We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orchid Inn, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario”
Review of Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchid Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Orchid Inn, a lovely bed and breakfast place in Niagara-on-the-Lake. The inn is within walking distance from the downtown area and is easily accessible either on foot or by car. Our stay there was fantastic! The inn itself radiates peace and comfort. The room we had was immaculate. Everything was impeccable. It included a sitting area with a small couch and chair and an electric fireplace. Feng shui must have been used to decorate it. The pale palette was serene. The floral prints in the bedroom area matched the print in the bathroom which matched the floral arrangement in the bathroom. We had breakfast in the Ginger Restaurant both days of our stay. The food was incredible-- beautifully arranged on the plate, colorful, full of flavor and texture. Cindy is the person who makes all of this possible. Her warmth and friendliness light up the place. In fact, we believe that her personality is at the heart of the Inn. We would definitely stay there again and encourage others to do so.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. We had a back room that faced the side and back yards -- wonderfully peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 180 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stopped in Niagara-on-the-Lake for one night and plan on returning soon. Particularly, we would choose to stay here at The Orchid Inn.
The proprietor of the Orchid Inn is just the most hospitable individual I have met whilst traveling. Cindy was absolutely amazing during our stay. Friendly, helpful, and seemingly just plain happy that you have chosen to stay with her. Upon check-in, she was even polite and sensitive enough to ask what we liked for breakfast or didn't like! She wanted us to be happy with her breakfast the following morning.
The weekend that we chose to visit found us without many options to stay as the small, quaint town was rather busy. We were referred to Cindy by Barb Zimmerman at Lakeside Pottery. (Another fabulous experience but that's another review.) We are so glad we wandered into Lakeside Pottery this trip.
We were greeted by the very friendly Cindy and shown to our room. Room #9 was a pleasant experience. It was very clean and inviting. Clearly, Cindy takes pride in her business as the room and the building itself were very well taken care of. She even included shampoo, conditioner, and body wash for our stay.
The stay was nice and quiet even though it is off the main road with the single light in town.
Our stay did include breakfast and we were incredibly surprised with the presentation. Cindy took time and made every guest their breakfast and had tables set up in her restaurant for each room. She served us our breakfast and was enjoyable to talk to.
The entire process of check-in and out was quick and easy. Cindy makes you feel as though you are part of her extended family. And this is why we will absolutely recommend her B&B and stay with her each time we visit.
Thank you Orchid Inn and Cindy for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2GirlsAndaJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Booked two hours before arriving. From our first impression on the phone, to checkout the next day, we experienced a friendly, gracious host. The privacy of an inn with the personal care of a B&B. A 13 minute walk to Queen St with lot of residential architecture to enjoy along the way. We'd do it all over again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel-lite_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

To start our fabulous weekend get away we were greeted at the door by Cindy Chung owner, she is an excellent hostess. We booked room #5 a few months in advance for 3 night stay. Beautiful room, quiet & relaxing long weekend. King size bed with en suite. Booked in on Thursday afternoon & enjoyed a fantastic meal at the Ginger Restaurant. Wonderful selection for fine dining in both food, wine & beer.
The full breakfast included was phenomenal, each morning we were given a large bowl of fruit, juice, unlimited coffee & tea and the first morning we were served scrambled egg with french toast, the next morning an everything omelet with toast & the last morning poached eggs on toast with chicken & cream sauce. It was one of the best weekends my husband and I have enjoyed in a long time. We highly recommend a visit to Niagara on the Lake with a stay at the Orchid Inn.

Room Tip: This Inn is not downtown, it is in a quiet area that starts on Mary Street and then turns into Lakes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pm-jm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I have been here 3 times and have had a great time all three times. Cindy is so kind and welcoming and truly makes you feel at home. The food is out of this world. We had the crab cakes for the first time this past visit, and I have been dreaming about them since we got home. This is a great location, food to die for and a great host. What more could you want for a weekend away. We will see you again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marnie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The service here is better than Vintage Inns and half the price! Rooms are clean, well kept, quiet and the owners are fantastic. Like a B&B but hotel privacy. Close to Stone Road Grille and downtown. Very accommodating and includes breakfast for 135 (winter rate).
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allthatwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great Place to stay when visiting Niagara-On-the-Lake. Congenial staff, clean rooms, and a first class restaurant make the stay very pleasant. Not very fancy but it's not needed if you want comfortable accomodations and a Bed and Breakfast that also serves dinner. The breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
497 reviews
6.7 mi away
Green Oaks B&B
Green Oaks B&B
#40 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#36 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#87 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abagales Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Abagales Victorian Bed and Break...
#81 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#46 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Inn

Address: 390 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $122 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 9-room family run Inn. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms, fireplace, and television. Complimentary wi-fi included with room bookings. Fully served breakfast included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing