We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two words - Asian Fusion”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Two words - Asian Fusion”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our first time at Hoppys and we were certainly impressed, but my friend and I are dog lovers - and we've met few dogs as nice as Odie in our B&B travels. And Amitha and Hoppy were wonderful hosts - as was their Mum, who we saw a fair amount of. But really, it was the Asian Fusion breakfast that impressed us - we've had so many disappointments at places claiming to have "gourmet" breakfasts. The Asian Fusion was a rare delight, if you go to Hoppy's and do not have it you are not getting the full experience.

Hoppy's dry sense of humour was a bit off-putting once or twice, but that's standard in the bed and brekfast universe so it can't be said to detract from the place at all!

Room Tip: If you want the Cinnamon Bark room set up as a King instead of two twins, make that extremely clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 599Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your time in adding a review of your stay at our home this Summer. All our guests are the reason we keep running our B&B year after year and every comment is accepted with thanks and an open mind. Often, our guests make us feel like we've known them for longer than a day or two - simply because they feel relaxed and comfortable in short while. We wish you the best for the rest of the year.

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
151
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Need I say more? This was our third stay at this PERFECT B&B. Terence and Amitha as always proved to be the perfect hosts. They had their pool opened for us upon our arrival... it was great relaxation after the 5 hour ride. It was great seeing Odi again. He too was a perfect host-dog. It's as if he remembered us from our previous stays. Breakfasts were as tasty and plentiful as I remembered as were our conversations. We enjoyed Terence's famous Asian Fusion for breakfast on the second morning. We were treated to a feast that started with a glass of watermelon-mint juice... very, very refreshing. We hated to see our stay come to an end, but are looking forward to our next visit. Hey! When you find a WINNER you stay with it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23MJC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We at Hoppys always feel we did something right when our friends (guests) take the time from usually a busy period on their return home to add a review on TA

We don't take anything for granted and try our best every time to make all of our guests feel at home in ours.

We wish you the best for the rest of the year and also a wonderful Fall

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast in August 2013 for 8 nights. The owners Terence & Ametha were so wonderful. Every day's breakfast was such a wonderful treat. I have a 7 year old son who is very fussy but Terence worked with him to make sure that he had plenty to eat every morning. Terence & Ametha were very helpful in regards to information for other restaurants and activities in the area. Their home is very clean and the beds were very comfortable. I would highly recommend this bed & breakfast and hopefully someday I will be able to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
You and your friends were refreshing breath of fresh air and we loved every minute of your stay.After a couple of days it was like having family again

Do have a good one and we hope to see you again sometime

Thank you for coming back again and again

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hoppy's and cannot say enough about the delicious, creative, beautiful (and plentiful) breakfasts. This put the NOTL restaurants we ate at to shame. After a restful night's sleep, we couldn't wait to see and taste what Terence had prepared--he is a true 5-star chef! My husband is finicky about how he likes his eggs prepared, but Terence delivered them perfectly. Amitha and Terence are gracious hosts and we truly enjoyed our conversations with them. Their home is spotless, our Cinnamon room had extra amenities (e.g., a variety of toiletries befitting a drugstore, slippers and bathrobes), the pool was clean and refreshing. We also appreciated the use of 2 bikes during our stay. We feel like we've made new friends and will definitely stay here again if we're ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wguruwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi there, First of all thank you for staying with us and also for giving us top marks in your review. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to say something about your visit.

Have a safe one

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very welcoming hosts - the iced white tea with fresh mint on a hot day was an excellent way to start our stay. The breakfasts were great. The Canadian breakfast as well done with home baked banana great an home made jam but the Asian fusion breakfast was outstanding. The en-suite room we stayed in was well decorated and had lovely deep pile carpet. The no shoe rule was a good idea as it means that the house remains extremely clean and the carpets are lovely to walk on. The swimming pool is well kept and very warm with a cover on it when not in use but this can be removed at any time, including before breakfast for swimming addicts like me.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
A short but appreciative thank you for taking the time to review our place on TA. As always, we appreciate feed back and helps others decide as to where they want to stay.

Have a safe one

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Two friends and I spent 4 delightful days in Niagara-on-the-Lake in this lovely B&B. Our charming Sri Lankan hosts made us feel like welcomed family. Hoppy is an award-winning chef,
and the breakfasts were always delicious, including fresh fruit presented in a variety of artistic
ways . We enjoyed the other breakfast guests but also loved eating on the deck by poolside
when we were the only guests one morning. The immaculate salt-water pool was refreshing and
lovely - surrounded by gorgeous flowers, and I wish we had allowed more time for swimming,but we filled our afternoons and nights with theatre. Our hosts were friendly, humorous, and very helpful ,giving us good suggestions for restaurants and parking . We all loved Odie - their quiet, friendly, intelligent dog . I highly recommend this B&B and hope to return before too long.

Room Tip: We rec. the Cinnamon Bark with the private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
A bit late in responding to your review. But thank you so much for taking the time to write one following your stay. It was a delightful time had by us. We enjoyed much your conversations and humour when ever you returned for the evening. Hope this finds you in good spirits and enjoying the cooler weather.
If ever you return to our town, please give us the pleasure of a return visit.

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We reserved this B&B based on all the highly recommended comments here. Our first impression was a bit negative as we felt pressured to arrive by 6:30pm in our phone conversation while our intention was to keep our hosts updated with our arrival time.

We did have a great stay here and enjoyed the company. To be honest, we always stay at B&B's when we travel, even in China. We found the Canadian breakfast was just "ok", not really up to what others said "to die for", compared to other B&B we've stayed in Canada. Having said that, their Asian-fusion breakfast is one that I would highly recommend, if you are adventurous! It's more like a brunch, not really a breakfast. But it's certainly something we both enjoyed very much!

The room was comfortable and the house was clean!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yuensum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We regret your expectations was not fully met, we are also sorry you got the impression you were pressured to arrive by 6.30pm. Our guests are free to choose their arrival time - as early as11am and as late as is convenient to them. We only request that we are informed in advance or updated should a delay be anticipated.

Our business is out of our home and we need time between "check-outs and check-ins" to plan our appointments and activities.

Have a safe summer

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Britaly Bed and Breakfast
Britaly Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heather Croft
Heather Croft
#108 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Town Country Landing B&B
Old Town Country Landing B&B
#61 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Porch and Pillow
The Porch and Pillow
#17 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bogarts B&B
Bogarts B&B
#70 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 800 Charlotte St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppy's Bed and Breakfast, A hidden gem, far from the crowds but still within 2 min drive. Experienced chef, grat gourmet breakfasts with a wide choice. Library, solar heated pool, and all the nice extra touches you expect only at larger hotels. Our promise! You will want to come back to us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing