We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Lambertille, MI
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gracious hosts!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My sister and I were recently in Niagara on the Lake celebrating our birthdays and had a delightful experience by staying with two of the nicest people (and their friendly dog). Terrence, Amitha and Odie(of course) were the most hospitable hosts. They made us feel at home immediately and I just can't say enough good things about our stay. Their home is very clean and our room and beds were very nice and comfortable. The breakfasts we had were phenomenal. If you are not happy and full when you leave the breakfast table, it is your own fault. Terrence is a wonderful chef! I would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend this lovely home in a beautiful little town on the lake. Thank you again Amitha and Terrence. You made our stay very memorable. I fell in love with Odie!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello there

After the many years we have done this, we are definitely finding out that Odie is the good luck charm in our 'charm bracelet' Thank you for your time in giving us your honest opinion

Your feed back is always important and we appreciate every one of them since the exposure is light years a way from any other type of advertizing.

Please do come back when you need to unwind, kick back and get some much needed R&R


Have a safe and beautiful Autumn!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
151
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our third time to stay at Hoppy's and it was once again terrific! We had good weather, so we could take advantage of the large pool, which offered a great way to relax in the late afternoon. As always, the breakfasts were tasty and plentiful. Hoppy and Ametha gave us good suggestions for places to eat and coupons for some wine tasting. Their home is most comfortable, always a joy to return to!

Room Tip: We like to stay in the room with the attached bath, although the room with the bath across the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank learnerWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your beautiful comments and for taking the time out of your busy day to let us and our future guest know of your experience. We always reflect on our past guest and new friends once they have left . The feed back keeps us doing our best and providing a reason for guests to comeback to Hoppys

Have a safe and beautiful Autumn.

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay, lovely hosts and an adorable dog, the breakfasts were scrumptious and the accommodation excellent. Book this accommodation and you won't be disappointed.Great venue in a lovely town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troll001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi,

Hope your weather is still nice.

No sooner had I sent off your picture did we see your comment and review. Thank you for your time and effort, no amount of advertizing gives us the rewards of actual guest feed back.

We appreciate it a good deal. .
Have a safe one

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in late August, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
This was the most modern B&B we had stayed at, but we wanted to relax by a pool, so we did not expect a "Circa" residence, as this was a priority. Hoppy's met our all our expectations, and left us relaxed and refreshed!
We arrived shortly after 3 PM on a hot Thursday after a long drive dealing with the summer highway season.. AKA, construction. What was a 3 1/2 hour drive home on the weekend was a 5+ hour drive on a weekday. Hoppy (AKA Terrance) met us at the door, showed us to the room, and served my wife a Wonderful Iced Tea! We quickly oriented ourselves with the house, changed into our swim suits, and spent a relaxing few hours sitting in the shade by the pool... ahhhhhh!!!!!
A leisurely walk down to main street, approximately 20 minutes, strolled by the shops, had dinner, then home for a restful sleep.
Breakfast the next morning was very good. Eggs cooked to order, AMAZING banana bread, fruit, coffee, and we were ready for the day. We started by using the bikes provided to ride along the gorge. A wonderful few hours spent relaxing. The owners provided us with tools to adjust the seats of the bikes, and the bikes worked wonderfully.
Amenities such as pool towels and pool deck shoes were unexpected extras!!
Cannot end the review without mentioning Odie, the house dog! You think you know the breed mix when you see him, but cannot believe it could ever happen..... it did!! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello once again,

As always our guest satisfaction is paramount. The fact that you took the time to add feedback is very much appreciated and all feed back is taken with a view to improve or validate our efforts - Nothing is taken for granted. We also would like you to give us a return visit if ever you are back in this beautiful region. Wish you the best of Fall and the rest of the year.

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our first time at Hoppys and we were certainly impressed, but my friend and I are dog lovers - and we've met few dogs as nice as Odie in our B&B travels. And Amitha and Hoppy were wonderful hosts - as was their Mum, who we saw a fair amount of. But really, it was the Asian Fusion breakfast that impressed us - we've had so many disappointments at places claiming to have "gourmet" breakfasts. The Asian Fusion was a rare delight, if you go to Hoppy's and do not have it you are not getting the full experience.

Hoppy's dry sense of humour was a bit off-putting once or twice, but that's standard in the bed and brekfast universe so it can't be said to detract from the place at all!

Room Tip: If you want the Cinnamon Bark room set up as a King instead of two twins, make that extremely clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 599Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your time in adding a review of your stay at our home this Summer. All our guests are the reason we keep running our B&B year after year and every comment is accepted with thanks and an open mind. Often, our guests make us feel like we've known them for longer than a day or two - simply because they feel relaxed and comfortable in short while. We wish you the best for the rest of the year.

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Need I say more? This was our third stay at this PERFECT B&B. Terence and Amitha as always proved to be the perfect hosts. They had their pool opened for us upon our arrival... it was great relaxation after the 5 hour ride. It was great seeing Odi again. He too was a perfect host-dog. It's as if he remembered us from our previous stays. Breakfasts were as tasty and plentiful as I remembered as were our conversations. We enjoyed Terence's famous Asian Fusion for breakfast on the second morning. We were treated to a feast that started with a glass of watermelon-mint juice... very, very refreshing. We hated to see our stay come to an end, but are looking forward to our next visit. Hey! When you find a WINNER you stay with it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23MJC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We at Hoppys always feel we did something right when our friends (guests) take the time from usually a busy period on their return home to add a review on TA

We don't take anything for granted and try our best every time to make all of our guests feel at home in ours.

We wish you the best for the rest of the year and also a wonderful Fall

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast in August 2013 for 8 nights. The owners Terence & Ametha were so wonderful. Every day's breakfast was such a wonderful treat. I have a 7 year old son who is very fussy but Terence worked with him to make sure that he had plenty to eat every morning. Terence & Ametha were very helpful in regards to information for other restaurants and activities in the area. Their home is very clean and the beds were very comfortable. I would highly recommend this bed & breakfast and hopefully someday I will be able to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
You and your friends were refreshing breath of fresh air and we loved every minute of your stay.After a couple of days it was like having family again

Do have a good one and we hope to see you again sometime

Thank you for coming back again and again

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Britaly Bed and Breakfast
Britaly Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heather Croft
Heather Croft
#108 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Town Country Landing B&B
Old Town Country Landing B&B
#61 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Porch and Pillow
The Porch and Pillow
#17 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bogarts B&B
Bogarts B&B
#70 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 800 Charlotte St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppy's Bed and Breakfast, A hidden gem, far from the crowds but still within 2 min drive. Experienced chef, grat gourmet breakfasts with a wide choice. Library, solar heated pool, and all the nice extra touches you expect only at larger hotels. Our promise! You will want to come back to us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing