We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Getaway”
Review of Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchid Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a quick romantic getaway. We were treated like royalty from the minute we arrived. Cindy, our host, was gracious and had much pride in her Inn and so she should. It is a quaint little place with big personality. Beautiful rooms, an amazing restaurant, impeccable service and ample parking. On a beautiful day, it is a quick (and scenic) walk to the centre of Niagara-on-the-Lake. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a true Niagara experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Luxury Queen - and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoniaHoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 178 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

Every year we pick a location for a reunion. This year we choose Orchid Inn again after a 3 year hiatus. The Inn offers 9 bedrooms which is just perfect for a group of 15 babyboomers.
We love the peacefulness in the area. Yet we are only minutes away from downtown and the theater.
Owner Cindy is very friendly and helpful. We have breakfast promptly at 9:00 am so that we can venture off to our walk around. We have dinner at Ginger Restaurant downstairs. The meal is delicious and Chef Thayne caters to everyone's preference. What a treat!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdmontonAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This inn is incredible. My wife and I went there for our first wedding anniversary. The exterior of the establishment is inviting and quaint. There is ample parking for guests of the inn and the lovely adjacent restaurant. I must say that the nicest part of the inn is the owner Cindy. She is so kind, well informed, and just a pleasure to be around. We stayed in the only ground level room, which is an accessible room, but completely met our needs. The room was a good size and having our own bathroom was a must. Each morning Cindy would home cook all the residence an amazing breakfast, which was far beyond your normal Continental breakfast. The Orchid Inn has the luxury of a hotel, but the warm feeling of a B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdamiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Do you want comfortable accommodation in a location which provides easy access to the all the theatres and with absolutely amazing breakfasts which vary daily? Would you like exceptional service from an accommodating owner? All at reasonable cost? If so, this is the place for you. Our small group loves Cindy and her Inn and would not even consider staying anywhere else. And there is a bonus, in the form of the number one restaurant in town, Ginger's, right on the premises. No reasonable person could ever be disappointed to stay at the Orchid Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KASTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We loved the hotel - the owner is so nice and willing to help. The breakfasts were amazing!!! This Inn is a very good value for what you get and the location... Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellmorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

After many days of searching due to the busyness of the area and our need for two days that did not consist of an entire weekend, I came upon the Orchid Inn and inquired about lodging. Much to my delight, they were able to accomodate us. Upon arrival, I was even more pleased and surprised. The location was perfect for a lovely walk into town along the water, and close to two of my favorite wineries. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. But the real reason this place is a gem is due to the warmth and humor of our hostess, Cindy, and the delicious meals prepared in her restaurant Ginger...a real undiscovered treasure! We will most definitely be back upon our return to The Niagara region. Thanks again Cindy and Company!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky8986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

It is amazing to find in todays world someone who will accept a name and/or a handshake as a committment. My wife and I were being spontaneous and decided to head from detroit to Niagra falls. We stopped at Niagara by the Lake. Our on-star concierge called the owner(cindy) and informed her of our arrival. All she wanted was a name as I placed my request for the stay. No credit card number, license, or address. Just an arrival time which was going to be late(around 9pm). She operates the Orchid Inn with her two sons. The room was clean and comfortable. The following morning a fantastic breakfast was prepared for us at her adjoining restaurant. It was a pleasant experience and you could truly tell she had a passion for what she was doing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishnhunt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.8 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#88 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.7 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#34 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cape House Bed and Breakfast
Cape House Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Butler Creek Hot Tubs and Suites Bed and Breakfast
Butler Creek Hot Tubs and Suites...
#91 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paris Guest House
Paris Guest House
#122 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Inn

Address: 390 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $124 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 9-room family run Inn. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms, fireplace, and television. Complimentary wi-fi included with room bookings. Fully served breakfast included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing