We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Our Awesome Weekend at the Brancliff"”
Review of BranCliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BranCliff Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent three wonderful days at the Brancliff with two other couples this past weekend and absolutely loved the accommodations. We stayed in the loft-style blue room which was spacious, clean, cozy and inviting. With the king-sized bed in the loft, there was plenty of seating for the six of us to gather and socialize after dinner around the fireplace. The Brancliff is within walking distance to the shops, restaurants, Lake Ontario and the Shaw Festival Theater Debbie's breakfasts were awesome! There was so much variety with everything from fresh fruits, meats, quiches, yummy casseroles and yogurt to eggs, pancakes and coffee cakes. Everything was so yummy and well presented! The mini-fridge was stocked with juices, fresh cream, ice and water. The bathroom was spacious and immaculate. You will not be disappointed if you stay at the Brancliff. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JELLEL46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 538 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the inn with 2 other couples. We had a fabulous time! The inn is charming and gives you a feeling of stepping back in time. This home is full of beautiful
woodwork , stained glass, and trim. I instantly felt right at home. The bedrooms have been updated - each with a modern bathroom - and are very comfortable. We woke up every morning to a wonderful breakfast with a great assortment of food to eat. The inn is also in town so that many places are within walking distance. We all loved Debbie, the owner! She is a fabulous cook and was always willing to give helpful suggestions if asked. I would highly recommend this wonderful inn to anyone. I hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My spouse and I spent a night at the Brancliff B&B and were very pleased! The room was spacious and comfortable. The bed was delightful and the bathroom large and clean. We had come to NOTL to see a show at the Shaw Festival Theater. The B&B is located within easy walking distance to theater and the rest of NOTL. We had thought about staying at other B&B's (in fact we had on a previous visit), but could not be happier with our decision to stay at the Brancliff. The morning breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, breads, bacon, quiche and more! You won't leave the table hungry. We will return and bring friends and family with us next time, but our stay will be extended. Wonderful owner, Debbie, comfortable room and fantastic location!

Room Tip: We were in the Lillian Rose suite. It is located at the front of the Brancliff and has a nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20wanderer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

So back during the end of September my husband and I decided to celebrate our tenth anniversary at the same B&B we visited on our fifth anniversary. After touring Montreal and Toronto we thought this would be a great way to end our trip. We planned to stay three nights but somehow there was a mix-up with our reservations and we found there was no room at the inn for our last night. Determined not to be disappointed my husband walked up the block and stumbled upon this lovely B&B. So we packed our bags and went to the BranCliff Inn. The owners, Debbie and Mark are friendly and gracious and welcomed us warmly. We were given a tour and I immediately fell in love with the property. All of the rooms have a color scheme and are named after the color. We chose the loft style Cranberry Room. All of the rooms are homey and sooo comfy. Each room has a Keurig coffeemaker and a nicely stocked mini fridge. The library with sitting room, is filled with dvds and books. If you're able to tear yourself away from your room, you'll find the grounds are picturesque and serene and you're within walking distance of the theatre and restaurants. Needless to say, we've found our new place to stay while in NOTL.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MISSRONI59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been staying at this B and B for many years, first as the Allison House and now as the Brancliff. We love everything about it. The location is wonderful. The breakfasts are delicious. The accommodations are beautiful, as well as clean and comfortable. The new innkeepers are gracious, friendly, lovely people. We wouldn't stay anyplace else in NOTL.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed last fall and had a wonderful time
The Inn is immaculate and the breakfast superb
A must stay if you are in Old Town
Close to everything
One block from the Shaw Theatre
One block to Queen/Picton streets

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansVogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Back in June when BranCliff Inn was called The Allison House. My fiancee and I stayed two nights over the long weekend when the Tragically Hip was in town. We immediately felt so welcome. We absolutely loved the loft style room that was extremely clean and very cozy. The mini fridge was stocked and there were plenty of glass ware and cutlery to eat in. Loved the tassamo coffee maker in our room stocked up! Breakfast was FANTASTIC! Location was 2 steps to the main street. They have a huge DVD collection to choose from. I loved the classy old school feel. We will be back this summer for our 3rd anniversary.
My parents and their best friends have been going to Niagara on the lake every year for 27 years. So i recommended they try a new BandB and stay at BranCliff. They called me during their stay to thank me for the recommendation because it was absolutely beautiful... too say the least!

Room Tip: great room options. we stayed in the loft style that had a huge king size while in January my parent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#11 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
#1 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BranCliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BranCliff Inn

Address: 40 Platoff Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $133 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BranCliff Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Niagara Public School c1859 is now a 6 suite country inn Georgian architecture, original Palladium window, elegant dining/meeting room . One block from Shaw Festival Theatre and Queen/Picton Sts. in the National Historical District of "Old Town" Niagara on the Lake. We are a boutique INN and not a Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BranCliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing