We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchid Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our first trip to Niagara On The Lake and we loved it! We stayed with Cindy at the Orchid Inn not knowing much about the Inn. What a wonderful experience. The breakfasts were incredible. We felt like we had our own personal chef. When you stay with Cindy, you definitely feel like an honored guest at her Inn. I can't wait until we can go back again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 180 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Orchid Inn in mid-September which is a perfect time to visit Niagara On The Lake. This was our first stay with Cindy, but many of the other guest had been staying with her for years and apparently she has many repeat guests for different times of the year. Her breakfasts were scrumptious - good news for those of us who are tired of the typical B&B cold buffet. Cindy's breakfast were made to order, fresh out of the kitchen. Only one choice per day but over the 3 days varied enough to make everyone happy AND she specifically asks for any food allergies or issues when you check in and then accommodates those exactly. The rooms are very simple, but very comfortable and CLEAN! Prices were very fair and while we didn't eat in the attached restaurant, Ginger, it certainly smelled delicious. We would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you want a little bit more space to sit and chat or read, don't pick Room 8 or 9. They are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great location and Accomodations. Cindy could not have been more helpful and informative. Clode to all of the attractions and only 20 minutes from the Falls. Will return again and give the Inn my highest praise.

Room Tip: 8 and 9 are standard rooms and nice, but some are larger if that is your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeydagravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

On our first trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake, we discovered Cindy and Orchid Inn, and went to the premiere of Born Yesterday at the Shaw Festival. Both experiences were five-star.
This was our second visit; many of Cindy's guests are repeat guests. The Inn is exquisitely decorated, and is both elegant and comfortable. It is immaculately clean. Yet none of those are the most important thing about the Orchid Inn. It is a family-run business in all the best senses of that word.
First, there is Cindy, graciously available despite her busy-ness to discuss the plays at the Shaw Festival; how the reviews were; ice wine and fruit stands; the wineries; whether you ought to walk or drive into town, and to take breakfast orders.
Ginger House, the Orchid Inn's own restaurant, where the excellent chef is one of Cindy's sons, and the courteous, helpful young waiter is another of Cindy's sons, has wonderful breakfasts (Cindy's), and delicious gourmet dinners by said chef.
The Inn is near the lake, and just far enough out of town to be quiet. It is not one thing, but everything that makes this our Niagara-on the Lake inn of choice.
In September is the grape harvest, and the Niagara Grape and Wine Festival...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Two nights at the Orchid capped off a great week in Niagara wine country celebrating our 30th anniversary. Rooms are not luxurious, but they were very nicely appointed and very clean, and thus priced just right for our budget.

Breakfast is absolutely perfect, served in the dining room of the Ginger restaurant which is so ideal. Cindy is like your favorite aunt longing to have you come visit, and once you're there she can't do enough for you. This is more of an Inn atmosphere than it is a bed and breakfast, so very private and relaxing.

We stayed 2 nights at the Niagara Falls Hilton with a gorgeous view of the falls, then 2 nights at the very nice and upscale White Oaks Resort and Spa, but the best 2 nights of our vacations were spent at the Orchid Inn. And the Ginger restaurant which is run by Cindy's sons is a must stop for at least one dinner while you're in the area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank servispleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Orchid Inn for two nights. It was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms were very clean, with comfortable beds, tasteful decor, and a delicious breakfast was included both mornings. The host, Cindy, was wonderful - welcoming, cheerful and helpful. We loved the fact that it's a family-run operation. We rented bikes and were able to lock them up overnight at the hotel, perfect for hopping on the next morning and touring the Niagara wine region. We will highly recommend the Orchid Inn to others and look forward to a return visit! Mia & Kai Sonnenburg (Campbell River, BC, Canada)

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in Room 3 (king bed with Ensuite, fireplace and small seating area) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our trip was our first to the region for some wine touring. Cindy welcomed us by name and treated us with grace and respect. The room was exceptional, the breakfast each day was a wonderful mix of fresh fruit and tasty delights each day. The Orchid was our base of operations for the five days in Niagara and we will absolutely be back! Steve & Karen, Winnipeg, MB.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
497 reviews
6.7 mi away
Green Oaks B&B
Green Oaks B&B
#40 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#36 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#87 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abagales Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Abagales Victorian Bed and Break...
#81 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#46 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Inn

Address: 390 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $122 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 9-room family run Inn. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms, fireplace, and television. Complimentary wi-fi included with room bookings. Fully served breakfast included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing