We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Last, a B&B to love”
Review of BranCliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BranCliff Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

As annual visitors to the ShawFest in Niagara-on-the-Lake, we have stayed in the major hotel and in some of the B&Bs, ibut none has left us as pleased as this, quickly feeling as if we were in our own vacation home. Perfectly located (a block from Festival Hall), it is an architectural gem, an old school house converted with beautiful wood paneling, dining room and commodious duplex suites with exceptionally high ceilings, garden with beautiful gazebo for relaxation, etc. The breakfast buffets are of top quality with wide selection. The welcome could not be more warm or more genuine; Debby, who runs the B&B is totally accommodating yet never intrusive. Easily, the most pleasing B&B in which we have stayed of very many through the years, in the States and in Canada. (I suggest reserving early.)

Room Tip: All of the suites are commodious. If you prefer no steps, i.e., not a duplex suite, there is a firs...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for BranCliff Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 531 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

A beautiful B&B with all the comforts and privacy of home. The location is perfect to walk to downtown and the wineries are just short drives away.
We will return again on our next visit to Niagar-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynneallard65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I recently stayed at the BranCliff with a bride-to-be and 5 other bridesmaids as part of a wedding weekend in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We had almost the whole Inn to ourselves which meant we had an enormous amount of privacy. Debbie was incredibly accommodating and the room set-up was perfect for each bridesmaid to have her own little oasis. Each room was so unique and charming we ended up taking wedding pictures in many of the rooms while we did hair and makeup the morning of the wedding! Being able to wander from room to room and have a delicious gourmet breakfast in our plush bathrooms made the weekend stay feel like we were in a home away from home.
This is truly a wonderful little retreat for any kind of visitor to NOTL, but I would definitely recommend it to future wedding parties looking for a bit more of a unique and personalized experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Debbie made our weekend so special with her unique touches. Felt so warm and welcoming like if she was family. Our rooms were so clean and the breakfast was worth ever penny. Wouldn't look to stay anywhere else. Went on a horse and buggy ride, walks to all the shops. Location was perfect. Looking forward to going back this summer.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank MichelleJoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My sisters and I had our 1st sister reunion at the BranCliff. The suite was beautiful. Everything was so clean and looked like new. The beds and bedding were a sleepers dream. The Inn was perfect for walking in town everyday. I wished we could have stayed longer.

Each morning we had fantastic breakfasts. The pancakes(raspberry then blueberry) were the best I ever had. Everything was wonderful and perfect.

Debbie was amazing. Besides the wonderful breakfasts, she also gave us great suggestions on what to do and had some great discounts for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roberta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our experience in NOTL was nothing short of amazing and that was largely due to the accommodations at BranCliff.

From the moment host, Debbie, welcomed us into the building (circa 1859), we were hooked. Simple and elegant and packed with old charm. The front of the building is covered with ivy and is a beautiful backdrop for photos. We stayed in the suite on the main floor and were very pleased with our selection. Large king (or two double) bed, stained glass windows and sky high ceilings.

Breakfast in the morning was a buffet spread, fit for royalty! An array of local fruits, yogurt/cereal, meats & cheeses, as well as, eggs/quiche, bacon/sausage, hashbrowns, homemade raspberry pancakes and many different breads/bagels. It was delicious and Debbie's attention to detail was so wonderful. She chatted with each of the guests about where they were from and what their plans were in town, trying to make suggestions if she could.

Our recommends included a trip to nearby St. David's, where we did a tasting & had dinner at Ravine Vineyard - it did NOT disappoint. A day later and we're still raving about our meals.

Can't wait to go back to Brancliff - we highly recommend a visit there! :)

Room Tip: Room on main floor is a good size and has nice light. Access to room is steps from front door of the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jumberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My BFF and I lucked out when we managed to snag the last room available for our one night stay in NOTL. The Rose Suite was beautiful, spacious and quiet. There is a lovely sitting area, bar fridge, coffee for the AM and a very large and well stocked bathroom. Deb met us at the door when we arrived and was quick, friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the house and ideas for dinner and the next day. Breakfast in the well appointed dining room was varied and delicious. It was very nice to be able to choose from the large selection of breakfast foods available. I will definitely come back to BranCliff in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KayDhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,735 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BranCliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BranCliff Inn

Address: 40 Platoff Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $136 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BranCliff Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Niagara Public School c1859 is now a 6 suite country inn Georgian architecture, original Palladium window, elegant dining/meeting room . One block from Shaw Festival Theatre and Queen/Picton Sts. in the National Historical District of "Old Town" Niagara on the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your BranCliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing