We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing and welcoming experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing and welcoming experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

This was such an amazing weekend getaway! My fiancé and I had a fantastic time in Niagara on the Lake, and it was in large part to our accommodations at Hoppy’s Bed and Breakfast with our hosts Terence and Amitha. Even before we arrived at there, speaking with Terence on the phone was an enjoyable experience as he assured me there would be a bicycle there for me to use free of charge, as mine had just blown a tire. When we arrived Amitha warmly welcomed us and showed us to our room, the Mint Leaf, which was impeccably set up and has a REALLY comfy bed!! Our hosts were more than willing to assist us in finding things to do around town, and recommending good places to eat. The highlight of the trip for both of us was definitely breakfast. We requested Terence’s “Asian fusion” breakfast option every morning that we stayed there! It was just too good to pass up! There was a wide array from samosas, scrambled eggs with curry leaves, curried chicken, standard sausages, Sri-Lankan homefries (my favourite!) and lots more. We were always stuffed and ready to start the day! And I can’t forget to mention Odie! Their dog Odie is so cute, and very well trained (definitely as about his heritage if you go there- it still surprises anyone we tell!). Odie gave a very homey feel to our stay, as he was very friendly and very happy whenever we returned to the house. The bed and breakfast is in a great quiet neighbourhood and within walking/biking distance to the main town, several places to eat, the Niagara bike trail and some wineries- all of which we took advantage!! We even had time to enjoy the pool at Hoppy’s B&B. My fiancé and I were very happy with our choice would definitely go back sometime if we could!

  • Liked — The hosts and breakfast!
  • Disliked — nothing comes to mind...
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank krisberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Sorry for the delay in thanking you for your review. many were not showing up on our homepage. we found them now and want to say thanks for helping us on the way. Odie our little pooch is still going strong. Trust this finds you well

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
149
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

This was our first time in Niagara-on-the-Lake, and thanks to Amitha and Terence, it was a wonderful stay. We travelled with another couple. What we most enjoyed:

-our rooms were clean and serene, beds and pillows super comfortable (much softer linens than you get at a hotel)
-use of the pool was a huge bonus
-breakfasts were perfect
--perfect balance of being there to help and offering us time to hang out on our own
-as others have mentioned, the warm welcome with a cool iced tea was a really nice touch
-the home is in a very nice, quiet neighbourhood

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getawaygirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
The delay in thanking you for your time and review is many of the comments were not visible on our home page and we just now found many hidden gems. Thank you so much

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

We (a German/Dutch family) spent 3 days at Hoppys and it was a wonderful, comfortable and relaxing stay.
The 1st “B” was absolutely heavenly and the rooms were beautiful decorated and comfortable. A bathroom with everything you need for the perfect wellness feeling and it all was tiptop clean.

Hoppys were so friendly and they made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. Also our “kids” (15 and 19) felt very comfortable because of Hoppys nice and easy way dealing with them. They also had all kinds of interesting information: a nice restaurant for dinner, tips for visiting the Niagara Falls over traffic information, cheap parking and sightseeing info. We could also use the internet

The 2nd “B” was the best we ever had. Every morning there were different delicious, fresh made specialties by Terence himself. He is a great cook and we all enjoyed this part of the day
so much because of the lovely food, the nice conversation and the relaxed atmosphere.
(Moreover we didn’t have to stop for lunch on our trips) The absolute highlight was the “curry-breakfast” with wonderful spicy chicken and other Asian food.

After our trips at the end of the day it was great to slip into the well tempered pool (solar powered). Although it was already late after swimming Hoppys served us some delicious Ceylon tea and iced tea for the children. We had a very amusing and wonderful conversation and we had a great time. (We also loved the well behaved dog odie, he is really cute)

We wished we had scheduled for longer because we truly did not want to leave. Thank you so much for those wonderful days.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Reiselust_Reisefrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
The reason we never responded to your review was quite a few of the reviews were not visible on our home page and we did not see many. Thank you, we are here today because of guests like you

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

We pulled into the driveway of a well-kept, modern, suburban home, with a lovely garden, and were greeted by a friendly doggy (it's trained not to go into the bedrooms) and our hostess, Amida, who invited us to slip out of our shows and to enjoy iced tea, while we sat in the luxurious living room (tapestries of elephants, buddha carvings, skylights, plush couches, a view of the pool with its slide).

When we went to our room (The Mint Room), we found bathrobes (suitable for plus-sized people), sanitized slippers, chocolates, vouchers for free wine tastings at two local wineries, coupons for future visits, menus for all the local restaurants, a cable television, a min-fridge with mini-bar items for $1.00 each...and a soft bed, a cozy chair, and extra bedding.

As for breakfast--the first morning we were given an Asian Fusion treat. Crepes filled with palm treacle and coconut, curried taters, chicken curry, tropical fruit salad, toasted baguette, scrambled eggs, granola, sasuages, chai, cranberry juice, jams...the second morning was typical Canadian fare (eggs, taters), but the home-made peach preserves were lovely.

Terence was very friendly and let me use his computer to access the Internet.

There were signs everywhere, inviting us to borrow bikes, coolers, wine buckets, corkscrews, anything we might need.

Our bathroom was filled with soft towels and lots of body washes, shampoos, talcs, lotions, and soaps.

We could lock our room.

It was fabulous!

  • Liked — The hospitality.
  • Disliked — The lack of a ramp to enter the property.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Elspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
task24, co owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2008
Hello there ELspeth,

Our fondest regards and good wishes to you and your mum.

We are much indebted to you for your comments on trip advisor. It goes a long way to tell folks about us which is the next best source to 'word of mouth'

Thank you once more and we hope you have a safe and happy summer.

Perhaps we will see you again some time when you are next in the region.
Sincerely
Amitha and Terence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2008

Hoppy's B&B exceeded our expectations. We have stayed at B&B's the last 15 years in Niagara on the Lake and were always satisfied. But Hoppy's was tops in cleanliness, breakfasts & hospitality. The swimming pool was actually heated, what a surprise! Can't say enough!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank triciae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
We never thanked you for your review but never forgot, A few of our reviews were not on display for some reason. Thank you so much

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

When my husband and I decided to see the Niagara Falls area, we decided that we also wanted to visit the town of Niagara-on-the-Lake in Ontario. With that in mind, I browsed through the bed and breakfast section in Trip Advisor hoping to find an inexpensive, yet comfortable place to stay for two days. I read all of the positive reviews about Hoppy's Bed and Breakfast and proceeded to reserve the evenings of May 25 and May 26. The Hopmans live in a beautiful neighborhood very close to the downtown area and the lake. They have literally opened up their home to visitors. They have two bedrooms which are reserved for guests. We stayed in the Cinnamon Bark room which has a beautiful king (or two twins) bed and an ensuite bathroom. The room was spotless and the bed comfortable. Since another couple was staying that night, Mr. Hopman said that he was fixing the "Asian Fusion" breakfast meal the next morning. What a wonderful treat that was! After breakfast, my husband and I took the Whirlpool Jet boat ride down the Niagara River. It was quite a thrilling experience and a wet one as well! We ate dinner at the Pillar and Post restaurant which is a short drive from their house. It has a wonderful bar and restaurant. The Hopmans also have a friendly dog, Odie, who was a joy to be around.
The following morning we ate fruit, eggs, pancakes, and sausage. Everything was freshly prepared and tasted delicious.
The Hopmans are a hospitable, kind family and are interested in their guests' well-being. They do everything possible to ensure your comfort as well as recommend places to see. I have never been so comfortable at a bed and breakfast. It is truly just like home. I highly recommend Hoppy's Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Liked — Breakfast and beautiful neighborhood
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
As much as we appreciated your review, we failed to say thank you, one reason was that some reviews did not show up on our home page and some times they do. But never the less, we want to say a big thank you for your time in writing

Have a safe summer

The hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

The Hoppys are friendly, hospitable, and certainly made us feel at home. Staying with them was like being with family. The breakfast was excellent, the house and rooms immaculate, and the company exceptional. Because we had just gotten married recently, they even gave us a free bottle of wine on arrival. It is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed and I would highly reccommend it to anyone! Niagra-on-the-lake was a much more pleasant place to stay than near the falls itself which is packed with chain hotels and restaraunts, but close enough to get there quickly and easily. My husband and I didn't want to leave!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Our delay in thanking you was that for some reason many of our reviews did not show up on our homepage until now. but we appreciate your time to write
Hope all is well

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.9 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.1 mi away
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Town Country Landing B&B
Old Town Country Landing B&B
#68 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.1 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#6 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britaly Bed and Breakfast
Britaly Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 800 Charlotte St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppy's Bed and Breakfast, A hidden gem, far from the crowds but still within 2 min drive. Experienced chef, grat gourmet breakfasts with a wide choice. Library, solar heated pool, and all the nice extra touches you expect only at larger hotels. Our promise! You will want to come back to us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing