We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Memorable Weekend"”
Review of BranCliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BranCliff Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Allison House July 20th weekend. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by new owners Debbie and Mark. The house is full of old charm and history. We stayed in the “Allison Room” which was clean, cozy and exceeded all expectations. For our first breakfast we had a divine buffet with home made apple cinnamon pancakes (just like Grandmas), bacon, scrambled eggs, pita wrapped omelet, fresh fruit, yogurts, scones etc. The location of the Inn is perfect, far away enough to be quiet and relaxing, but just a block away from all the shopping and restaurants. Highly recommend this Inn to any visitors to Niagara-on-the-lake. Wish we could go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeleDeSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 535 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Allison House is a beautiful place! The rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious! The house also has a beautiful exterior, with a lush and well maintained garden. Would definitely recommend staying at the Allison House!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lohannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A wonderful time away this weekend at Allison House! A beautifully situated house close to town with lovely garden surroudings and even more beautiful rooms inside.
The breakfasts are delicious, and fresh with different breakfasts being offered each morning!
Our hosts Debbie and Mark are wonderful and made our experience even more special.
Thank you for such a great weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We just had the most wonderful weekend at Allison House. This bed and breakfast was fabulous, beautifully decorated with everything you need to enjoy your stay at Niagara on the Lake. The owners are warm and friendly and breakfast was an amazing treat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Allison house last night and I couldn't wait to write a review once I got home. The house itself is beautiful and so very cozy. We stayed in the Green Room which is lovely and so clean. The bed is superior with luxurious sheet and a comfortable mattress. The garden is gorgeous and filled with perennials to be enjoyed while sitting in the charming gazebo.

Our hosts Debbie and Mark are so friendly and informative. The breakfast was delicious with homemade peach pancakes, breakfast burritos, smoked salmon, pastries, fruit and all the regular breakfast fare.

Allison House is conveniently located within a few minutes walk from the main area of town. We have visited Niagara on the Lake many times and this is the first time we stayed at Allison House...it will certainly not be our last.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlebeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in the Green Room couple nights during the Canada Day long weekend.
The location couldn't be better, it's only 3 mins away (walking) from the Prince of Wales hotel & the main shopping street (Queen St.), yet it offered a very quiet environment.
The building itself is gorgeous. The room is a loft layout. Bathroom, closet, sitting area w/ sofa & 40 flat screen tv are on one level which open to the ceiling (upper level) while the bedroom is on the upper level. I guess the only draw back is that you cannot lie in bed and watch tv. The most important thing is that the entire room & building is clean.

I saw some reviews complaining it's hot in the room, however, we felt there was sufficient A/C despite 30+ Celsius outside. The new owners (Debbie and Mark) said the previous owner probably capped the A/C to save cost. Debbie said she has reset the A/C to ensure enough cold air pumping out and has put a new Dyson fan/air multiplier in each room just in case more air flow is needed. Also, the alarm clock has a ipod dock.

Breakfast was served at 8:30am and it was very delicious. Pancake, pastries, fruits, juice and daily features (Quiche, sausage, fried potato on the first day, Breakfast burrito, ham sausage & oven roasted giant peace on the second day).
Definitely recommended if you are looking for a high quality B&B that is in close proximity of the old town. I, personally, will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Chester F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,770 reviews
0.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#11 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Regent Bed & Breakfast
Queen Regent Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#9 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BranCliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BranCliff Inn

Address: 40 Platoff Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $130 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BranCliff Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Niagara Public School c1859 is now a 6 suite country inn Georgian architecture, original Palladium window, elegant dining/meeting room . One block from Shaw Festival Theatre and Queen/Picton Sts. in the National Historical District of "Old Town" Niagara on the Lake. We are a boutique INN and not a Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your BranCliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing