabulous experience but that's another review.) We are so glad we wandered into Lakeside Pottery this trip.
We were greeted by the very friendly Cindy and shown to our room. Room #9 was a pleasant experience. It was very clean and inviting. Clearly, Cindy takes pride in her business as the room and the building itself were very well taken care of. She even included shampoo, conditioner, and body wash for our stay.
The stay was nice and quiet even though it is off the main road with the single light in town.
Our stay did include breakfast and we were incredibly surprised with the presentation. Cindy took time and made every guest their breakfast and had tables set up in her restaurant for each room. She served us our breakfast and was enjoyable to talk to.
The entire process of check-in and out was quick and easy. Cindy makes you feel as though you are part of her extended family. And this is why we will absolutely recommend her B&B and stay with her each time we visit.
Thank you Orchid Inn and Cindy for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2GirlsAndaJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Booked two hours before arriving. From our first impression on the phone, to checkout the next day, we experienced a friendly, gracious host. The privacy of an inn with the personal care of a B&B. A 13 minute walk to Queen St with lot of residential architecture to enjoy along the way. We'd do it all over again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel-lite_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
497 reviews
6.7 mi away
Green Oaks B&B
Green Oaks B&B
#40 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#36 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#87 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abagales Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Abagales Victorian Bed and Break...
#81 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#46 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Inn

Address: 390 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $122 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 9-room family run Inn. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms, fireplace, and television. Complimentary wi-fi included with room bookings. Fully served breakfast included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing