We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great place to stay!”
Review of BranCliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BranCliff Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“A really great place to stay!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This beautiful historic inn is only two blocks from the center of town but it so elegantly appointed and relaxing that it may as well be miles away in the countryside. The breakfasts are unbelievable, sumptuous and all handmade with love by Debbie the inn keeper. She and husband Mark attend to the smallest of details with impeccable care. It has the feeling of a very unique, small, elegant hotel. We would go back and stay in a different room each time as they are all wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
327
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Brancliff Inn, and we were highly impressed. The inn is beautifully constructed from inside out. The historic feel of the inn made it very cozy, while the impressive renovations gave it a fresh and clean feel. We stayed in Allison's room, which was very clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. We got a peak at the other rooms, and they looked beautiful too. Debbie is a very good hostess - we were celebrating a birthday that weekend, and we were delighted when we walked into our room to find a bottle of wine with a Happy Birthday note attached. She was very attentive, and also went above and beyond to offer us coupons for some very nice wineries and restaurants. The breakfasts were amazing too. Both of us have very good appetites and we were pleased with the spread, with respect to both quality and quantity. Just to name a few things, we really enjoyed the quiche, eggs benedict, bacon, selection of lunchmeats and cheeses, avocado, fruit and hashbrowns. Apart from the high caliber of the inn and the good service, the location of the inn is very convenient too - it is within walking distance to the scenic downtown district, Fort George and various museums. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Brancliff Inn, and would definately return again. To anyone visiting NOTL, I highly recommend staying at the Brancliff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M062605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have recently returned from a two night stay (May 31-June 2) and absolutely loved it!!! The Inn is gorgeous on the inside and outside and is sparkling clean! Debbie is a fabulous host who is accommodating and puts on a great breakfast spread! The rooms are spacious, unique and provide all of the necessary items and much more. There is nothing better than waking up in the loft staring out of a stained glass window!!!!!!!!!!! The location is also extremely convenient to all that Niagara on the Lake has to offer! We cannot wait to return in the Fall for Garlic Festival :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKASMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just came back from a girls weekend with eight of us all staying at the Brancliff Inn. Everything was really wonderful. The Inn is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and they were more than accommodating to the vegetarians in our group. And, the location is perfect, on a quiet street just a block away from busy Queen Street. We are looking forward to future visits.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the BranCliff Inn and it by far exceeded our expectations. Aside from the amazing history constructed into the home, it was meticulously renovated and immaculately well-kept and clean. We stayed for 3 nights and found ourselves visiting a very good share of the local wineries, walking to Queens Street for dinner at some great restaurants and shops, and even just staying in to enjoy some cheese from the Secrets Cheese Shop (walking distance) and a bottle of wine on the BranCliff's private, beautifully landscaped property. Debbie was an amazing host, very informative and created quite a delicious spread for breakfast (which we came to find out she made everything in-house, the scones were a real treat!). On top of all this, we found the BranCliff was more affordable than most other B&Bs in the area. All-in-all, it was a great experience and we will definitely be back for another stay! If you are looking for a great place in Niagra-on-the-lake, look no further!

Room Tip: The BranCliff consists of 4 double sweets on the second level which include a small living space, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank art4life44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The BranCliff Inn ... to sum it up in a statement ... "You get the feeling that you have just come home when you have only just arrived." The ambience is next to none we have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. With both of us having been in the Airline business and travelled the world, never has the comfort level been this soothing. This six room Inn is extremely well appointed with the atmosphere of being surrounded by old British charm. Originally having been a 19th Century school house, the first in the Niagara region, you naturally let your imagination take you back to what it must have been like. The grounds are wonderfully appointed with gardens and the Inn itself is impeccably clean and well maintained. The Host Debbie Laufs-Tataryn could not be more gracious or accommodating. The hot/cold buffet breakfast she offers up to her guests is well thought out and delicious with variety. Nothing is preplated in this Inn, there is something for every palate. The convenience and price point is just the icing on the cake. We would absolutely reccommend this Inn without hesitation. Did we mention the rooms are suites? Truly a Red Carpet experience. Enjoy your stay we certaintly did and will again.

Room Tip: All rooms are very private and quiet. I recommend the Aurther room for those that don't want an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 543Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Park, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Brancliff for three nights and it was fantastic! The suites were very unique and spacious in this historical building. The complete rehab a few years ago was very well done as the rooms were immaculate. The bed was comfortable and with very thick walls it was really easy to sleep. Debbie was very friendly and cooked a delicious breakfast every morning. Finally the location. This place is one block off of Queen so not a lot of traffic but really close to great restaurants and the walking path. They also have a nicely manicured property with outside sitting areas to enjoy a bottle of wine. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,666 reviews
0.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,478 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,308 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BranCliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BranCliff Inn

Property: BranCliff Inn
Address: 40 Platoff Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BranCliff Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Niagara Public School c1859 is now a 6 suite country inn Georgian architecture, original Palladium window, elegant dining/meeting room . One block from Shaw Festival Theatre and Queen/Picton Sts. in the National Historical District of "Old Town" Niagara on the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your BranCliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing